Ben Hogan Apex Plus Irons

Available At:
Apex Plus

From Ben Hogan Golf: "When Ben Hogan introduced the first forged, perimeter-weighted irons in 1989, he built the club some said, "couldn't be made." The "impossible" combination of perimeter-weighted forgiveness and forged feel. This experience, technology and innovation shapes the Ben Hogan Apex Plus. Many golfers have aspired to play a Ben Hogan Apex. Now, the perimeter-weighted Apex Plus provides an appreciably larger sweet spot across the face of the club, from heel to toe. Off-center hits will go longer, be more accurate and just happen to "feel" a lot better, too."

User Reviews (262)

Showing 1-10 of 262  
Brad Morris   Shoots in the 80s [Jul 03, 2016]
Model Reviewed: Ben Hogan Apex PLus ('99)

The '99 Hogan Apex Plus irons are simply one of the top 4 or 5 iron sets ever made in the history of golf. And that includes every iron being made today. They do have a bit of offset, which some may not like. If not for that, I would declare them the undisputed greatest all around iron in the history of the game. Brilliant.

Similar Products Used: Mizuno MP-15, Wilson Staff FG V2
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
dmfeld22   Shoots in the 70s [Apr 13, 2016]
Model Reviewed: Apex plus

I'm a Ben Hogan snob. My Hogan snobbery has no filter. When he first started making clubs, back in the 1950's, his attitude was "I knew I could make better clubs than anything available. I just knew I could." Shazzam! Mission accomplished. He was a golf genius. Both as a player and an industry titan, his combination of ball striking know-how and product development acumen has yet to be embodied in any one individual since. Think about it. The best player before and after the car wreck, he redesigned his shoes to add a 12th cleat, because he knew more about swing anchor stability than did the manufacturer, Maxwell of London and later Stone & Tarlow. Additionally, he authored a few books slash documents on golf. One of which is arguably the most read and respected book in the history of the subject, 5 Lessons. The meat and potaters of his success was the equipment he used. His own clubs. Sometimes he made clubs for other fellow tour members who had the sense to ask. His club making skill is still reverd as one of the best efforts, to this day. Hogan lover, or not, it's a remarkable achievement.

The Apex Plus set is right at the top of anything that ever came out of Hogan Golf. There was a review here that said it best. Feels like a blade. Forgives like a game improvement iron. It's an accurate depiction, but it looks really sexy, as well. My set is 3-E (E= Equilizer for those who aren't sure. He even produced a "Sure-out" SW for those who aren't sure, lol). I wore out the Apex 4 shafts and had them replaced with 6.0 Rifles as the FCM's seemed the closest to the Apex 4's I was able to find at that time. The sweet spot fells like the size of a U.S. quarter, which is significanly larger than on other Hogan blade irons. I would compare this similarly to the Channel Backs per the sweet spot size. More forgiving than I need, but there really isn't a hint of workability loss due to the increased range of forgiveness. They have been and still are one of the very best sets of clubs ever made, and you can have a set in above average to excellent condition for $90.00 - $250.00. And there's not a chance you can hit your new Miuras all that much better than I can bend these Apex Plus babies. Wanna bet? So go ahead and fork over $2k+, or just grab a set of Apex Plus irons and use the remainder for another 20 rounds of golf. You won't be disappointed. I promise.

Customer Service

The best.

Similar Products Used: 690MB, MP64.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Ryan Edward Morris   Shoots in the 80s [Oct 22, 2015]
Model Reviewed: Ben Hogan Apex Plus

I purchased a set off ebay, nearly unplayed, for 120.00. In a blind test, I would have assumed I was playing a top of the line Mizuno (jpx 850). The feel was remarkable. Smooth through the turf, blade like even, high smash factor(the ball whistled through the wind on contact, and the distance was about 168 for a smooth, easy 6 iron. There is nothing to fault in performance or feel. I was left after nearly every swing, in awe.
I have played several other older hogan's such as the 92 apex, 88 redline, and 93. These are different from those, not blades but cavity backs imo. However, I felt thesee would appeal to a broader group of people while providing a similar playability that hogan disciples have come to expect.
The look is, as is the standard for the hogan (the exception being the awful edge), top class. Hogan's forged irons seem to hold up better as well. Just look at the seemingly endless array of hogan's on ebay from 30 years ago with limited browning etc while a mizuno from last year seems aged.
Highly recommended. Especially for those who dream of playing a elite quality forged club for a modest price.

Customer Service

Great

Similar Products Used: Mizuno mp4, mp 54, mp 68, mp 67, titelist 690 mb, titelist 690 mb, taylor made 2005 rac tp, macgregor tourney pcb forged, ping g25.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Rick   Shoots in the 80s [Oct 22, 2014]
Model Reviewed: Hogan Apex Plus

Having given up on golf because of back issues 14 years ago, I left a 6 handicap at 46 years old. Deciding 4 months ago to begin playing again, I wanted to replace my Hogan Apex blades with a little newer version and bought the apex plus on ebay 3-pw for $140.00. I am amazed how quickly I got back in the groove, so I decided to go to Edwin Watts and just for grins try out some game improvement clubs, surprisingly my Hogan's are just as long as the mizuno 825's and the callaway apex, which by the way all three are beautiful clubs. I am a player that likes instant feedback from his irons and Hogan's let you have it quick. Personally game improvement clubs might work a little for the high handicap golfer, I think I will stick to my Hogans and get my swing back in the right groove and save that $1000. I see many high handicap golfers swinging clubs that consistently get them in trouble, get the swing plane right and you can tie a coke bottle to a stick and hit a golf ball straight.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
KiKi   Shoots in the 80s [Nov 12, 2013]
Model Reviewed: Ben Hogan Apex Plus

I had heard great things about Hogan irons and a few days ran across a set of Apex Plus (3-E) sitting in corner of golf store. The grips were quite worn and slick but other wise the irons themselves were 9/10 with nearly perfect faces.

