Callaway Steelhead Drivers

Available At:
Steelhead

User Reviews (105)

Showing 1-10 of 105  
guitarmas5   Shoots in the 80s [Aug 14, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Callaway Steelhead 9* Driver

This is a really solid club. It's not as bulky and clunky as some of Callaway's other clubs. It's got a nice look and feel at address and is very accurate. I don't have incredibly fast swing speed but I still manage to hit the occassional 300 yard drive with this baby... and it's usually in the fairway too (which is what really matters).

Customer Service

Callaway's Certified Pre-Owned section on their website is a great place to get one of these clubs!

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
Roy   Shoots in the 80s [Feb 17, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Callaway BB Steelhead Plus

Old faithful. My primary driver is a Ping G2, but I'll never take this baby out of my bag. I'm a decent driver (not like some of these 300+ yard reviewers that I never seem to see out on the courses) and the Ping is a good 20-30 yards longer, but not as accurate. If you have decent swing speed and your ego will allow you to be satisfied with 240-250 right up Broadway than you need to keep this one in your bag.

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used: Ping, Callaway, TaylorMade and Cobra
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
AC Slater   Shoots in the 80s [Jul 13, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Callaway steelhead Driver

I have used this driver now for 3 years and love it. It cured my fade immediately, and has a very solid feel. I tried many other oversized drivers(Taylormade 540,580,R7, Cleveland Launcher, Adam's Redline) and never had nearly as many perfect drives as with my Steelhead. I've FINALLY found a club that I love just as much and I've started hitting. It's a Great Big Bertha 2 390. It's bigger and has a little hotter face, so it goes maybe 10-15 yrds farther. The Steelhead is a wonderful club and I'm keeping it incase I ever change my mind about the GBB2. Highly recommend!

Customer Service

Never Used.

Similar Products Used: TM 540/580/R7, GBB2, BB warbird, Launcher, Adam's Redline, Callaway ERC fusion.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
TheLastDon   Scratch Golfer [Jul 27, 2005]
Model Reviewed: Steelhead 10*

Have had this driver for several years now, and it has been an excellent club for me. Had to have it reshafted w/ a Harrison Pro 2.5 stiff because the stock shaft was way too flexible for me. It's long and extremely consistent both in terms of distance and accuracy. Have tried many newer drivers but keep coming back to "ole faithful". It is a bit hook biased, but a smooth rhythm produces terrific results. Also their fairway woods are still some of the best out there, extremely easy to hit and just a magnificent club.

Similar Products Used: Just about all
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
RJM   Shoots in the 80s [Jul 01, 2005]
Model Reviewed: Driver 9 degree firm flex

I like all the steelhead woods, I have a 3 / 5 / 7. If I had to go bad to a steel driver this would be it. Easy to hit and control. Its the best steel driver out there.

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
golferguy95   Shoots in the 90s [Apr 16, 2005]
Model Reviewed: Callaway Steelhead

This is most likely the hardest driver to hit ever produced. It is a good looking club but the sweetspot is microscopic. I would recommend this club to a nostalgic(or poor) 10 or less handicap.

Customer Service

Never had any experiance but have heard good things.

Similar Products Used: Rawlings Blue, Titleist 975-J, Zevo Compressor (very loud)!
OVERALL
RATING
1
Value
RATING
4
Nug186   Shoots in the 90s [Sep 18, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Big Bertha Steelhead Driver 8*

Was at the range when some random dude walked up in frustration and asked me if I wanted to take "this (explicative ommitted) driver off his hands." So after hitting a few balls, I gave the guy $30 and had my new driver. I love this thing. It is worth noting that this club is shafted with a UST Proforce 65 Stiff Flex shaft, which I believe has as much to do with my success with the club as the head (if not more). I hit this club at least 20 yards farther than other drivers I've owned. Great, boring tragectories time and time again.

