Adams Golf Tight Lies Fairway Woods

Available At:
Tight Lies

User Reviews (129)

Showing 1-10 of 129  
Kevin Sweeney   Shoots in the 90s [Jul 30, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Tight Lies Strong 5

I am not a very good golfer, inconsistency being my main problem. This is the only club in my bag that I can hit consistently straight and fairly long. I bought one of these from the bargain bin at Sports Authority about two years ago at the recommendation of the salesman. He was right; this club is very easy to hit. Worm burners happen and my slice goes away with this club.

Similar Products Used: Yamaha carbon fiber (head) 5 wood.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
BridgestoneFan01   Shoots in the 90s [Mar 31, 2010]
Model Reviewed: 3 Tight Lies

Okay, 4 years ago I found my first tight lies 3 wood
on clearance at walmart. I bought it and was shocked at how well i could hit it consistantly off the fairway and in decent rough. I have never had a problem hitting this club in wet conditions and as for teeing it up, it is true you can't tee it like a normal 3 wood. I found the best way to tee it is the way I tee my hybrid. Just a little higher then teeing up with an iron. I would say the tight lies has reduced my strokes by about 6. I found a more recent version online a few years ago that seems to be the same as all my other tight lies but it seems to be made better then my much earlier models. I recently decided to replace the regular shaft with an Adilia Wasabi X stiff shaft and new grip and my consistency has even gotten better best decision I've made in awhile. Though, I believe now this club is more rescue then a true wood it will improve your game almost imediately.

Similar Products Used: Bridgestone J33 3 and 5 fairway woods
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
Puddlethumper   Shoots in the 100s [Sep 13, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Adams Tight Lies Strong 3 Wood

I like this club!

I am a fairly new golfer and have struggled with fairway woods. I thought that Callaways would be a safe bet to start out on, but have not been able to hit them with any consistency.

I found this club at a garage sale for $2.00 needing a new grip. I figured, "What the heck", bought it and took it out to the range today to try hitting some balls. My Callaways are going into the "back-up" bag and I'm getting the Tight Lies 5 wood to complete this setup!

The club hits pure and clean right from the start. When I hit it clean the ball takes off like a jet fighter and heads down-range like it is on a string! Talk about a confidence builder! There might be better clubs out there, but I'm not going to be looking for a better club for some time to come.

Customer Service

n/a

Similar Products Used: Callaway Big Bertha 2004
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
James Henderson   Shoots in the 90s [Aug 31, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Tight Lies 3 wood

I just bought the Tight Lies 3 wood and it works great. I have a wilson ultra set of clubs which is ok for me because I have been playing for just a year, but I struggled with consistency with my woods. I went to the range yesterday with my new Tight Lies and from the ground I'm constistantly getting 200+ yard shots. Off the tee I was around 260. This is great club for price and it works well with a solid steady swing. Great Club!!!!

Customer Service

None

Similar Products Used: Wilson Ultra 3 Wood
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Ryan   Shoots in the 90s [Aug 29, 2007]
Model Reviewed: 16 Degree

Not a bad clud. Gets the ball up in the air with a pretty strait flight pattern. This would be a great buy for anyone who doesn't use their fairway woods too often and doesn't want to invest a large amount of money on them.

Customer Service

Not Needed

OVERALL
RATING
3
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
steveP   Shoots in the 80s [Jul 25, 2006]
Model Reviewed: adams tight lies

Great club for the price. So many of you are saying you can't hit it off the tee. It hits well enough off the ground, so don't use a tee, or tee it really low (i tee mine lower than I do for long irons).

The club seems to promote a naturally smooth swing, gets the ball up and is easy to hit straight.
It isn't extra long, but it is easy to control. Since I only carry the 3 wood I even commonly hit soft fades with it on long par 3s instead of trying a hard 3 iron, and can do this with ease.

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
jackson kanupp   Shoots in the 90s [Jun 27, 2006]
Model Reviewed: adams tight lies 3 wood and 5 wood

this club is an ok club. you can not hit off a tee with it ,and can only hit off the fairway, but when you hit off the fair way it has a great takeoff and goes pretty far. if you want a better club you may need to replace the shaft and the same for the driver. but over all great clubs for the money.

OVERALL
RATING
3
Value
RATING
3
Available At:
Hawk   Shoots in the 80s [Apr 15, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Original Tight Lies 3 Wood

For the price, you can't beat it. Gets the ball up quick, nice flight pattern and not bad distance. For those of you who shoot in the 90's and say the club stinks, try slowing your club head swing down and laying the club on the ball. It will do what is was designed to do.

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used: Cobra 3 wood, Callaway 3 wood
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
paulspadaccino   Shoots in the 70s [Dec 06, 2005]
Model Reviewed: adams tight lies strong 3 wood 13 degrees

what can i say i absolutly love this club it is perfect for me in every way i can imagine it goes miles and the flight is nothing short of stunning it has a stock stiff graphite shaft in it and it is a cracking club pure and simple these woods go for peanuts nowadays get one you wont be disappointed i can garuantee.

Customer Service

no prblems

Similar Products Used: callawat steelhead 3, titleist 945
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
haywardwisc   Shoots in the 80s [Aug 30, 2005]
Model Reviewed: Adams Tight Lies

I own the original Tight Lies 3 wood, 5 wood and seven wood and have played them for several years. My observations are: Pluses: * They are easy to get up in the air and accuracy and distance are consistent. * Distance is respectable, but not spectacular. * Shafts are decent for OEM shafts. (You should not need to reshaft them.) * Some have said that they are bad looking, but I like the way they "set up". Negatives: * Off the tee, you must sind the tee almost fully in the ground. (On the other hand, this may be a plus as all you need is a broken tee.) * These clubs are virtually worthless if you have a fluffy lie in the rough. I have hit lots of shots that have the trajectory of a pitching or sand wedge. My next fairway woods will have a clubface about 1/8" deeper.

Customer Service

Have not needed.

Similar Products Used: Callaway Steelheads
OVERALL
RATING
3
Value
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 129  
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com