Callaway Hawk Eye Tungsten Injected Irons

Hawk Eye Tungsten Injected

Price per club/graphite shafts; $150 per club/steel shafts; $170 per club/special order shafts. Titanium heads

User Reviews (73)

Showing 1-10 of 73  
jw   Shoots in the 90s [Apr 15, 2013]
Model Reviewed: Callaway Hawkeye irons

I was a Ping guy until I revisited these irons. I have played the PIng eye 2 irons and the Ping g2 irons. I decided to go back to these irons when I saw a complete set become available with my hard to find loft 3* upright. I played these clubs years ago when they first became available and then I gained an extra 10 yards to my game and was surprisingly accurate. Since making the switch back, I have seen an improvement with my accuracy and I believe that new technology is not always equal to better results.

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used: Ping, Ben Hogan, Callaway, Mizuno.
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
Dimplings   Shoots in the 80s [Dec 01, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Callaway Tungsten Injected Hawkeye irons; graphite regular shafts 3-SW

Can an iron introduced more than 15 years ago be superior to today's clubs? I believe it. And many of you will too if you can just get your head around its less than sleek look. Plus the fact it is not the flavor of the month.

And being an old guy, I have hit everything that remotely resembles a golfing iron. I'd hit a leg off a table if I thought it would propel a ball better. I've gone full circle from clubs like the Hawkeye I played years ago and Ping Eye 2s through to modern offerings such as Fusions, etc.

Well, today I have made a progressive step backward to what I believe are better performing clubs.

Technology made have made vast strides in driver technology. But that doesn't mean iron technology has benefited in the same way.

Your buddies may kid you for reverting back to what they call shovels. Tell them you'd sooner play a shovel than a plastic hairblower.

Customer Service

No experience to date.

Similar Products Used: Every iron offering from Ping, Callaway, Titleist, Adams, Nickent, Taylor Made in the past 20 years.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Joe S.   Shoots in the 80s [Nov 10, 2008]
Model Reviewed: hawkeye irons

I purchased this set of irons from Callaways preowned shop and could not be happier. After having owned Pings and Taylormades in the past (oops and a set of pal-joeys and maxflis way back in the day) I wanted something more forgiving and easy swinging this time around. After doing my homework I ordered these with graphite regular flex shafts...I'm getting older well only 35 but found that my swing simply did'nt have the swat it once used to carry. I had all stiff flex and even tour stiff shafts in some of my other sets. My distance is back and these clubs were easily affordable after selling my taylormades I even had money left over to buy the matching 3 wood and driver. I also purchased a white hot#2 putter, a vintage xtour 54* wedge and a heavenwood #3 hybrid from Callways preowned site. All the clubs wer in better conditon than they describded and play very well. One reviewer asked how to hit them correctly...I did need to adjust my swing a lil with these clubs...They like it nice and easy...These babies do not need to be pushed with the regular flex graphite shafts...ball in the middle and just swing easy...I hit a 202 yard par 3 green with my 5 iron first time out and did'nt even have to push my swing to do it...They have a nice soft feel and are very forgiving ...I was pushing and pulling the ball a lil at first just simply due to the fact I was playing xtra stiff shafts before...A nice controled easy swing puts these irons long and easily in play !!!

Customer Service

Callaway is the best

Similar Products Used: My bag Callaway vft hawveye 10* ultralite reg. Callaway hawkeye vft 3 wood sys60 shaft. Adams rpm adila nvs shaft reg. 5 wood . 3h Callaway heaven wood. Hawkeye irons graphite reg. lite 4-pw. Xtour Callaway vintage 54* 11 bounch s300 dynamic gold shaft. odessey white hot#2 34" putter
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
bd927   Shoots in the 100s [Aug 09, 2008]
Model Reviewed: callaway hawkeye tungsten injected

I love the clubs, been using for 3 yrs now. taken awhile to find the compacted swing. Can anyone tell me how the correct way to hitting them though

Customer Service

great

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
Sir_Rebral   Shoots in the 80s [Jun 26, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Hawk Eye Tungsten-Injected Titanium Irons Steel Shaft

I have been playing golf for approximately 20 years off and on. After coming off a long hiatus I decided to get back to playing on a regular basis. My old clubs unfortunately were stolen (if you are out there hope you like ping zing 2s you numbnuts!) I stumbled on this set of irons at the recommendation of a friend and I could not be happier of the theft that occurred! These clubs have a heavy base assisting with preventing thin shots and also allowing a level of forgiveness that I have not felt in any other club. I was formerly a 20+ handicap but since my new found enthusiasm (all secondary to these irons to be truthful) I am now a 13. I highly recommend these clubs to any beginner or intermediate player (as i cannot speak for those devilish single digit handicappers.)

