Callaway 2002 Big Bertha Set Irons

Available At:
2002 Big Bertha Set

Wide, rounded constant wide sole design positions weight low and deep with reduced turf drag VFT technology and patented 360° variable undercut channel provide tremendous forgiveness New loft progression and set progression- 4-10 iron and wedge - eliminates the distance gap between the 9 iron and pitching wedge.

User Reviews (86)

Showing 1-10 of 86  
Kjay   Shoots in the 90s [Apr 25, 2017]
Model Reviewed: 2002 Callaway Big Bertha Irons

20 years ago I played enough golf to carry a 10 handicap. Never had a lesson and really never had a golfers swing. Just played so much golf that I came up with a swing that worked for me. I went through a few changes in clubs Tommy Armour 845s - 855s and others - lately had been playing some Adams Golf irons. I never really got comfortable with them and I really hadn't been playing much golf for the last 15 years. Recently I decided to revive my game and started hitting the range on a regular basis. I had picked up a 2002 Big Bertha 3 iron in a pawn shop years ago and had never really been able to hit it but working with my swing on the range and finally putting together a fundamentally sound swing I started crushing that 3 iron on the range. I'm 62 years old and I'm suddenly hitting a 3 iron a legit 200 yards again. So I got on ebay and bought the 4 and 5 iron in the same RCH 75i light flex and the results were the same. So I now have added the 6 through the sand wedge and I'm still spending a lot more time on the range than on the course but I used to play with three of my friends every Sunday and always held my own in the skins and side bets but the last few years when I've only payed the occasional round I've been donating a lot of money to the group. I think with the new swing and the Big Bertha irons I fixin' to start taking my money back. Definitely the best clubs I've ever had in my bag.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
Jon   Shoots in the 80s [Aug 05, 2014]
Model Reviewed: Big Bertha 2002 Irons

This is an awesome set of clubs. Growing up, I had a knock off set of the same model and loved them. I then moved to more of a players iron(Cleveland TA7 Tour), and though I played well with them, I missed the high ball flight of my old clubs. Since I had already given away my knock off set, I decided to buy a used set of the real deal from Callaway preowned. I have to say, these are the nicest clubs I have ever hit. If my game is on, it doesnt matter what clubs I'm using. If my game is off, these clubs can really save a round with their forgiveness. No matter your skill level (I typically shoot 82-84 from the back tees), you will find that these clubs flat out perform.

Similar Products Used: Callaway Big Bertha 2002 Knock Off, Cleveland TA7 Tour
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Willy B   Shoots in the 90s [Jul 20, 2012]
Model Reviewed: Big Bertha Irons 2002

Definitley not a great golfer but am on the up! Have borrowed Brosnan's and Maxfli's from mates, have found them a bit inconsitent but recently purchased the Callaway Big Bertha 2002 on Ebay for $180 and have found improvement with all the irons instantly. Very forgiving and alot smoother shots played.
Would be fair to say you pay for what you get. I'd be reluctant to consider upgrading in years to come.

Similar Products Used: Brosnan and Maxfli.
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
Available At:
alfa   Shoots in the 100s [Nov 16, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Callaway Big Bertha 2002

I´ve started golf just 6 months ago. I took some lessons and ´ve done all what is recomended out there in order to improve my game, however,being honest: I suck. In that period I have tried at least 5 diferent iron sets, most of them old sets that friends borrowed me (King Cobra II, Tommy Armour 845, Taylor Made R7, etc) and have to admit that the problem was me, not the arrows. I really consider myself the worst golf player in the world, and even was thinking about giving up. And then...I bought this clubs. Today was my second day in the course using this irons (3-S, uniflex shafts), and had some shots that almost made me cry. The ball fly high and straight, no more slice, no more problems. I still have a long road but this irons save me today (9 holes with some job buddies, that have 20 years of golf each..you know how it is...and my game was not bad at all, I even beat them in two holes). My confidence is in an unknown level and I can´t stop thinking of golf. Love this babies.

Similar Products Used: King Cobra II, Tommy Armour 845, Taylor Made R7, Maxfli 8don´t remember the model)
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Dave L.   Shoots in the 70s [Oct 28, 2010]
Model Reviewed: 2002 Big Bertha Irons

I have had 4 sets of this iron in steel, regular flex, firm and strong flex over the years. E-Bay buy and sell you know a real club junkie, I have a set of Fusions now that are great but the 2002 Bertha's ARE the best irons I have ever hit/played, the only problem is I tend to hit a hook and the offset with a quick swing can be a problem. If you want to lower your scores and hit a long iron as well these are the irons.

Customer Service


The best of any product or service I have ever used.

