Ben Hogan Director Irons

Director

The Ben Hogan Director irons have a semi-long blade with a rounded sole. The plain scooped out back and thin top line make these as functional as they are traditional looking.

User Reviews (9)

Showing 1-9 of 9  
Jerry Walden   Shoots in the 90s [Mar 10, 2017]
Model Reviewed: Hogan Director

I just purchased a set of Hogan Directors,(3-PW) from Goodwill. I liked their Look, Feel, and especially the Grips (They haven't been hit much, as they are clean and the previous owners name and address is scotch taped just below the grips, ...like last year.(?). I paid $350 for a set of CHEAP Irons, three woods, and a putter in the late 60's for a PE Class in college... VS $15 bucks for the Hogans, a putter and a serviceable bag @ GW this week. My last round was at Sunol, Bay Area, 40 years ago, broke 100. Best 9 holes was a year before in Bettendorf,IA, 5 over par, back 9. Out side of a lot of range work and trying to hit picnic tables in the park with a 9 iron, that's been it. 20 years ago, I gave the Wilson's to my nephew. Will be installing a net in back yard to chip/drive into, graduate to range and look forward to fun on the links this summer, in my retirement...

Similar Products Used: To fill out my playing "Set", I will not go for the traditional woods. There seem to be some nice oversized drivers and fairway wood type clubs I will research. Definitely will not go for the Big Bertha type Driver... (Someone above stated essentially, it's not so much the tool as it is the operator...)gaw
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Bill Gant   Shoots in the 80s [Aug 08, 2014]
Model Reviewed: hogan director

Bought a used set in 1983 to start my golf career. Had a 27 handicap and in 8 years got to an 8. Hit a hole in 1 on 09/11/1991 at Honeywell golf course in Wabash Indiana and I'll never part with them. Tried newer clubs but there just isn't that feel.

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
Craig B.   Shoots in the 70s [Mar 27, 2014]
Model Reviewed: hogan directors

just bought a playable set from a goodwill
4-e gonna re-grip & test against apex pro forged with #4 shafts can,t wait to see what happens

Similar Products Used: titliest 762,962, & dci blacks, taylormade
tp mc,s & original burners
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Ken Thrasher   Shoots in the 90s [Apr 13, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Hogan Director

I learned how to play with a set of Directors that belonged to a club pro.The faces had hit thoisands of balls. The old guy told me if I hit them where he did that I would always be straight. I was convinced by a friend to go to perimiter weighted. I sold the Directors and always regreted it. I bought a set on ebay in perfect shape for 18.50 (2-PW). The red numbers on the bottom are perfect. They look as though they have rarely ever been hit. They are the most beautiful irons I have ever seen. They are so good I will buy iron covers so they do not touch one another. I have hit every top brand and will never part with my Hogans again.

Similar Products Used: Ping Eye 2, Ping Zing, Ping Zing 2, Callaway Big Bertha, S2H2,nothing else looks like or plays like the Directors
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Big_Genuine   Shoots in the 80s [Feb 19, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Hogan Director Forged Blades

As one of the other reviewers indicated, these blades are "like butter" when hit well, but can be unforgiving as well...but that's part of the beauty of playing a good blade. I've been playing blades all my life, and these are the best I've owned. Also, like another reviewer on here, ironical that I too found a full set at Goodwill, re-gripped them and have been using for 2 years now. I bought a set of Titleist DCI cavity backs as well, and always seem to go back to the Hogans.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
geoffrey   Scratch Golfer [Aug 27, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Ben Hogan Director

God where do i even begin to describe these clubs. Ok Ive played 3 sets of blades in my lifetime; MacGregor MT Pro Cut, Mizuno MP30, and Wilson Tom Kites. It felt like i had to come through faster with every swing to barely get close to where I wanted it. One day I went to Goodwill(seriously good clubs just need restration are there all the time) and I saw these nasty Ben Hogan blades but loved the look of them payed $20 bucks for them, went home and spent hours cleaning out the groves and face they look brand new now like they just came off the rack 20 years ago. I love the feel too, the face feels like velcro when i hit it. Honestly ive never hit a set not even cavity backs this well i had a handycap 13 when I got them, its been three months and im at an 8, and im still in highschool ha. They improved my game greatly.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
pdan   Shoots in the 80s [Apr 12, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Ben Hogan Director

Bought the Hogan Directors new in the early 80's. played them for over 20 years. Bought Taylor Made's OS with grafite shafes because of the hype etc. they were longer higher but ablolutly no feel and I could not get use to the fat blade line. I'm back with the beautiful Hogan Director's that I have always used covers on, in love again. Feel the ball again, great when it's sweet and painfull when I mess-up... as it is in love.

Customer Service

who need it when a club is made this good?

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
chris nunnally   Shoots in the 80s [Mar 12, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Ben Hogan Director

I bought these clubs at a yard sale for $20. Re griped them with Winn grips and Love them. Great feel, nice distance with a nice loft. True blades! I can work the ball with ease.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Matt   Shoots in the 70s [Jun 15, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Director

These are very nice club and I'm suprised there are no other reviews. Great ball flight, great control, great distance and they feel like butter. Can be bought on ebay in good condition for about $70

Customer Service

Never used

Similar Products Used: Every other iron out there
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Showing 1-9 of 9  

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com