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Elijah   Shoots in the 80s [Sep 26, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Callaway Hawkeye VFT

Being in the market for new irons recently, I wanted to buy a set that I could use without spending an inordinate amount of time at the practice range.
I learned of the Callaway Hawkeye irons while researching the Ping G5, Ping i5, the Callaway X-18, and X-20. Boy, am I glad I did. Since purchasing the Hawkeyes form the Callaway Pre-Owned store, I have played six rounds. These clubs are magnificent!!! They are the longest, and most forgiving irons I have ever owned. I have found the Hawkeyes to be at least one club longer than the other sets I own, or have owned. Over the last 20 years I have played Hogans, Adams, and Mizuno irons, and I have been pleased with the performance of each of these brands. However, I would have to rate the Hawkeyes superior to any of the aforementioned irons. Being a 18 handicap, I do miss shots. The misses with the Hawkeyes still travel toward the target, and the distance is usually pretty good also. On the good hits, these babies hold the line, draw, or fade, depending on your skill level. The only area where I have had a little problem is chipping with the 9-PW, but I think this will be worked out with a little more practice. I have never been happier with a set of irons,

Customer Service

Not used

Similar Products Used: Hogans (2 sets)
Adams (2 sets)
Mizuno
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
shawn thompson   Scratch Golfer [Jun 25, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Callaway Hawkeye Titanium Irons

Of anyone out there, who can't say these are not the longest irons made. I only have a swing speed around 109 mph; however, I hit my PW around 140, 9 iron around 155 and so on. The 3/4 irons don't have the distance though, but mid/short irons you can bomb. I shot a 67 yesterday on a 7200 yard course w/these babies.

Customer Service

Callaway is the best.......I broke the 5 iron and they sent me a new one free.

Similar Products Used: all irons known to man!!!
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
michael   Shoots in the 70s [Apr 16, 2007]
Model Reviewed: hawk eye tungsten injected

i like these clubs a lot i have a set for about a year or two. and the only bad thing about them that you can get use to is how hard it is to get use to swinging the clubs. i can hit them well but its all in the swing. you kinda have to swing a diffrent way to be able to adjust to them. there great clubs just hard to get use to.

Similar Products Used: i have use to have a set of ping eye red dot and thats the closest that i can compare to these clubs.
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
Proejo   Shoots in the 70s [Mar 24, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Callaway Hawk Eye Tungsten Injected

I was curious what others write about these clubs, having owned them for five years. After reading these reviews, I felt like adding my two cents:

I'm in my 50's and have played about 25 years. What others say about the compact, short swing using these irons is correct. A full, long swing will produce a myriad of results, most of which are scattered shots and irregular distances. However, the good news is that if you'll allow yourself to slow your swing and compact it, the results with these clubs is nothing short of phenomenal. It took me a while to figure this out, but once I did, I loved getting the amazing looks of astonishment from my playing partners. For example, on a 155 - 160 yard Par 3, my partners are hitting 6 or 7 irons and I'm hitting a PW or 9 iron depending on wind and pin placement. 200 yards in to the green I'm hitting a 5 or 6 iron, maybe a 4 iron if there's a little wind in my face. I still hit the 3 iron when I'm trying to reach from 225 - 230 yards out.

All of those distances with these clubs were not achievable until I learned to take a much shorter, compact swing and trust that I could make good contact. The long backswing just does not work with these clubs.

Finesse 1/2 swing and 3/4 swing shots are not the forte of these irons. Balls tend to shoot off the clubface much faster than you anticipate, so I recommend that you carry a nice assortment of wedges for in-between shots. However, if you do opt to use these, I have found that when I practice for extended periods of time (very hard to find time for that anymore) these clubs will perform well and can produce shots that "stick" and if you're the type that feels you need to spin the ball back, these clubs will perform the task exceedingly well.

I purchased these with the Callaway graphite stiff shafts and they have performed admirably. If you can find you a set of these iron in the under $200 range you will be doing yourself a disservice to pass them by.

Customer Service

Fitting was extraordinary.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
simon   Shoots in the 90s [Jan 04, 2007]
Model Reviewed: callaway hawk eye tungsten injected irons

A few months back an 'old boy' at the range asked if id like to try his set of these irons, the next day i was looking on ebay and bought a set (3-pw in firm graphite) for £250. In fairness was having wonder rounds followed by naff rounds with them until tried a shorter, slower swing(as recomended by an earlier reviewer)--bingo!! it really hits the spot, accurate, reasonably long and the ball ends up 2' from the pitch mark...i would definetely recomend these clubs(get a seperate pw/sw etc for short game though as these seem a bit thick and i struggle with them). If you try a fuller, faster swing you get penalised...go buy!!!

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 73  

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com