Ben Hogan Apex Edge Pro Irons

Available At:
Apex Edge Pro

Forged 1030 carbon steel construction for soft response feel. Traditionally shaped clubhead has enhanced effective hitting area. Features thinner topline, more cambered sole and progressive offset throughout set.

User Reviews (79)

Showing 1-10 of 79  
zac   Shoots in the 70s [Sep 22, 2010]
Model Reviewed: ben hogan apex edge pro

well this is only the second review I have posted the first for mizuno t zoid pro series (nice clubs) . I have owned or tried almost everything, most callaways up to x20 (sorry about that,wont make the same mistake again I promise) mizuno mp 30 60 67, ping s59 s58 titleist 690 cb 695cb wilson pi7, srixons (again nice) still looking for the holy grail of clubs, but, and it is a big but I was given a half set of edge pro's a year or so ago (no 3, 4 or 7 iron or e wedge ) BUT STILL HOGAN GOT ME BY THE CHUFF, reader, I was hooked. I bought the hogan FTX thinking it would be the same feeling on a pure strike, ITS NOT, nothing is,believe me, so I bought a full set. I have hit blades with the sweet spot the size of a mouse's ear'ole and nothing compares. Distance is fine, accuracy is brilliant and I genuinely believe the Hogan shafts to be vastly underated. They are heavier than Mizuno MX range as sweet as the MP,s and MUCH softer than any Titleist and I have never been able to work the ball like I can with these. I love em and your not having them off me without extreme violence.
In short, great clubs with wonderful feel.

Customer Service

now owned by Callaway and I haven't seen a new forged Hogan from them for a while so won't hold my breath

Similar Products Used: I would list them all but you probably have a life and dont want to spend the next 3 days reading this. But liked the TP9's and Sayers access blades and Miz pro series best
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
Jesse Casteel   Shoots in the 70s [Jan 22, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Hogan Edge Pro

Outstanding! The best I have ever played. I like the swing weight, balance and feel. These sticks are long when well struck. My 8 iron is 170 and 9 155-160 and sweet. Like the fored feel and forgiveness. I have two sets and I'll not switch and at 59 best I have played in 40 years at this game. I shot my best round with these a 68 at a tough local layout. Sinply the best

Customer Service

Never needed

Similar Products Used: You name it!!
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Jason Kurnot   Scratch Golfer [Jan 13, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Hogan apex edge pro

I bought these clubs almost brand new for $160 in 2004. I knew very little about hogan irons at the time. They are still in my bag!...and will never leave. I see my friends who are also scratch players switching back and fourth from their mizunos and titleists, never to be satisfied. I keep it a secret how great these clubs are. They have no idea. I occasionally pick other irons out of bags (I am a caddie) and address a ball but have never seen a sexier iron behind the ball. As far as playability: I am a very long player but don't swing out of my shoes (8 iron carries 175, 5 iron 220). I am always pin high when i hit it reasonably close to the sweet spot and never more than 5 yds short when i mis-hit them. They feel so great. I have so much confidence with these irons. I am all about performance as I am aspiring to play professionally and these irons will be with me every swing of the way. Great for all players in my opinion. Only fools and egomaniacs play blades. Research how many tour pros play blades, you'll be surprised. Golf is a game of confidence and results. It was Ben Hogan himself that said if he hit four good shots a round he had a superb day on the course. Golf is a game of misses. And these irons minimize misses and still have perfect feedback on the pure shots. Get them while you can. Don't be fooled by the retail price.

Customer Service

No comment.

Similar Products Used: Ping g2
TA 845s
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
JC   Shoots in the 70s [Jun 23, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Ben Hogan apex edge pro

Ever since high school and college days I have played Ben Hogan irons. Those days I played the blade, but since I am now 59 I decided to look for a hogan iron which gave me the playability and feel of the forged blades, yet gave forgiveness when not hit solid. I consistently shoot in the low to middle 70's and find the edge Pro the best set of irons I have ever played. You still get the feed back of the blade and you can work the ball as well. For the low handicapper you will love these irons. For the middle to upper handicapper, you will love the forgiveness.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
basharteg   Shoots in the 80s [Mar 02, 2007]
Model Reviewed: apex edge pro

These clubs are a virtual copy of the Apex Edge Plus, clubs that Jim Furyk used for quite some time before going Srixon. While everyone is off chasing the latest and greatest and spending hundreds in the process, Ben Hogan clubs quietly sit in the background and hold their own.
Recently thought of switching to the titleist 755, I'm not imune to the chasing either, and after 3 seperate testing days, I'm sticking with my edge pros.
I have a 10 handicap and find that these clubs are the best I've found for the good player who need a little forgiveness.
Excellent feedback, buttery feel on good shots. Beautiful to look at. Get on ebay and steal a set of these from some schmuck out looking for the newest thing.

