Adams Golf IDEA Set Irons

Available At:
IDEA Set

i-Wood Long Irons (#3 & #4 Irons) Part iron and part fairway wood 27% more forgiving than a traditional long iron Very easy to hit! i-Wood Long Irons include headcovers Oversize Hollow Back Mid Irons (#5, #6 & #7 Irons) Hollow back design allows weight to be placed low and back 24% more forgiving than a traditional mid iron Oversize Cavity Back Short Irons (#8 & 9 irons & pitching wedge) Designed for easy to hit shots with better feel, control and accuracy Feature proprietary Aldila high modulus graphite shafts throughout the set

User Reviews (71)

Showing 1-10 of 71  
BDsjfd135   Shoots in the 100s [Jul 19, 2009]

Bought these irons used and it has been the greatest thing to my golf game since I started playing. I played regularly for about 4 years and then didn't even swing a club for over 3 years. Started playing again about a month ago and had been shooting in the 110s. I went straight to the course with these and without even even hitting with them on the range I shot a 103. Played an executive course that I usually shoot low 40s on and I shot a 38. The 3 and 4 hybrids are AMAZING off the tee and hit well anywhere else as well. The rest of the set is just absolutely flawless. The carbon fiber finish on the hybrids is amazing and the grips are great and nice looking as well. These clubs have made me love the game more than ever and give me the confidence that I had always been lacking.

My shots are longer, straighter, and higher. The forgiveness is superb and they are just an all around amazing set of clubs.

Similar Products Used: I had only used clones up to now and they don't even begin to compare. Straight on eBay they go.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
SrGolfNut   Shoots in the 100s [Oct 01, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Adams Idean Tech OS Iron Set

Udate of my 9-27-2008 review. I have now played 36 holes with the new irons. The last month I have averaged 105+ for 18 holes of golf. I shot a 95 both rounds with these irons. I am getting more yardage with these irons as I expected. My overall golf game (drives, fairway shots, etc.) has been better. Maybe having a good looking and playing iron set in some way affected my entire game?

Customer Service

I had sent a email with questions. I got a very good response to all of my questions and some advice. Info on how to get a wrench and weights but advising me against doing it as the weights are adjusted for swingweight only. I am impressed with the response.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
JW of Denver, CO   Shoots in the 100s [Sep 27, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Adams Idea Tech OS 3 - PW iron set

Just purchased this set on eBay. 3 thru 6 are grapite regular flex hybrids. 7 thru PW are steel shafted regular flex irons. Have tried them only once on the driving range. I am 67 and this is my 4th summer playing golf. I average between 100 and 105 for 18 holes of golf. I am trying to shoot in the 90's and hope this set helps me accomplish that goal. I like the looks at address of these irons. Distance should be longer for these irons because of the lofts. Using the Adams online site to get the lofts of the current Idea A4OS lofts and assuming my set is the same, the lofts are 1 or 2 degrees stronger than you average iron lofts. 1 degree can equate to 2 to 4 yards in distance. Playing 18 holes tomorrow and Wednesday and will update what my experience is after 36 holes of golf.

Customer Service

Have a email request for info on a wrench and instructions on adjusting weights ( not needed on newer models ). We will see how they respond.

Similar Products Used: Too many to list as I am a senior golf nut.
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
kuhnj99   Shoots in the 90s [Aug 26, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Adams A2 Hybrid Irons

I have had this set for a year and a half and I love it. I bought it brand new for $400 USD. I am not sure why more companies dont include hybrids in their sets. Adams does a great job with the hybrids. Now I can use 3 and 4 iron with confidence. The clubs inspire confidence at address with the wide top line. They are very easy to get airborne. I tend to hit a lower trajectory and I have been able to get a bit more height with these. Especially with the short irons it has been nice. I have heard many say that Adams is the "senior" line of clubs.....I'm 31 and I have had great luck with these clubs. They are a great value between the price and the fact that they include the hybrids. I believe that any age group can benefit. I prefer the A2 over the A2 OS as I think that 5 and 6 hybrids are a bit too much.......but if that fits your game then I would go for it.

Customer Service

Havent used.

Similar Products Used: Demoed Nike Slingshot, Taylor Made RAC OS2, Ping G2
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
dcg   Shoots in the 80s [Aug 05, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Adams A2 Hybrids

Bought this set new just a month ago. The hybrids are second to none. Easy to hit, long off the fairway and accurate. The 5-PW have the light weight steel shafts. They have a great feel and forgiving results when hit off center. Adams did a good job on these.

