Callaway FT-5 Drivers

Available At:
FT-5

The new FT-5 and FT-5 Tour Drivers are the latest evolution in clubhead design utilizing our revolutionary Fusion® Technology. A massive 50 grams of discretionary weight has been created using a Carbon Fiber Body — creating the OptiFit™ Weighting System that produces three center of gravity configurations: Draw, Neutral and Fade, enabling golfers to choose a combination to best suit their individual game. The larger, more robust CT/VFT Titanium cup face is designed to the legal limit, as defined by the USGA Characteristic Time test, resulting in increased ball speed, distance and forgiveness — even on miss-hits. The FT-5 Tour Driver has a slightly open face for a look preferred by more accomplished players. The end result is exceptional distance, performance, accuracy and confidence.

Fusion Technology
Proprietary Fusion Technology creates an unprecedented 50 grams of discretionary weight which is strategically positioned for a high Moment of Inertia and precise lateral location of the center of gravity. This provides exceptional stability on off-center hits, while enabling ball flight customization for optimal individual performance. The 25-gram weight located at the rear of the driver lowers the CG for optimal trajectory.

OptiFit Weighting System
Enables golfers to customize their driver by giving them three CG locations to choose from in most lofts: Draw for promoting a draw or reducing a slice/fade; Neutral for maximum workability; or Fade for promoting a fade or reducing a hook/draw.

CT/VFT Titanium Cup Face
Modified version of VFT® Technology in which face thicknesses are designed specifically to maximize performance under the new USGA Characteristic Time test, resulting in a larger, more robust face for increased ball speed on shots hit all over the face.

460cc head design
A 460cc head volume is incorporated with a longer, wider and hotter face for more confidence at address, a higher MOI and increased ball speed for longer, straighter drives.

Carbon Composite Body
The material used to make the body is significantly lighter than titanium, allowing Callaway Golf engineers to move 50 grams of discretionary weight where it is needed most, resulting in better stability and distance.



User Reviews (73)

Showing 1-10 of 73  
barber   Shoots in the 80s [Aug 26, 2012]
Model Reviewed: ft5

This driver and callaway both rock I had a happy gilmour moment go bad at the range end with an exploded clubhead but callaway was nice enough to replace it for me custom shaft and all anyway I've been Hitting the deepest drives ever since thanks callaway

Customer Service

5 stars

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
Bob Conron   Shoots in the 80s [Jun 14, 2011]
Model Reviewed: FT-5

I have played with the FT-5 for 3 years and enjoyed the club immensely. I used to slam the ball off of the tee for distance - now an easy swing and I swear it goes the longest. Unfortunately, my FT-5 busted within the club head after only about 20 rounds of golf. There is something loose inside, and it sounds awful when it strikes the ball. I now get 75-80% of the distance. Unbelievably, Callaway told me they would allow me to buy a new Razr for $260. I was shocked. I assumed they would replace the FT-5 with an appropriate club. It is not as though I snapped the shaft. No, this is inside the club. I need new irons (in addition to a driver) - guess what I'm not buying?

Customer Service

My FT-5 busted within the club head after only about 20 rounds of golf. There is something loose inside, and it sounds awful when it strikes the ball. I now get 75-80% of the distance. Unbelievably, Callaway told me they would allow me to buy a new Razr for $260. I was shocked. I assumed they would replace the FT-5 with an appropriate club. It is not as though I snapped the shaft. No, this is inside the club. I need new irons (in addition to a driver) - guess what I'm not buying?

OVERALL
RATING
1
Value
RATING
1
Naticus   Shoots in the 70s [Jan 18, 2011]
Model Reviewed: Callaway FT-5

Here's the straight dope on the Callaway FT-5 Driver. The Dick's Sporting Goods across the street from my work is going out of business, so they were having a clearance sale with unbelievable prices on golf gear. The prices were so good that I ended up purchasing an FT-5 (9* - draw bias - Stiff) for $20 and a Ping Rapture for $35. I took both clubs to the range and tried them out together. Here's what I found...

The FT-5 is not the best looking club I've ever seen, and it also sounds horrible. BUT... I could not mis-hit this thing! I was getting about 10 more yards from it than my current driver (a Taylor Made TP580). I thought that the draw bias might have me hooking this thing, but I was able to keep a nice mellow draw on the ball. The only problem with this club was that I could not put a good fade on the ball. Even when i tried to slice it, the most I got was a little bit of "tailing" at the end of the ball flight. Comparing it with the Ping Rapture, I was more consistent with the FT-5. However, the Rapture allows me to work the ball a little more, so I have that in my bag right now.

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
mark van tuinen   Shoots in the 80s [Sep 03, 2010]
Model Reviewed: callaway ft-5 driver, senior flex,13* ht

My favorite driver of all I have tried in the last few years (all from ebay). It is the longest and has excellent sound and feel, is fun to swing and is solid at impact. Generally forgiving, though the draw bias occasionally leads to pulls to the left when my swing is off.

Customer Service

no experience in this area

Similar Products Used: nike str8 dymo, nike lucky 13, cobra 400sz, cobra m speed, cleve. hibore xls, tour edge geo max bazooka, adams redline, adams speedline, nicklaus dual point, callaway 454, callaway diablo, macgregor mt mdx, taylor made r7 draw.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
windy   Scratch Golfer [Aug 16, 2010]
Model Reviewed: callaway ft5 10 degrees neutral.

