Armour 845 Irons

Available At:
845

User Reviews (154)

Showing 1-10 of 154  
Frankie Rice   Shoots in the 80s [Apr 22, 2017]
Model Reviewed: Tommy Armour 845fs

I play once or twice a week and have had a set of 845's since the early 90's. I tried other iron sets Ping Red eye and Callaway X12's but they didn't have the feel of the 845's. Just had them regripped and these are the only irons for me accurate with a nice sweet spot.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
Ken   Shoots in the 80s [Feb 20, 2017]
Model Reviewed: 845

Finally went back to 845s solid feel and good trajectory, even from rough. I've had thes clubs for many years but was going from one set to another...looking for " that " feel. Now I'm looking for a new set, but I'm having a problem finding them. I can only find used not new.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Don   Shoots in the 90s [Jul 14, 2016]
Model Reviewed: 845s

I've owned a full set of 855s (1I-PW, plus approach, sand, and lob wedges) since the mid 1990's, these were the "oversized" irons that came after the original 845s. They still hit consistently true for me, and I'm ready to pass them on to my soon as he begins to play. . .the three lines on the hosel indicate the lie of the iron - upright (steepest), regular, or flat. The painted line of the three indicates the lie of the particular club.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
Michael   Shoots in the 70s [Jun 25, 2016]
Model Reviewed: 845s Silver Scot

I've went through starter sets, and Ping Red dots. Lost my Pings in a burglary of a storage unit, and quit playing gold for a few years. I started looking at used sets this year, and found a guy on Craigslist with numerous sets of clubs. Taylormade, Pings, everything out there. He shops estate sales in a high end, retirement area in Green Valley, Az. My previous clubs I had shortened for me because of my build. I was in his garage looking over some fantastic sets of clubs, drivers, Etc. I had a set of Srixon in my hands, and looked over at the 845s set. Pulled a 3-iron out and compared it to the Srixon and the 845s was about 2" shorter. I started swinging them and the balance and feel was perfect for me. Keep in mind I haden't swung a club in 4-years. Took them to the range and within 40-minutes was hitting straight with average to above average distance. I hit the PW 120yds spot on. I took them in and had the loft changed about two degrees more per club, based on factory numbers. I went back out and was hitting the 3-iron, lofted to 22-degrees, 190yds and straight down the fairway. I regripped them with Rexton over sized grips, and am spot on with these clubs. Now the fun part! I'm a former college football player who still lifts weights consistently. 5'10 and 245lbs. I'm a school teacher and have the reputation of being all muscle with no finesse. One of my assistant principals, who has about $1500.00 in Taylormade equipment, was laughing at my old Scots. This guy was on his golf team, played in college, and is competitive in tournament play. I took him out the a local course, one of the most challenging in Arizona, and pushed him or beat him 14 out of 18 holes! Those Scots played straight, perfect loft for me, and I was laying there looking at birdie or par on every hole. I have these clubs totally dialed in. I've got $140 into the irons including the loft changes and he was sitting there with $1500 in Taylormade gear! New isn't always better. I'm very happy with these old school clubs!I rated them at 4-stars only because the factory lofts were off about 1-degree from factory ratings, and I needed to do some loft changes to bring the best out of them for me.

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
Marc   Shoots in the 70s [Apr 19, 2016]
Model Reviewed: Tommy Armour 845S

Some of the best golfers I played with in the early 90's had the 845s irons. I always wanted them, just now gonna pick up a set on EBay.
One question: what are those three little lines on the hosel?

Customer Service

N/a

Similar Products Used: Wilson 1200GE, Ping Eye, Wilson 1200TN
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
Available At:
Sandman   Shoots in the 70s [Jun 16, 2014]
Model Reviewed: Tommy Armour silverscot 845s patented

I bought my 845s in 1990 and worked my hcp to a 4. Stopped playing from 2000 to 2012 - raising kids. Then I went and bought new technology Calaway forged and it just wasn't the same so I'm back to the originals. Got my hcp down to 2.5 recently because of this. Will never swing another set of irons!

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
TIim Gainer   Shoots in the 100s [Feb 17, 2014]
Model Reviewed: Tommy Armour 845S Silver Scot iron set

I had just gotten back into the game last year after a 20 year layoff. I had been using training irons and felt it was time for a change. I stumbled across a set of these (3-PW) at a garage sale for $30. I figured, what the heck? The bag was worth that much!

What a change!

My shots are straight, they feel great on impact and the lofts are just right for my game. I liked them so much that i had to go out and find the sand and lob wedge to complete the set!

I've read so many reviews about the Silver
Scots being some of the best irons ever made. They're all true! I tried a set of Cobra Bafflers last year as well - the technology is nothing close to what Armour made back in the day. Someone needs to revive this model. Cast iron? Yes, please!

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Eric Duluth Ga   Shoots in the 80s [Nov 03, 2013]
Model Reviewed: Tommy Armour 845s patent

Glad I made this purchase for 65 3-PW. Best set of of irons I hit. Thought my Titleist 690s cavity backs were the best. These I stuck close to the pin on 6 holes in less than 10 feet.and the thing is this is my 3rd round of the year and first time with these clubs. They fly high and long and can shape your shots like blades! Great feeling irons love the feel like forged. Next year I see my self in the low 80s high 70s!


OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Troy S   Shoots in the 70s [Jun 10, 2013]
Model Reviewed: Tommy Armour 845 Silver Scots

This is a great set of Irons! They are a lot more accurate than any Iron I have ever played and are very reliable. I have shot some of my best scores with the 845's.

I let my friend hit my 7 Iron on a par 3 and he almost holed it... He went out and bought a set of these 845's the next day.

These have been my favorite Irons over the years, just wish Tommy Armour would start producing the 845 silver scots again, because I don't ever want to change.

Similar Products Used: Titleist DCI Irons
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Scratch Golfer 111   Scratch Golfer [Jun 07, 2013]
Model Reviewed: Tommy Armour 845 Silver Scot Irons

The Tommy Armour 845 Silver Scot Irons are by far the best Irons I have ever played! Forget forged irons, these cast irons are the real deal! I have been playing golf for 30 years and have played numerous sets and bought into the new technology, (mistake), but I chose these because they are still ahead of their time. If you are looking for a set, grab them as there are still some sets you can find in excellent condition out there. The 'patented' model is the best and I will never let my set go.

Customer Service

?

Similar Products Used: None similar...the original Tommy Armour Silver Scots are in a league of their own.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 154  

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com