Customer Service

not needed

Similar Products Used: Cobra SS, ping i3 blades, callaway x14
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
freddyc   Shoots in the 70s [May 30, 2006]
Model Reviewed: apex pro's

found a MINT set w/#4 shafts at a local shop. traded a set of cobra's 2300 I/M's and 30.00 to boot. best $ I have spent on irons since I started playing.....if you got the swing buy these babies you will not regret it that is a promise....

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
ddsflyer   Shoots in the 80s [May 10, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Ben Hogan Apex Edge Pro

I played off and on for over 40 years, but seriously for the last 5. In that time golf equipment has changed unbelievably. I started out over 40 years ago with tiny little Wilson Staff blades. For the last several years I have used a variety of "game improvement" irons. When my handicap dipped into the single digit range I figured I needed an iron that would allow more shot flexibility and also force me to work harder on my technique.

My son-in-law once had a set of these irons and he foolishly sold them before he could really appreciate them, a move he regrets to this day. I have had these for about a year now and I can truthfully say, I have naver played a finer club. Aside from the obvious esthetic superlatives you usually hear, the clubs just play beautifully. They are more forgiving than pure blades but work the ball very well. Mis-hits lose a little distance but not much. The feel of a solid hit with a forged club is just too sweet. As long as I put a good swing on the ball, I know I will not look up and be disappointed.

If you can still find a set of these, run, do not walk, out and get them. You will never regret it.

Customer Service

Always excellent Hogan service.

Similar Products Used: About 5 different sets of irons in 10 years.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Brent Roy   Shoots in the 70s [Apr 24, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Ben Hogan Edge Pro's

I began playing golf when I was 30. After a year of struggling I immediately turned to a PGA professional to get me on the right track. After three months of lessons, I went from a 18 handicapper to a five. I had all the right stuff for golf and I knew that I needed a good set of irons to help me attack a golf course–so I purchased a set of Hogan Apex II's in 1981. They were really sweet clubs and I enjoyed them tremendously. But I gave up the game in 1986 to chase bass. A big mistake. I missed my golf and took up the game a few years ago. I went through enough clubs to balance our budget. A friend of mine had a set of Hogan Edge Pros and once in a while I would pull one out and hit it. The club brought back memories of when I used to swing the Apex II's. I hunted everywhere on the internet and finally connected with a brand new set. I purchased them and love the feel when that ball meets the clubhead–that unmistakable "click!" Like hitting an egg, it's totally AWESOME! These are the sweetest feeling irons I've ever held in my hands. I have bought so many sets that I normally need to make adjustments when switching irons, but this was not the case with the Edge Pros. Ben Hogan clubs have been referred to as the Mercedes Benz of golf clubs and their looks and playability are testament to why they are so highly regarded as the best irons in the business. These Edge Pro's are the sweetest hitting forged clubs on the market today. It's a shame that Hogan discontinued the "Pro" model series. Their new set, the Apex Edge clubs are almost identical. Also, Edge Pro's are slick looking clubs. They set up just right when addressing the ball and I have the utmost confidence when I have these babies in my hands and being able to pull off a shot. When your game gets into the low seventies, or better, it's the small things that make all the difference. Having a positive feeling about the club you are holding in your hands goes a long way in helping you knock a few strokes off of your score. These clubs will do just that. Not only can you work the ball, but these clubs are easy to hit. Hogan is the only name to go to in irons. No other club I've hit delivers the same crispness that the Edge Pro's give you. It is hard to go wrong with a golf company that was founded by a man who could be classified as one of the purest strikers of the ball.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
basharteg   Shoots in the 70s [Dec 02, 2005]
Model Reviewed: Apex Edge Pro

Like many other reviewers here, I feel that this are the best clubs I have ever owned. I switched to these from i3 blades, and these are simply better. They look and act enough like blades to appeal to the mid to low capper, but they have enough forgiveness to be very playable. They're forged, and that makes them beautiful, responsive, and a pleasure to hit, when you hit pure to good shots. I will never switch again, and am looking for another back up set on ebay. These clubs are superb

Customer Service

not needed

Similar Products Used: ping i3blades callaway x12 cobra ss
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
SteveH   Shoots in the 80s [Jul 26, 2005]
Model Reviewed: Ben Hogan Apex Edge Pro irons

I have had these irons for about a year now and am extremely happy with them. These clubs feel awesome at impact, as they have that soft feel that only a forged iron seems to have. Great looking club as well, as they are not too large a head. I have found these clubs to be pretty forgiving, as it takes a pretty bad shot to really find a lot of distance or accuracy loss. One thing to keep in mind is that you will need to buy iron covers, as the irons can dint very easily. I really like these clubs and could not be happier with them

Customer Service

Have never had a problem with the irons, although it is getting harder to find stockists of Hogan stuff in Australia

Similar Products Used: Anything and everything
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 79  

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com