I have one of these for two years now. I have also played the worst golf of my life for the last two years. This club is woeful. I have changed shafts to see if I could get any better out of it but no dice. The sweet spot, if it does exist is the size of a pea and the noise it makes is so embarrasing that I cringe as I swing, which is probably half my problem. I have been fitted for a 909d2 so its hasta la vista baby. (first €50 offer secures this piece of..). Believe me if I could be profane on this website about the damage this club has done to my game I would.You cant putt for dough if you are in the trees all the time.

Customer Service

Dont know

Similar Products Used: Titleist 907 d2, Burner ,
OVERALL
RATING
1
Value
RATING
1
Available At:
massey   Shoots in the 80s [Aug 11, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Callaway FT-5 tour

Read a lot of reviews on the FT-5, was looking for a higher level "tour" driver for that little bit extra control and distance. Nabbed one for a song on eBay. WOW. Took it to driving range, did nothing but hard fades off of rubber tees ... took it to the course for a practice round, entirely different beast. LOOONG, workable, very stable, great launch and roll, just inspired confidence at every level, and I have some very good other drivers. Shafts are very personal, but the stock RCH-75 stiff was perfect for my modest swing speed. IN THE BAG. Because it is workable, on my bad swing days this one might get ugly, but on good days it is just sweetness.

Similar Products Used: Exotics, KZG Gemini
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
thesilkiest   Shoots in the 80s [Aug 01, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Callaway FT5

Coming from a TaylorMade 580 Stiff.
Went with the FT5 FujiE360 Stiff...
I have no idea how far the fence at the end of my range is but after trying a few different clubs this one had the nicest ball flight. Not the boring trajectory of my old Titleist driver but a nice combination of loft and pentrating ball flight. Anyhow I one hopped it to the fence where I could barely get to it before and on the next few range sessions I can fly it to the middle of the 25 foot-30 foot end fence now.

If you have a choice between this and the FT3 go with the FT5... a significant difference in performance.

Get this club
You can find it for about $90-$100 used.

Similar Products Used: Taylor Made 360,580,R7 460
Callaway FTIZ FT3 FT5
Cleveland XL XLS
Titleist 975D 905R
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
dilliebeans   Shoots in the 80s [Jul 01, 2010]
Model Reviewed: callaway ft-5 9* neutral prolaunch stiff 65

if you ever get a chance to pick one of these up at a good price ... jump on it. this driver is amazing. the ball jumps off the face with a beautiful ball flight. looong. so long. i recently bought a taylormade '07 burner, and this club puts it to shame. i took the burner to the range the day after i bought it, and it hit okay, but not once did i fly the 250 sign on the range. also, the sound was piercing my eardrums. got my ft-5 for $75 off ebay (in great shape) and took it out to the same range. after hitting just one ball (though it leaked right on me), it was clear that this driver was in a different class than any taylormade i've ever hit. i flew that 250 sign over 20 times out of a bucket of 70 balls. feel is amazing. the sound is perfect. the driver is very aesthetically pleasing, as well. i am now looking for a 3 wood to match, and will definitely purchase another ft-5 just for back up if i can get it at a good price. if you are on the fence about this driver, just buy it. you will not regret it. best golf purchase i've made to date. i understand how phil is averaging over 300 yds now.

Customer Service

have not used yet

Similar Products Used: taylormade burner '07 9.5
taylormade 540xd 9.5 & 10.5 (great driver)
taylormade r5 dual type n 9.5
adams speedline draw 12.5 (high, but far)
titleist 975j 10.5
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Mike Platt   Shoots in the 80s [Apr 29, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Callaway FT-5 Neutral

I have been golfing for about 20 years and have always played Taylormade woods. It wasn't until the last few years that I actually made an effort to understand the golf swing and take it seriously enough to where my clubs actually mattered and post some respectable scores...finally! My last driver was a Taylormade R7 Superquad which I felt was too lunky for my swing. I saw a new Callaway Hyper X driver and a new FT-5 driver in a closeout bin for a great price due to their age and was about to buy the Hyper X because it was my understanding it was a bit more forgiving. At the salesman's urging, I purchased the FT-5. Wow, I couldn't be happier. Everyone tells me about the Callaway hollow sound, both good and bad, but the feel of a smoked drive off of this thing is beyond compare. I decided to pick up a Callaway 3-wood as well. Long and straight and workable. Might stick with Callaway from here on out.

Customer Service

As far as the service I received from the salesman, I have been very pleased. I haven't had any direct dealings with Callaway outside of that stores representative.

Similar Products Used: Taylormade R580, R580XD, R5, R7 Superquad and now the Callaway FT-5. Will consider the FT9 but am currently very satisfied with my results from the FT5 and am in no hurry to change equipment at this time.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
Vinny   Scratch Golfer [Apr 06, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Callaway FT-5 (draw)

Loft: 9°
OptiFit: Draw
Shaft Flex: Stiff
Shaft Manufacturer: Fujikura
Shaft Type: Fujikura E150 Graphite
Length: Standard

This club fits my swing perfectly. It's so simple to hit...just aim down the right rough and let it go. The draw bias that Callaway built into this club is perfect...I have never came across an easier driver to hit than this.

The only drawback with this driver is when there is a tree or any other object that impedes my draw off the tee box or having to hit a fade with it (tend to double cross myself)...otherwise, it's perfect.

Two Words....BUY IT!

Customer Service

Great...actually bought it on Callawy Pre-Owned...performs and looks like new.

Similar Products Used: Nike SQ....that's my fading driver...sometimes carry both (solid club).
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 73  
Available At:

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com