Callaway X-16 Set Irons

Available At:
X-16 Set

The standard X-16 Irons have a shorter blade length and a higher topline than the X-14 irons, with the benefit of Callaway Golf''s new "Notch" weighting. This moves the weight to the perimeter for strong, confidence-enhancing look behind the ball. Each iron has a low center of gravity for strong trajectory and great forgiveness, a cambered sole for better turf interaction, and a soft satin finish with a contrasting, sandblasted hitting area. The graphite shafts give you the flex options that you want - with the options to benefit varied swing speeds and styles. Also available in proprietary, ultralight, uniflex Constant Weight steel shaft manufactured by True Temper.

User Reviews (67)

Showing 1-10 of 67  
jon james   Shoots in the 90s [Aug 04, 2017]
Model Reviewed: Callaway X-16

These have a shorter and taller club design than earlier X models. That means confidence at address. And satisfaction when you hit them. Have gained 4-5 yards(not some outlandish 15 yards as some dudes who play in the 90s claim). High flight and long. Best of all, they go where you aim them. Just put a smooth swing on them and you'll be amazed. Older technology still works. And cheap prices on ebay.

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used: Too many to name here.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
Martin andersen   Shoots in the 80s [Aug 21, 2014]
Model Reviewed: Callaway x-16

Overall good clubs, but in the last month my 6 &. 8 irons broke on the course .....normal swing.....shaft snapped at the hosel ! ...constant flex ultra light shafts.
Local club repair said he could not fix them......he said I had to ship them to the Callaway factory.
Looks like it is time to buy new clubs , but not Callaway.

OVERALL
RATING
2
Value
RATING
2
Neil Heron   Shoots in the 70s [Aug 25, 2013]
Model Reviewed: Callaway x 16

A few years ago I found a Callaway x16 two iron.The head was a different shape to the one I was using although the shaft was a similar flex.The club stays in my bag.

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
Available At:
David Bowden   Shoots in the 90s [Dec 19, 2007]
Model Reviewed: CALLAWAY X-16's, REG GRAPH

I bought a used set 3-PW for $200 and put new Lamkin dual density(green)grips on the regular flex graphite shafts just before summer. The finish on the stock Callaway shafts continues to look new on all the clubs and the heads still look nice and seem to wear very well. I'm impressed with their durability and potential to last. If my swing is on it seems these help get me in 80's more often than any iron set I've ever owned. Well struck shots feel very solid with a mid high flight that doesn't balloon. Distance is very good and they don't rely on extra strong lofts. Accuracy is very good when my swing stays on plane. I've heard some people say they're clunky lookwise and feelwise but I disagree. To me they inspire confidence and have what I would describe as simple good looks. They work well in short game situations too although I had to adapt my technique to what these do well. These irons got tested under fire at our club championship this year. I had played very poorly the year before but being determined to handle the pressure better and armed with my X-16's I managed to shoot rounds of 87 and 90 with our golf course more or less set up like a U.S. OPEN. That got me a 3rd place trophy in my flight. Now I'm a complete believer in Callaway X-16 irons and their notch weighting technology.

Customer Service

Have never used.

Similar Products Used: Forged Mizuno cavity backs, Ping I3+, Adams GT Ultimates and TaylorMade Rac OS.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Doug   Shoots in the 80s [Apr 12, 2007]
Model Reviewed: X-16 Irons

Solid set of irons. Especially for the current price. Worth picking up an approach wedge to match, it's made my short game more consistent and offers the option to still chip instead of pitching on some uphill shots. These irons have been great to me--very playable and consistent. Easy to hit a slight cut or draw but still give the game improvement edge. Nice balance between game improvement and players clubs, favoring game improvement. I don't carry the 3 or 4 in my bag but they are very hittable compared to other clubs. Have the rifle uniflex, which are good for the developing player. In the course of the last year I've added significant swing speed, but don't feel that I need to get them reshafted. Great feel for a game improvement iron. Chipping is a joy, but pitch shots can be clunky.

Customer Service

N/A

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
Pky6471   Shoots in the 90s [Mar 12, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Callaway X-16 iron

I normally shoot in the 87-95 range. I bought a set of X-16 irons about 18 months ago. Clubs came with R-flex 75-g graphite stock shafts. I really enjoy these clubs, however I have to close the club face of 3-6 irons to about 11 O'clock in order to hit them straight. Last X-mas I told a local PGA professional at Dick's Sporting Goods about this and he checked out my swing with tape .After hitting several balls, the tape confirmed that I need to play with a 2-degree upright lie. So Dick's Sporting Goods charges $4/club for lie adjustment. I played a round yesterday with newly bent clubs and what a difference it makes... for 18 holes, I did not slice once with my iron, now I have a neutral set up and ball flights higher and straight. I liked my clubs before, I enjoy them much better now... Hopefully they will help me play consistently in the 80s

So believe in 'custom fit' clubs. I cannot believe that only 2-degree upright lie makes a HUGE improvement in my game.

Enjoy your game

Customer Service

Callaway is THE best in this category

Similar Products Used: King Cobra, TaylorMade, Wilson
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
David Rainone   Shoots in the 80s [Jan 09, 2007]
Model Reviewed: x-16

I have been playing X-16's for 3 years now and have over 100 rounds on my set with rifle tour stiff shafts. They are very forgiving and the 3,4,5 irons are amazing. My handicap went down from 12 to 9 over the three years. However, the higher numbered clubs are chunky and lack feel. I lost 10 yards on the pitching wedge from my previous set (125 down to 115 max) and can't tell you how many skulled chips I've had due to the heaviness and clunkiness of the PW and 9. These clubs are super for a high handicapper but not for finnesse shots.

Customer Service

outstanding, had a loose head (shaft would spin) Callaway replaced with new club.)

Similar Products Used: Taylormade Firesole, Tommy Armour 855's
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
3
gremboul   Shoots in the 80s [Nov 12, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Callaway X16

These irons feel right and are well put together. Currently an excellent value in the market. It took me a few rounds to get used to them. The uniflex shaft allowed me to get good results while calming down my swing. These are great for game improvement.

Customer Service

great

Similar Products Used: tour edge, taylormade OS,
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Niugreg   Shoots in the 90s [Jul 10, 2006]
Model Reviewed: callaway x-16

Used them for 20+ rounds and traded them in. Somewhat my fault, I had a Taylor Made Super Steel set for 5 yrs. with Regular flex shafts. Thought I was up-grading, but I was wrong. X-16's have uni-flex shaft and I was losing 15-20 yards a shot. My best shots would always leak to the right. I traded them in today for Adams a2 OS with reg. flex shafts. Now I'm sure I have up graded my equipment.

Customer Service

Callaway is A-1

OVERALL
RATING
2
Value
RATING
2
Madchipper   Shoots in the 80s [Jul 01, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Callaway x 16

I played these irons for two years and along with plenty of practice they really helped develop my game. I worked my way from a high 90's shooter to a low 80's and could even break 80 on occasion. Some how I got it in my head that I was at a new level and I was ready for more of a "players" club.
Biggest mistake I have ever made not only was I unable to play good with the blades I wound up altering my swing and developing the dreaded shank. It got so bad I almost gave up the game forever.
Well the high dollar blades are gone and the x16's are back in the bag. I've still not been able to get all the way back to where I was but I'm getting there. Bottom line is these clubs are as beautiful to look at as they are to hit and they are here to stay for a long time.

Customer Service

The best in the world... Period.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 67  

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com