Callaway X-12 Irons

Available At:
X-12

The 1998 Big Bertha Irons feature all of the game-enhancing characteristics of the Great Big Bertha Titanium irons in a stainless steel head. The sweet-spot of the club has been increased over the standard Big Bertha iron. The weight has been re-distributed around the club and the center-of-gravity has been lowered to create a more heel-and-toe balanced iron. The top line has also been thinned to make this the most playable club Callaway has ever created. (Price for 3-PW Steel Shaft)

User Reviews (122)

Showing 1-10 of 122  
Peter Millett   Shoots in the 80s [Apr 14, 2017]
Model Reviewed: Callaway X-12 Irons

My Uncle gave me his 2-SW set 2 years ago when I started and it can't be denied these clubs are a classic, these clubs have incredible feel, whilst being very forgiving, despite being almost 20 years old now they would give other modern clubs a run for their money in quality, even today!

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
super gt   Shoots in the 90s [Jun 24, 2013]
Model Reviewed: Callaway X12 rch 99 graphite

Played lots of irons and these are a match for any and can be worked either way or just straight. They have a nice sound at impact not tinny or clunky at all, in fact quite the opposit, they are almost as quiet as a forged iron.They have an offset which suits me. Good stopping power on the green , quite high ball flight. Eaay to use out of the rough, even the long irons. I find them better than hybrids from the rough. All in all a beaut iron. I am not looking to buy any more I shall just try and improve with these , so far I have only used them for 5 rounds.

Customer Service

not used but from other reviews they are very good.

Similar Products Used: Ben Hogan CFT, Big Berth 1994, Nickent 3DX, Rawlings offset irons, Confidence irons , Mizuno mx20 Tzoid which were my favourites.These were all pretty good clubs but my search is finished for now.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Nick   Shoots in the 80s [Sep 22, 2012]
Model Reviewed: Callaway X-12

These irons were given to me, and I must say, I had no idea they were as old as 1998. Great height with the low irons, an great control in the short irons. The workability is outstanding for a set that is as forgiving as these. I do find the wedges hard to use, simply because of the thickness of them, so I swapped in a vokey 56* and an s-tour 60*. In fact I was skeptical of all the irons past 6 because of how thick they looked at adress, but I've seen the light now.

Great irons, probably extremely cheap now, super long and with very good control (for their class). I'd certainly recommend to anyone, especially those who want a bit of fun with the ball while also maintaining a high level of forgiveness.

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
Just Brilliant   Shoots in the 80s [Apr 24, 2012]
Model Reviewed: Callaway x12 irons

I bought my x12's with rc 96 stiff graphite shafts at the Vegas Callaway store after a good blackjack night. Hard to believe it's been so long ago. For the last few years, I've tried many different clubs, and just havent been able to get the same feel I have with the x12's. The thing about the Vegas store, it's thinner air and a higher elevation then I play. I was hitting the 5 iron 205 yards, while back east, I get 175 to 180. To sum it up, the Razrs aren't the replacement for the x12's.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Robert   Shoots in the 90s [Dec 28, 2011]
Model Reviewed: Callaway x-12

Got these clubs a few months back and can say I'm nothing but amazed! The feel is great and quality is top notch. These clubs seem to make even a slightly off shot still playable. I've tried some of the newer callaway clubs and for the money these are a better buy as they dont feel much different from the more expensive stuff out there. I did my research on these clubs and couldn't be happier.

Similar Products Used: Callaway diablo , Ben hogan
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
joe   Scratch Golfer [Jul 03, 2011]
Model Reviewed: callaway big bertha x12

These are the best irons I have ever played. Very easy to hit the ball high, low, right and left. These clubs are for all skill levels. Those who say otherwise have no idea what they are talking about.I traded in my mp33s for these and it has been the best trade I have ever made. Two clubs longer than the mp 33's..easy to hit and yes they are straighter. I recommend these clubs to anyone who plays the game

Customer Service

never used it

Similar Products Used: wilson staff blades and Mizuno mp33
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
ap229   Shoots in the 90s [May 21, 2011]
Model Reviewed: Big Bertha X-12

I am a senior player with almost four years golfing. I have done a lot of club trading, have had at least ten sets of irons. The X-12's are the best I have played,done trading. They are forgiving and accurate. I will admit that I didn't give some clubs a chance,these didn't need a learning time period,they felt and played the first round.

Similar Products Used: Callaway GGB,Wilson tour rx,Ping i3+, Mizuno MX20,Hogan, Adams a2,Nickent. Most were very good clubs.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Garrett   Shoots in the 90s [Mar 19, 2011]
Model Reviewed: x-12

These clubs are terrible. End of Discussion. Although i will say some things :b Ok so i got these irons used as a beginner set and they make me hit nothing but terrible shots.
I will hit the ball straight in the middle of the club face and my 6 iron will struggle to go 145 (when i use any other iron ill hit 160-170) on the other hand the way these are made i have to squat super low just to get it in the right lie angle. Bottom line is DONT GET THESE CLUBS! They make you have to swing flat and ugly.

OVERALL
RATING
1
Value
RATING
1
Titleist-golfer   Shoots in the 90s [Dec 04, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Callaway 1997 big bertha x-12

GreaT SET OF CLUBS!! These clubs are good for a golfer thats just starting, these clubs are old and have a good feel, the only bad thing about these clubs are that the the graphite shafts crack easy, i was behind a tree and just tryed to commit to the shot and the shaft of my 3 iron cracked, But fgood clubs.

Customer Service

none

Similar Products Used: Tommy Armour golden scott
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
3
Dylan Morris   Shoots in the 90s [Apr 21, 2010]
Model Reviewed: 1998 Big Bertha X-12

Hi, These irons are great for an average golfer and shopuld be marked and rated very well. As i am a moderate skilled golfer, i find these clubs great. Thanks

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 122  

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com