Callaway X-18 Irons

Available At:
X-18

X-Series Irons from Callaway Golf have long been favored by some of the best players in the world because of their performance-enhancing technologies and by recreational golfers due to their forgiveness and great looks. The new X-18 and X-18 Pro Series Irons combine many of the same patented.

User Reviews (82)

Showing 1-10 of 82  
pullhook   Shoots in the 80s [Dec 14, 2011]
Model Reviewed: Callaway X-18

To be honest I only use the X-18 4-iron. A few months back after a minor wrist injury forced me to reduce practice and swing easier I decided I should get a set of game improvement irons. But after looking around, modern game improvement sets from the major companies have become increasingly ugly in some sort of exponential curve. Too ugly to stomach and their pretty player irons were not really my target. Finally I decided to stick with my beloved Callaway X-Tours. I was still hitting short-mid irons well but my long irons were not giving me the same consistency.

By accident I found an unused X-18 4-iron (graphite)in a local pro-shop going cheap and bought it as an experiment to replace my (steel shafted) 4-iron (the longest iron in my bag). A no-brainer, the X-18 is one of the the easiest-to-hit long irons ever made on our planet earth. At address the big head boosts confidence, the graphite shaft gives a nice soft feel and bonus 3-5 meters with a medium/easy swing helps bridge the distance/forgiveness gap to the 3-hybrid. The sweet spot is huge and it goes great even when I 'toe' it slightly (my usual miss). Now I look forward to long par 4's and narrow par-5s where I can actually get to hit the damn thing, unfortunately I only get the chance 2 or 3 times a round.

The X-18 also has a simple head (by current standards) and looks sweet in the bag like a moderately oversized X-Tour giving the set a neat 'custom combo' look:)

Two small negatives: It can hook a little bit if not careful so the X-18 Tour with less offset might be better for those who already draw the ball, and the graphite shaft is a may be a little light for fast swingers but you can always go for steel.

I highly recommend the X-18 long irons with X-Tour short-mid irons. Exactly how you mix the set will be up to the individual but you'll get a great combination.

Customer Service

Never needed, but Callaway's reputation is good.

Similar Products Used: Too many to name. Owned many different sets by different manufacturers in the late 90's to mid 2000's, stopped after I got the X-tours.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
randy   Shoots in the 70s [May 13, 2011]
Model Reviewed: x-18r

Good look, good feel, good results. 10 yards longer than any other irons I have ever had. Forgiving, but still able to work the ball.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Bailey   Shoots in the 90s [Jan 23, 2011]
Model Reviewed: Callaway x18 irons

I got these irons about a year ago and I was shooting about 116 then I got these and shot my best game ever a 94 these are truly great clubs love the uniflex I would recommend these to everyone

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
donyv   Shoots in the 70s [Nov 22, 2010]
Model Reviewed: callaway x-18 pro series

could not be any happier with these.i use to play king cobras then bought 1996 callaway irons and with the offset would tend to push some shots to the right.now my new irons have less offset and hitting very straight.thanks callaway

Similar Products Used: king cobra,1996 callaway big berthas
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
ken   Shoots in the 70s [Jun 02, 2010]
Model Reviewed: callaway x18

I love these clubs but I am upgrading to the x forged for better shot control. It is easy to hit shots straight with the x18s but hard to fade or draw. I can do both but it seems too difficult compared to the x forged. The x18s are awesome though and I would recommend it for anyone, even scratch golfers. There is a lot of forgiveness and relatively easy to hit.

Customer Service

na

Similar Products Used: nicklaus, cleveland
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
pop   Shoots in the 70s [May 31, 2010]
Model Reviewed: x-18

poop

Customer Service

i eat hot poop

Similar Products Used: poop
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Paul   Shoots in the 80s [May 07, 2010]
Model Reviewed: X-18r

Absolutely love them, they have a fantastic feel to them and put plenty of spin on the ball, even if i top the ball it still rolls as far as if i hit it perfectly

Customer Service

Bought at edwin watts

Similar Products Used: (NONE)
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
jhd1   Shoots in the 80s [Jan 29, 2010]
Model Reviewed: calloway x 18

I brought a set of X18 irons i like the fact that i could still get a 3 iron i play the clubs for about 2 weeks and hate the steel shafts felt like the shafts were to heavy spend $300.00 to change to aldia graphite now i coudn't ask for a better club more control better distance and feel

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
golfsteady   Shoots in the 70s [Jun 28, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Callaway X 18 Irons

I am a single digit hdcp. I bought these irons for $350.00.
They are great clubs. They feel like butter, very accurate and are workable.
They seem to be 1/2 inch longer than standard length . So it goes farther.
These clubs are absolutely great.
A friend of mine that works at a golf store told me that the basic technology of the X-22 and X 20 are those of the X-18. Besides the X-18 are cleaner, better looking.
Given that they perform so well , you can save a lot of change buying these as opposed to X20 or 22.

Customer Service

Did not require any

Similar Products Used: Callaway x-14, taylor made RAC OS, many others
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
cock lover   Scratch Golfer [Jun 23, 2009]
Model Reviewed: golf

bobby drinks his own pee

OVERALL
RATING
1
Value
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 82  
Available At:
Available At:

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com