Ben Hogan Apex Irons

Available At:
Apex

From Ben Hogan Co: "...the 1998 Apex Iron combines some of the best features of the '88 and '94 Apex models. The result is the feel and performance you would expect from a forged blade, incorporated into the most playable blade design available today."

User Reviews (114)

Showing 1-10 of 114  
John A   Scratch Golfer [Jul 24, 2015]
Model Reviewed: Hogan Apex 98-99

I have played a number of what I consider quality blades,67 VIPS,Hogan Personnal model (set 0644) Cleveland TA1,Nike VR pro
and Hogan Apex 98-99 and nice as the Hogan 98-99s are by far the nicest looking and performing blade is the Clevelands absolutely beautiful even more so than a 63 round Carnoustie in a hoolie or a 40 year old Sophia Loren.PS thats taking into account that the Hogan 89-99s have DG S300s in them.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
j. cev   Shoots in the 70s [Jul 30, 2014]
Model Reviewed: ben hogan apex blades

all i want to add about these irons is they are extremely durable!! i don't know how these irons are chromed but the bag chatter on these is very minimal. after owning for several years without head covers and mostly clanging around in a cart these have held up much better than my old mizuno mp-29's.

Customer Service

no needed

Similar Products Used: mp-14, mp-29, eye 2 copper and steel
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
billy lumsden   Shoots in the 70s [Jul 18, 2011]
Model Reviewed: apex irons by ben hogan

love those irons best ever

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
mike borucki   Shoots in the 70s [Nov 19, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Hogan Apex 98-02

I have been a golfer since I was a kid and have a good natural swing. For the first 15 yrs, I played with some DCI's and never really thought about changing. However, about 5 yrs ago I discoverd Ben Hogans book, Five Lessons and for the first time ever I understood the golf swing, I wish someone would have gave me this book when I was young!( I give it away all the time). The first season after I read this book was the most fun I've had on a golf course, my irons where pure & straight and my scores droped into the 70's. Since then, I have read EVERYTHING Hogan and swithced to Hogan irons, the APEX EDGE PRO's(cavity back forged irons) Great irons,and with my new (Hogan inspired swing)my game got even better. Then I started to try some old school blades thinking it would interesting to see if I could hit them. I tried everything, Mizuno's, KZG's, Nike....then I found the APEX 98's. Much to my delight most of the blades were very playable and decided to get a set of Apex 98's. Got them off EBAY with Rifle 6.0 which I thought might be to much for me, but I hit them dead straight. I think everyone with normal ability should play stiffer shafts, the ball WILL go straighter and more consistent. For some reason I decided to reshaft them with the KBS tour shafts, did it myself, fun project, swingweight D-2 the hole bit. I leraned alot about the affect a shaft has on a golf swing/ball. For the record I actually have four 5 iron heads fitted with different shafts so I could try which shaft worked the best, (Stock Apex #4,Rifle 6.0, Project X 5.5 and the KBS tour stiff). I have to say the Hogan shaft was the worst, it was like hitting a different club, all the other shafts preformed much better, with ball flight lower and more powerful. This project has showed me that the shaft IS the engine of a club and a correct fit will help any golfer. I still keep the Rifle 6.0 in my bag because I think I hit it more consistent then the KBS's (always tinkering). The reason I talked about Ben's book is that it made me a much better golfer and I can really enjoy playing blades because of it. With that said a good blade iron will make anyone play better. At least buy a single 6I and take it to the range, I promise, you will be converted. In conclusion the Apex 98's are not only some of the best looking irons ever, they are also in a very small group of great blade irons (others:MP-29,MP-37,MP-14, KZG to name a few) that anyone can play and enjoy. A purely struk Apex is the only way to feel what Ben Hogan felt every time he hit a golf ball and for that reason I will play my Apex's for a long time.
Thx for reading
Henny Bogan

