Callaway Big Bertha Irons

Available At:
Big Bertha

User Reviews (49)

Showing 1-10 of 49  
Gary Duveyoung   Shoots in the 100s [Jun 17, 2016]
Model Reviewed: Big Bertha RCH 96

The handles on these are rotting away. They have become soft and sticky.

OVERALL
RATING
1
Value
RATING
1
Available At:
gatorworld9   Shoots in the 70s [Mar 01, 2009]
Model Reviewed: 2004 Big Berthas

last year I bought the 2004 Big berthas with Graphite Shafts. The irons I had before were Nike CPR. The Big berthas are very forgiving and are easy to hit. They are ten times better than the nikes. So if you are looking for a iron set that is around $300 and a set that is easy to hit and forgiving, then these are the ones for you

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
dwmccleney   Shoots in the 100s [May 05, 2008]
Model Reviewed: 2008 Calloway Big Bertha

I just started golfing back in October of 2007 and used Wilson 1200's and a Top Flite set purchased at Wal-Mart. I averaged in the 120's. In January, I bought a 3-LW set of '08 BB's, a Nike SUMO driver and a Taylormade Rescue hybrid. Since then, I'm averaging low 100's to mid 90's, depending on driving and chipping. These clubs knocked about 20 strokes off my game once I got used to them. I hit about 110 yds. with my AW and 200-210 with my 3iron. VERY straight shooting irons. I'm usually on in regulation or a short chip on for my 3 shot on long par 4's(400+ yds.) and am regularly getting birdie attempts. If you're a beginner or need an extremely forgiving iron at a reasonable price, I would suggest these. I just bought a set of X-20's for myself and am giving the BB's to my son so he can start hitting better shots.

Customer Service

Did not use.

Similar Products Used: Wilson, Top Flight, Ping G2's
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
bjdrivers   Shoots in the 70s [Jun 12, 2006]
Model Reviewed: 2006 Big Bertha irons Uniflex Steel

I want to write an honest review here. I consider myself an accomplished golfer. I would shoot in the mid-low 80's on a regular basis. I have tried both Titleist and Callaway clubs for over a decade. I keep going back and forth. Well, last fall I switched to Callaway again because my handicap wasn't going down. I sold all of my Titleist clubs and decided on the new 2006 Big Bertha irons after demo'ing the 6 iron. All I can say is WOW. I was using the Titleist DCI 990b irons, which were decent, but switching to the berthas has been a God send. I am hitting a lot more greens in regulation now and my confidence is sky high. I got a full set of these babies. 4-LW. I was a little aprehensive about getting the matching SW & LW due to the offset, but I'm glad I did. My bunker play and short game around the greens have improved as well. Even the 4 iron is easy to hit. The forgivess of these irons is incredible. Callaway has made the game so much easier these days. I also switched to the HX tour 56 golf ball. Well, I now shoot from 76-80 consistently now. It usually just comes down to putting for me. Thank you Callaway, you have made the game much easier and much funner to play!!

Customer Service

never used

Similar Products Used: Titleist (don't expect forgiveness from their clubs)
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
moncho   Shoots in the 100s [Apr 26, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Callaway Big bertha

I demoed a 6 iron steel shaft regular flex today. I was going to weait until tomorrow to go to the range, but curiosity killed me and I went to the 8 hole behind my yard. I hit this 6 iron 150-160 yds consitently. Yeah, I know this is the norm for a 6 iron, but I never got this much distange out of my 6. The ball landed on the green over and over and would sit right there, it did not roll out of the green as it does with my current set now. I am lefty and fight a tough slide to the left, but with this club the ball went right where I aimed it. I was thinking about demoing a Nike slinshot OSS, but cant find one. i might buy these set overe the weekend, although i might go to a graphite shaft.

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used: Too hard of a name to mention, but it is Mishasawa or something like that
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
Available At:
morley1948   Shoots in the 80s [Dec 16, 2004]
Model Reviewed: 2004 callaway big bertha irons

I was shooting n the low 90's, and sometimes slipped into the 100's before my purchase of the 2004 Big bertha's. After playing withe the clubs for a month I am now shooting in the low 80,s and have finally broken the 80 mark shooting 78 These clubs are very forgiving as well as very easy to hit. I find that at the bore through the exposed end of the shaft had a tendency to start rusting after a few months, but Callaway quickly took care of the problem. Would recommend to any mid handicap player.