Took them over to the simulator and was hitting some incredibly consistent shots despite the worn grips. The feel on these was just as all the reviews said and honestly I was hitting them just as good as my Mizuno JPX Pros and other irons I have. Distances were about the same so I finally looked at the price and store had them at 29.99. A no-brainer for sure. Had some new grips put on and hit them again in the simulator and I was actually getting five more yards with my 6 iron. Cant wait to get these on the course and see what I can really do. O

Outstanding irons and I see just why all the rave reviews. It just amazes me how all the technology that has come about over the years and still hit a 15 or 20 year old set as well as the new stuff. That could be attributed to my woeful golf game but either way I now have a set of some classic sticks. I would put them up against anything I have previously played.

Only reason I cant give a 5 rating is because I haven't gamed them yet.

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used: Mizuno JPX 800 Pro's, PING G series, MacGregor Tourney VIP
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
Joe Wiseman   Shoots in the 100s [Aug 25, 2012]
Model Reviewed: Ben Hogan Apex Plus

I have been carrying some Hogan equipment in my bag for a few years now, however, my base iron set was a Callaway X14. In May, I kinda stole a set of these at a used equipment show in Dayton Ohio for $120. I know that as a "bad" or "average" golfer, I got no business playing clubs like these. When i first took them to the Range,I knew that I would never get another "game improvement" set of irons again. By playing these clubs (admittedly a bit easier than pure blades, but anyway) i have gotten to the level where i should hit pure shots every time. Since i know when and why i hit a bad shot, it makes me not want to hit a bad shot. By hitting these pure, it makes me want to practice and get better, dig the secret out of the dirt, and hit more good shots. In short, I have seen the fallicy of game improvement clubs, technology, and the like. Its gotten so bad that I've almost put my Razr Hawk Tour out to pasture for an old MacGregor Challenger persimmon driver.
The secret is in the dirt.

Customer Service

No need. However, Callaway, my modern favorite, killed them...

Similar Products Used: MagGregor Tom Weiskopf Signature 910 irons, MacGregor FC 4000 1959 irons.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
tim   Shoots in the 80s [Jan 27, 2012]
Model Reviewed: hogan apex plus

Im a senior and i have become a better player with the hogan apex plus iron's,I hit the ball longer and a lot closer to the pin now.I think the hogan apex iron's are the best made club's, Calaway need's to open there eye's, This is a class a set of golf club's.

Customer Service

where is it.

Similar Products Used: taylormade iron's, china make's a cheep golf club.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Ben Bailey   Shoots in the 70s [Dec 04, 2011]
Model Reviewed: Ben Hogan Apex plus Irons

Let me start by saying I have played a hand full of sets over all my years playing and found that true golfers love the equipment they started with. The Hogan Apex Plus are simply some the best irons ever made. There are a handful of sets that you can go back to again and again that have the flight, feel and register of these. In todays market new clubs are available by a select few that capture this, by the way they all cost over 799.00 - 1999.00! Why when you can pick these up on ebay for 90.00-200.00! The feel is like a... "hot knife through butter when struck right." I have heard this said over and over to review this set. The weight and forged feel of these make sure you are rewarded with the proper flight and trajectory right off the sweet spot is what we all mean to say. A mid flight with a slight right to left bend and plenty of feel to will the ball in the direction you want it to go once learned. No other Fat headed bantering over sweet spot clubs can teach you to break below the 70's or shoot consistently in them. So if you are ready or ever want to know how to shape your shots with clubs that tell the truth, reward tempo and a proper impact position these are for you. The original quality of Hogan will be missed and I simply doubt that Callaway Golf after purchasing the name will ever resurrect anything close to how these were originally made and feel. I have changed the shafts to Project X how ever and love the feel so way to go Callaway on the project X shafts! In conclusion if you do not own a set like this you should simply to improve your game and feel what you are missing. Forged irons give feel and allow you to move to the next level of golf. If you are like many golfers, even the youngest pro's of today you started on forged irons and never looked back!

Similar Products Used: Wilson Staff Forged
MP 60
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
epicedwardsjr   Scratch Golfer [May 06, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Ben Hogan Apex Plus

I have used these irons for about 8 years and the have served me well. They promote a great feel on all irons fom 3 - P and also a huge plus is the distances and workability they offer. They age well and look great in your hand and in the bag.

The best clubs for all handicaps. Low handicaps cant go wrong with these, you will almost never hit a bad strike.

Customer Service

exellent

Similar Products Used: Mizumo MP-30's, Mizuno t-zoid pro II's.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Tim Smith   Shoots in the 70s [Feb 22, 2010]
Model Reviewed: 1999 Apex Plus

I have been using the Apex Plus irons for the past 10 years. I was thinking about buying a new set of forged of irons. I tried a set of Mizuno MP-52's. The Mizuno look like the Apex Plus, and felt like them? I can't see any reason to drop another $ 800.00 to get almost the same set of clubs I have!
The Hogan Apex are a great club for good players. The price is right and if you are looking to play a great forged iron I would try to get my hands on a set.

Customer Service

I have never had to use them in 10 years.

Similar Products Used: Mizuno MP-T Wedges
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 262  

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com