Similar Products Used: MP-29, MP-37, KZG, NIKE V forged, Really liked the nikes but will not support the Guy behind them. Actually if you look at the set Mr. Hogan desiged and played the "Personals" from 1953 you will see that its copied by Mizuno ( the MP-14's which Tiger played before his Titlest club contract and only if they made him a set that closly matched the mp-14'S! and now the nike's are very similar.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
kaparn   Shoots in the 80s [Dec 30, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Ben Hogan Apex

I picked these up from the net for less then $250 for about two years ago. The reason was that I wanted to try something “a little harder” then my Ping G5 and Eye2, and all my friends said that the ultimate set to have before you checked in to the Heavenly G&CC is a forged Hogan set. I have to agree. When you play good golf and have time to practice your shots and shot making capabilities, blades are the deal. If you are not that serious about your game, maybe you should look for something else, but at the same time; these could help you improve your game if given the chance. The shafts in my set are Hogan by Spalding no 3 (regular), and they fit the club heads nicely, I like the combination. Considering my swing speed (80-83 mph with I6) the do the job very good and I do not need a stiffer shaft. When the sun shines and you have the wind in your back, there are not a whole lot of sets I would rather have in my bag.

The only sad thing about this set is that Hogan as a company, for all intents and purposes no longer exists as an independent club maker, which I think is a great shame.

Customer Service

I have not been needing it.

Similar Products Used: Mizuno MP-33, Titleist 695mb, Titleist 690.mb, Alpha V2-mb
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
knh555   Shoots in the 80s [Nov 11, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Hogan Apex Blades (98-02)

I played Hogan Radials (2-E) for a dozen years and then switched over to Ping ISIs about twelve years ago. Seemed the thing to do at the time. After then not playing for the last ten years, I got back into golf to teach my seven year-old son. I quickly discovered that I much prefer a thin topline with a compact head and hit my old Radials much better than the "easy-to-hit" Ping ISI-Ks that I also have. Since the Radials are a little tired and I wanted a stiffer shaft than the Apex 3 steel shaft I have on those clubs, I started researching blades. As a long-time Hogan fan, the Apex was high on the list. I found a set, 1-E in close-to-new shape with Rifle Flighted shafts (6.0) on ebay and pulled the trigger. All they needed were new grips.

The clubs are amazing. Draw, fade, knockdown...whatever you want. My distance is down a club from my Radials even though the lofts are a touch stronger, but I attribute that to the stiffer shafts. I'm still hitting the 8 iron about 145 though. The control makes it worth it as distance is not what's limiting my game at the moment.

I also really like having the 1 and 2 irons for tee shots. I often will carry one as a secondary driving option. Unlike most people, I'm much more comfortable with the long irons than woods or hybrids - a weak point of my game.

Interestingly, I tried playing the Pings again for a few rounds recently and my game fell apart. I found that with the Apex and Radial club heads, I set up much better and concentrate better allowing me to put the ball on the sweetspot more often. I belive some combination of the optics and offset is at work here.

Don't believe the hype that only low 'cappers can play blades. I'm of the belief that, yes, there's a difference between the cavity backs and blades, and yes, some people will perform better with one than the other, but the differences are much smaller than the marketing departments at the big companies or the local golf retail store would have you believe.

The way to improve your game is to improve your swing. Get a club that give you the feedback you need and don't be afraid to try a set of clubs like these and give it a go.

Customer Service

After killing the Hogan brand and legacy, I don't see myself buying anything from Callaway anytime soon.

Similar Products Used: Hogan Radials, Ping Eye 2, Ping ISI, various other blades
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
leftycc   Shoots in the 70s [Nov 06, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Apex Pro Blade

Excellent club. I have played custom built clubs and clubs off the shelf, but none felt as solid and provided the ball flight/workability skills I have found with these. Before purchasing my Apex, I tried Titlest, Callaway and Taylor Made, these clubs are the best!