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used: Adams Tight Lies 2 Driver, King Cobra 400cc Driver, various Wilson Drivers
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
taylor1   Shoots in the 90s [Jul 01, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Steelhead 10 degree steel shaft

This club feels so pure when you hit it well. I have had very accurate drives with this club - it is a little shorter and stiffer than my previous driver. Drivers are a little like putters - they are a very personalized club. This club fits me perfectly. I love the look and feel of it and have gotten great results from it. Quality club. The Taylor Made 200 steel is another quality steelheaded driver. I prefer the Callaway, though. It is easier for me to control. Both these drivers are a steel on ebay these days. By the way, I ordered a GBB Hawkeye Ti at the same time I ordered the Steelhead, and I much prefered the Steelhead. The Hawkeye was regular flex graphite and 11 degrees, and the trajectory was too high and I couldn't control it. It was a lousy club for me.

Similar Products Used: Callaway BB Warbird, GBB, GBB Hawkeye, TM 200 Steel, 300 Ti, Integra L-1, some nameless ripoffs
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Gary   Shoots in the 80s [May 30, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Steelhead 10 Degree

I received this club as a christmas present in 1999. It had a regular graphite shaft. Since then I have gone through 2 shafts (broken twice from leaning down with club to put tee in ground!) Anyway, now play with a firm graphite shaft. Hit the ball on average 225 yards BUT ALWAYS ALWAYS STRAIGHT. I regularly shoot between 78-84 shots and play off a 10 handicapp. As you can see I don't hit the ball a long way but the answer to good golf is not distance it is direction. This club offers a lot of forgiveness again, not the longest out there but deadly accurate.

Customer Service

Never used

Similar Products Used: A number of the oversize headed drivers. Lost accuracy.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
MulliparMatt   Shoots in the 80s [Nov 15, 2002]
Model Reviewed: New revamped 2002 Steelhead 11* uniflex steel

Bought the steel shafted 3 and 5 wood version of this club and liked them so much that I recently ordered the Driver. This new version of the "original" Steelhead actually closer resembles the "Plus" model with its slightly larger heads and less curved sole plate. Appearance wise, with its curvy lines,shiny unpainted face with white score lines--the club is attractive in an understated/classic forged iron kind of way. Performance wise, you could not ask for much more from a club. With the more stable steel shaft the sweet spot is pretty much the entire face, and the feel off the clubface is much livelier than the older version of the Steelhead. The steel shaft flex is firm, perfect for my 95mph swing(110mph+ swingers will want to reshaft to a DG S300 or X100). I'm 40yrs old and have been playing golf for almost 20yrs--and I'm through playing with graphite shafts(they're fussy to swing,less accurate,too light,torque and shudder--which is the reason everyone playing them is constantly reshafting one graphite for another graphite hoping to find that elusive magic bullet). They can make a graphite shaft with the low torque of steel, but steel is an inherently lively/springy/responsive material which can never be duplicated by graphite. Graphite is fine for weaker golphers with slower swing speeds and/or golphers that generate all their power solely from the arms and wrists, but most others would do better with steel. As for distance, with the 95mph swing the 5 wood goes about 230yds, the 3 wood 225-250, so I figure the driver will probably be in the 240-280yd range depending on how much roll I get. If you are new to golf, my advice for steel headed driver loft choice would be as follows: Only two category of golphers should play low lofted(e.g 7.5*-- 9*) drivers--one would be superfast 110mph+swingers, and the other would be the many thousand of hacks out there that incorrectly tee the ball up too high and make impact with the ball on the upswing(effectively increasing loft while also losing power). For most all other players I would say 10* to 11* is about optimal--I chose 11* because the trend in high performance balls these days seems to be ones that produce lower trajectories, and club makers have done a great job in producing woods that provide a more boring trajectory than woods of the past. Anyhow, if you are wondering wether or not you should replace your current driver or want to compare one driver to another--a great way to gauge clubs is by adding up the total yards off of the tee shots on par 4 and par 5 holes in a round of golf--then divide by the total number of par 4+5 holes. If your #3wood averages longer than your driver then you definitely need a different driver(you can compare drivers this way also). What I'm trying to say is that total avg yds is what makes a club long--which means accuracy and consistency will play a big factor in that. Oh yeah, I also really do love these new Steelheads

Customer Service

NA

Similar Products Used: Lots and lots of clubs
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 105  
Available At:

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com