Similar Products Used: Big Bertha 1994/x-12/x-14/x-16/x-20/Fusions/DCI's/Mizuno Grads
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
emarino@windstream.net   Shoots in the 70s [Aug 11, 2010]
Model Reviewed: callaway 2002 berthas

I bought a set of these in 2002 when they first came out and played very good with them.I don't know why i put them away for the new Taylormade,Mizuno,Adams,Etc clubs that were going to make me better but after 8 years it didn't happen so they're back and golf is much easier with these irons.BASICALLY THESE ARE VERY EASY TO HIT HIGH AND FAR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Customer Service

Callaway customer service is the best in the industry

Similar Products Used: TAYLORMADES,MIZUNOS,WILSON,ADAMS,CUSTOM IRONS AND SOME I'M SURE I HAVE FORGOTTEN.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
famousdavis   Scratch Golfer [Jun 08, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Big Bertha 2002 Irons

I bought a set of these on Ebay, 3-10,W for $190 almost brand new. I'm the man. I hit these babes straight at the flag all day long. Great feel, nice trajectory and good length. The long irons are splended and the short irons make the ball bite like a mean girlfriend. Put your ego away and buy these...now! I'm a great player and these will make me the greatest ever. I can't wait for the Masters. After all...I am the master.

Customer Service

I called Callaway and spoke to an old chap named Brutus. Dude hooked me up.

Similar Products Used: I've used other various airships throughout my life.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
Ray   Shoots in the 80s [Sep 09, 2009]
Model Reviewed: 2002 Callaway Big Bertha Irons

I have tried these clubs off and on for years when various people I was playing with had them. I always thought they felt good and seemed to always hit the homerun shot with them. But being a golfing ho I continued to buy the latest and greatest thinking it would make me better rather than working on my swing. I finally decided to get fitted and bought this set in uniflex steel in my specs. +1/2 2*up. I have been crushing the ball and hitting my shots with much greater ease and on the sweet spot. I love these clubs..they just feel right in my hands...Nice controlled swing produces great results...long, straight, high, and soft. Off center still keeps the ball in a very playable area.
Very reasonable priced on callaway pre owned...you know they are going to be good and geunine...not like rolling the dice on ebay. In closing...get fitted it makes a huge difference, try these clubs if you can..they are the best clubs in my opinion callaway has ever made...I have hit and owned fusion, fusion widesole, X-18 and hit all the other new big bertha irons and the 2002's beat them all...My only issue is I waited so long to actual buy a set..Great for mid- handicaps...size has not been an issue at all once you see the results...

Customer Service

Callaway Pre-Owned...great service..

Similar Products Used: You name it and I've hit it...and the 2002's have emerged as the best...
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
curtism   Shoots in the 90s [Nov 25, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Callaway 2002 Big Bertha Irons

I bought a used set in graphite a few years ago after years of tinkering with numerous other clubs. These Berthas are the best for someone who wants to get out there and enjoy a game of golf and not worry so much about working the ball. It's like having a bag full of "rescue clubs." They are so forgiving I don't get anxious when I walk up to my ball to hit anymore. I'm short off the tee and needed to be able to hit the long irons. This is the only set of clubs where I can confidently hit the 4 iron. I recently bought a set of the '06 Big Berthas and took them back for my 2002s! Now I can concentrate on chipping and putting, which is where I lose most of my strokes. I am a certified golf club junkie and have tried everything from blades (what was I thinking -- 89 is a good score for me?) to various other models (see below for similar products used.) I may tinker again but will NEVER part with this set.

Similar Products Used: Taylormade Burner LCGs; Nike Slingshot; Hogan Apex Plus; Hogan Radial; Hogan Channelbacks; Ping G2; Yonex ADX Tour; Ram FX Tour; Cleveland VAS; Cleveland TA4; Callaway Hawkeye; Callaway Big Bertha '06.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
chriseh   Shoots in the 90s [Jun 19, 2008]
Model Reviewed: 2002 big bertha steel

i've owned this set for over 5 years. besides my walmart set this is the only one i have golfed with until recently. i decided to make the jump to blades (mizuno mp 32) and after a few rounds with them it makes me appreciate just how easy my bb's are to hit. if i miss the sweet spot with the blades they really punish, but a miss with my bb's would only result in a slight yardage drop that would leave me scratching my head. these are great sticks for the occasional golfer or someone looking for an immediate game improvment. but if ur serious about attempting to improve ur game u will eventually have to give them up. they will not give u any feedback, u will never be able to work the ball effectivlly and for me looking down at that shovel did not enstill alot of confidence. another note, i like to walk when i play, and my bag must weigh atleast 20 pounds less since i lost the shovels. thats a big diff during 18 holes. i give the value a 5 because i know u can get these clubs for $150 and thats great value for these clubs. for rating i would give a 3.5 because as good as these clubs are, they are very limited in what they offer. but for most thats more than enuff.

Customer Service

never needed

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
3
Value
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 86  

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com