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
Mike Radfoot   Shoots in the 80s [Oct 24, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Hogan Apex Blades

Upon taking up these new clubs, I was astounded at the way they felt, in more respect to the after shot non shock like some irons I have used. Was a staunch Calloway user - Big Bertha, however now will look to moving on to these. Borrowed a friends set and have seen a vast improvement of my game. In more particular my distance and control. I always thought the "Blade " were for pros or the like - thiner type of club, I was wrong. These will now help me get to a single handicap-- 3 to go.

Customer Service

Hogan should be commended on this style of club and technology

Similar Products Used: Calloway - no more!
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
JIM RESTIVO   Shoots in the 90s [Oct 06, 2009]
Model Reviewed: APEX 06

BEAUTIFUL,EYE CATCHING IRONS. WHEN MY SWING IS CORRECT THESE IRONS ROCK ! WHEN I BOUGHT THESE IRONS I WAS A 22 HNDCP. [AT ONE TIME I WAS A 10] AFTER THE FIRST 3 ROUNDS I REALLY GOT BUSY WITH THE PRACTICE RANGE. WITH EVERY BUCKET I WAS FINDING SOMETHING NEW. I WAS SO TAKEN BY MY NEW LEARNING CURVE THAT ONCE AGAIN I BECAME A STUDENT OF THE GAME. GRIP PRESSURE,COURSE MANAGEMENT,GREENS READING, SWING SET UP,BALL FLIGHT,YOU NAME IT. ONCE AGAIN I BECAME A SPONGE FOR KNOWLEDGE ABOUT A GAME THAT CAN'T BE WON. ALL BECAUSE OF 8 NEW IRONS BOUGHT AT A DISCOUNT.ON A WHIM. I HAVE NEVER BEEN ABLE TO PUT UP WITH THE LATEST GREATEST GAME IMPROVING IRONS. HECK I CAN'T EVEN HIT OFFSET CLUBS. I FEEL LIKE I'M SWINGING A BASEBALL BAT INTO A BAG OF SAND. I'VE ONLY OWNED 2 CAST SETS[TOMMY ARMOUR AND MAX-FLY]. I ALWAYS WENT BACK TO FORGED IRONS [FX-2,YONEX,MACGREGOR,WILSON] AND MORE. ALL USED CLUBS. BUT I ALWAYS LIKED THE LOOK OF HOGAN BLADES. SO AT 229.00 BRAND NEW I JUMPED ON THEM [SHOULD'A GOT 2 SETS].
AT FIRST... WHAT A FEEL!! BUT A WHOLE CLUB SHORT. IT TOOK A FEW HOURS AT THE RANGE TO GET TO KNOW THESE AND THEN POW!
84-89-86-85. I STARTED THINKING ABOUT GETTING BACK DOWN TO A 10. GOLF HELL FOR ME IS SHOOTING HIGH 90s WHEN IT SHOULD BE MID 80s.FEEL IS FANTASTIC, PLAYABILITY IS GREAT. I REALIZED THE LOST DISTANCE IS PARTLY DUE TO NO RUN-OUT WHEN THESE IRONS LAND THE BALL. THROWADART! PINSEEKERS! AND WITH MY NEW FOUND WORK ETHIC ABOUT PRACTICE MY OLD SWING IS COMING BACK... SLOWLY. SO, WHAT DO I DO? WELL TAKE THESE IRONS OUT OF THE BAG OF COURSE. THERE SHORT AFTER ALL. INTO THE BAG GO THE FX-2s AFTER A FRESH FITTING FOR MY NEW/OLD SWING. EACH CLUB TUNED JUST FOR ME. MAN! THESE IRONS ARE LONGER THAN EVER. EVERY ONE. BUT WAIT.. SOMETHINGS NOT RIGHT. THEY DON'T BEHAVE VERY WELL. I CAN STILL HIT IT STRAIGHT BUT WHERE IS MY FADE? OR KNOCK DOWN OR HIGH SHOT? OR MY DISTANCE CONTROL? MY TOUCH WITH CHIPS-PITCHES? ALL WORKED WELL WITH THE NEW HOGANS? [ I NEVER COULD HIT A GOOD WORKING DRAW ].I'VE PLAYED WITH MY FX FORGED SINCE 1998. ALWAYS LIKED THEM,BUT THEY HAD TO GO. BACK TO THE HOGANS AND HANDICAP REPAIR. MY GROUP SAW A CHANGE.