Customer Service

no issues

Similar Products Used: Callaway X14
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
Available At:
Pky6471   Shoots in the 90s [Apr 29, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Adams Idea Tech OS Hybrid

First, I normally shoot in the 87-92 range, and my best score was 83. Couple weekends ago I was at a driving and a guy standing next to me was kind enough to let me hit his #3 and #4 Adams Idea Tech OS hybrid. WOW, I was so impressed, the ball flight was straight with excellent "hang time". After that I went out to the local Golf Galaxy and test different Adams hybrids. I tried both Adams Idea Tech OS and Adams Idea AS 03, and I kept going back to the Tech OS. I found a used Adams Idea Tech OS #4 hybrid so I bought it. Took it out to a golf course last week and WOW, I was impressed, so straight and great hang-time for maximum distance. I like this model so much I just eBay'd the #3 hybrid which should come this week. AS 03 did not fit my swing probably its shaft wt. is 75-g vs 60-g that of Tech OS. I heard a lot of good thing about Adams hybrid, but never give it a chance. I did not hit the #5-PW of Tech OS so I cannot comment on performance of those clubs, but the Adams Tech OS hybrids are excellent for my swing. Hopefully they would help me break 80 (my short game and putting has to be sharp though). I gave it high value rating because I bought it used and a new one on eBay

Customer Service

don't know but can't beat Callaway customer service.

Similar Products Used: tried lots of hybrids at Golf Galaxy
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Mrswearengen   Shoots in the 90s [Apr 29, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Idea A2

This set has a hybrid 3 and 4 with graphite shafts. The rest of the set is steel shafted regular flex irons.
I bought these clubs last week and took them out to the range a couple of times. They felt very good and the hybrids were particulary easy to hit compared to a couple of regular 3/4 irons. So I took them out for nine holes on Sunday. I left my woods at home since I wanted to hit the hybrids a lot.
I found the hybrids to be great for tee shots. Sure they were shorter then my usual drives but all of them were in the fairway which is NOT the case when I use my driver or even my regular 3 wood!
And they were excellent from fairway, easy to hit and longer then any irons I ever hit and definitely raised my confidence.
The non-hybrid irons were quite forgiving as well and although my swing is rusty after the winter lay off I felt I hit them as good as I ever hit any irons.
I had a nice birdie on a par four after hitting the 3 hybrid of the tee, probably the nicest tee shot I ever hit on that hole.
Since I normally only get a few birdies per season that is pretty exciting for me, especially during the first round with these clubs.
For me the keyword is confidence, with this set I feel like I will hit a good shot and it makes for a much more enjoyable experience out on the course.
Now I feel that I'm in a position to finally break 90 this year. I'm very happy with this purchase, great clubs and great value.

Customer Service

No experience with Adams Customer Service

Similar Products Used: Adams Idea A1 Pro
Wilson Fat Shaft
Dallas Golf store built set
Macgregor Irons
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
s. nimbkar   Shoots in the 90s [Apr 04, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Adams A3oS

The A3oS hybrid set should be illegal,they are that easy to hit.The Boxer hybrids are nearly effortless and they seem to carry forever in a straight line. I had a set of tight lies, went to Callaway,played a round, and went right back to Adams, no other company seems to 'get it'. I will not be challenging Tiger anytime soon so I want a set that brings me enjoyment, not frustration, and nobody understands that better than Adams. I am a lifelong Adams customer. I've played with those "macho' men who have expensive clubs and their egos won't allow them to carry more than one hybrid..but at the end of the round who has the lowest score? Me! Isn't that the point?

Customer Service

outstanding, I sent them an Email praising them for their products and their "Thank You" response came within 30 minutes

Similar Products Used: Callaway X-20, Adams Tight Lies, Taylor Made r7
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
bbusse   Shoots in the 80s [Mar 22, 2008]
Model Reviewed: a30s

these irons have no feel.Cant wait to get some pings back in my bag

OVERALL
RATING
1
Value
RATING
1
Available At:
sandbagger   Shoots in the 80s [Jul 15, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Adams a1

I played a set of Titleist for the past 8 years. One of my playing buddies plays these and recommended I try them. I already play Adams wedges and I wanted to try something new and picked these up for about $140.00 new on Ebay. Let me say, I'm impressed.

The forgivness is great;however, what surprised me the most is the distance. I usually hit my 8 iron 150 yards. With the a1, I'm hitting my 8 iron around 165 yards. I actually hit the 5 iron 200 yards consistently this past weekend. I've now developed a slight draw with these. I don't know why these clubs lead to a draw, but they have.

I would recommend these clubs to anyone who wants forgiveness without losing distance. At least for me that is what I've found. I'll stick with these for a few years.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 71  
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com