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
rgdawson   Shoots in the 80s [Jun 26, 2004]
Model Reviewed: 2004 Big Bertha Irons

2004 Big Bertha Irons I recently purchased the new 2004 Big Bertha Irons off the shelf, with the steel “uniflex” shafts. Previous clubs I have used were Wilson Staff blades (~13 years), then Wilson Staff Mid-Size (~6 years), and now these. (Do you see trend towards forgiveness?). I have played about 10 rounds with these clubs, averaging low 80’s (low 77, high 89). I play in Colorado Springs where the courses are long and the greens are hard. The guy at the shop measured my 5 iron swing speed at around 90-95, which he said was just on the upper end of the range recommended for the standard “Uniflex” shafts. My most common “miss” is to hit the ball off the toe. The 2004 Big Bertha irons come with 4-10 and a PW. I also purchased a 3-iron and a sand wedge to complete the set. First of all, these are the easiest clubs to hit I have ever seriously used. Toe hits and thin hits are especially forgiving. Following the norm these days the clubs have less loft than older generation clubs, which is why the 10 iron is important to have and fill the gap. With a 9, 10, PW, and SW, you have a good spread down to about 100 yards before you have to start hitting less than full shots. It’s easy to get the ball in the air with these clubs and the sharp groove edges put a lot of spin on the ball. Unfortunately, these clubs also chew up balls on well hit shots, so you will need to use a durable ball. I was using Nike Precision Spin Control balls and these clubs literally tore the covers off them. Ruined a couple Titliest Pro V1’s also. I am now using Nike Mojo, which play like the no longer available Nike Precision Spin Control, but with a more durable cover. Iron hits always feel solid. In comparison to the other clubs I used, there is no vibration through the shaft, just nice and solid. I confirmed this at home by just taking practice swings on my carpet and feeling for any vibration. I couldn’t feel any with the Berthas, but I could with all my other clubs. These clubs hit the ball straight. If you’re one of those tour bubbas that likes to “work” the ball, these clubs are not for you. Straight and high and consistent distance control are good things. That “solid” feeling I was talking about also means you don’t get a lot “feedback” through the shaft on shots – they mostly all feel about the same. So what are you giving up for this easy to hit performance? That’s what I asked the guy in the shop. He said nothing. So I said, then why doesn’t everyone use them. He said, because everyone is stupid. :-) I new he was just trying to sell me some clubs, so I let it go. But after using them I can tell you that you gain far more than you give up. You give up the ability to work the ball. You give up the feedback that, if you play enough, might make you game better. You give up the ability to take a nice divot. These clubs are too big, rounded, and dull edged to take a nice divot. These things are insignificant to me against keeping it in the fairway and sticking it on the greens. The main significant thing you do give up is the ability to hit out of tall grass and other such trouble. If your ball is in the second cut, it’s extra tough. I’m thinking of getting some sort of utility club for handling that because I can’t seem to hit out of tall grass with these things. Overall, these are fantastic clubs that give you what they advertise – forgiveness, consistency, and performance. My friends have been impressed – even while handing over the money (haha).

Similar Products Used: Wilson Staff Blades Wilson Staff Mid-Size
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
Available At:
dchow   Shoots in the 100s [Nov 19, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Big Bertha 2002

I am a poor golfer going between 92 on one day and 110 on the other. These clubs are so forgiving I hit straight shots one after the other. As a bonus, my shots are longer. 7 iron shots from 120 to 135, what a increase.

Customer Service

None is needed so far.

Similar Products Used: King Snake
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
Usersrule   Shoots in the 100s [Jul 11, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Callaway Big Bertha 2002 Irons

I paid to demo these clubs yesterday (wasn't too happy about that) but I wasn't disappointed with the clubs. I've been hacking it up for quite a few years using various clubs, but these are most accurate and forgiving clubs I have ever played. My last five rounds with my "knock off" clubs were 103, 103, 100, 95, and 97. I shot a 91 using the Big Berthas. The last time I played the same course back in March, I shot a 106. My buddy always kicks my ass, but his 85 versus my 91 (net 82) was too much for him yesterday. Granted, I've been working on a few swing changes that have finally paid off, but my approach shots were always on or very near the green, which often gave me a chance at par. If not for a few three putts and a triple bogie, the score could have easily been 87 or 88. The ball flight was very high and even misses were playable. As far as working the ball, well, I'll leave that to the 70 shooters. As long as the ball goes straight and drops softly on the green, what more could you ask for? Chipping and pitching was made easy with the wedge, but it will take a few rounds to determine when to use the 10 iron. These clubs inspire confidence, and any golfer, especially high handicappers, will benefit from using them. I'm buying my Callaway Big Bertha Irons next week.

Similar Products Used: Wilson Fat Shaft Irons, Cobra II
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
tigerwoods3423   Shoots in the 90s [Jun 24, 2003]
Model Reviewed: 1996 Callaway Big Berthas

I put shoots in the 90's because the Callaway Big Bertha Irons caused me to regress in my golf game. I was using Tommy Armour 845s and getting into the high 80's but with little help from my long irons. So I got the Callaways...big mistake...I gained distance on my irons but lost whatever accuracy I ever had. Most shots tailed off to the right due to my natural fade probably, but I had never EVER had a fade with irons before this. Now, I am using Nike Forged Blades, YES FORGED BLADES, and am quite happy with them...for some reason I have renewed confidence. Confidence I lost whenever I addressed a ball in the fairway with the Callaway Big Berthas. I didn't know where the ball was gonna end up. These are called game improvement irons, but they didn't work for me...I was highly disappointed.

Customer Service

none

Similar Products Used: Tommy Armour 845s, Nike Forged Blades, Austad Titan Blades
OVERALL
RATING
2
Value
RATING
3
Showing 1-10 of 49  
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com