NIGHT TURNS TO DAY. I WENT FROM 22 TO 16.3 IN A MONTH. I WAS SO IMPRESSED WITH THESE IRONS [IN STOCK FORM] THAT I'M AFRAID TO SEE MY FITTER. SINCE THEN I REPLACED EVERYTHING ELSE IN MY BAG EXCEPT FOR MY DRIVER AND PUTTER. EVERYTHING ELSE IS FROM HOGAN. [HYBRIDs 0-1-2-3-4,CARNOUSTIE 54,60 WEDGES]. A TAYLOR MADE DRAW DRIVER AND MY TRUSTY ANSER PUTTER[1992]. EXCEPT FOR THE 14 CLUB RULE I'M NOW SET. CALLAWAY IS MAKING A HUGE MISTAKE BY DROPPING THE HOGAN LINE. AND THE FORGED STUFF THEY OFFER WHILE NICE JUST CAN'T COMPARE WITH THE FEEL OF TRUE BLADES. IF YOUR LOOKING FOR FEEL AND WANT TO IMPROVE BUY SOME USED HOGANS [GOOD LUCK FINDING THEM NEW].
GET MR.HOGAN'S BOOK 5 LESSONS. THEN PRACTICE. AFTER THAT,PICK UP YOUR OLD STICKS. WELCOME TO DAYLIGHT. GAME IMPROVEMENT? CAVITY BACK? OFFSET? IT'S ALL FINE FOR YOUR FIRST SET.BUT YOU WILL NEVER KNOW WHAT A GOLF CLUB REALLY DOES.
BECAUSE THE LATEST AND GREATEST DO ONE THING VERY WELL.MASK BAD SHOTS [WHICH HAS IT'S PLACE.. ie-BEGGINNERS].I MEAN,THE WHOLE REASON FOR AN OFFSET CLUB IS TO HIDE THE FACT THAT YOUR HANDS ARE IN THE WRONG POSITION COMING THROUGH THE BALL. AFTER YOUR LEARNING SET OF IRONS WE SHOULD ALL KNOW THIS.OR BE TOLD. AND THAT'S THE TIME FOR A CHANGE. DON'T BELEIVE ME? GO TO YOUR LOCAL STORE AND PICK YOUR FAVORITE LOFTED IRON FROM THE USED CLUB BIN. FORGED WITH LITTLE OR NO OFFSET. OR GET ONE ON E-BAY. THEY ARE CHEAP AND USUALLY SCRAPED UP QUITE A BIT.
[THE NEW GRIP YOU PUT ON WILL COST JUST AS MUCH]. JUST MAKE SURE IT'S A TOP NAME BRAND. SOME OFF BRAND BLADES ARE REAL JUNK. READ HOGAN'S BOOK AND GET STARTED.
NEVER AGAIN WILL YOU WALK INTO THE LOCAL PROSHOP WITH THAT DOE-EYED I HOPE THIS NEW STUFF WORKS OUTLOOK. YOU WILL PASS ON ALMOST ALL THE EQUIPMENT BECAUSE OF A SHARPER MORE DISERNING EYE. AND IF THEY DON'T HAVE A FITTER YOUR IN THE WRONG STORE. I OUGHT TO BE PAID..

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
mvanscoik   Shoots in the 70s [Sep 22, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Ben Hogan Apex Blades

If you have the game to play blades effectively than there is no better iron than the BH Apex Blades.
The clubhead is heavier than most which discourages some players, but the weight helps especially when hitting out of the rough. I've had the blades all through high school and college golf. I doubt I will ever get something different.
If you get them, be patient and stick with it, blades take a while to get used to, but once you do your game will be fantastic.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 114  
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com