Callaway X-Forged Irons

Available At:
X-Forged

Forged from soft 1020 carbon steel, the new X-Forged Irons feature a Flighted CG Design for the ultimate in feel, trajectory and distance control. With their Notch Back design, shorter blade length, minimal offset and the thinnest topline and narrowest sole in the Callaway Golf line, our engineers have produced irons with the performance characteristics and classic visual elements elite players demand.

User Reviews (33)

Showing 1-10 of 33  
gospelpad   Shoots in the 80s [Oct 28, 2012]
Model Reviewed: Callaway X-Forged Irons

These irons are the best I've ever played with! They are just forgiving enough but also gives great feedback like a forged iron should. I gained 10 yards and also have better accuracy. I love the ball flight I get with the project X 6.0 shafts. My handicap went down from a 14 to flirting with being a 10 this year. I'm sure they will help me go to a single digit! Won't change irons until I can find a used set of the 2013 X-Forged Irons.

Customer Service

Got the irons at Callawaygolfpreowned.com and have always had great success with them. I will definitely buy from them again.

Similar Products Used: Callaway X-Tour Irons
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
jeff   Shoots in the 70s [Jun 16, 2012]
Model Reviewed: 2007 X Forged Irons

I had been playing my old clubs for nearly 10 years so it was time for a change.

I tried a set of Mizuno MP57 but they didn't work for me as well since I am a picker of the golf ball and not a digger.

I looked around in some forums for advice and the golfwrx guys all said that the design of the x forged irons were very good for players like me that sweep the ball and don't take divots.

They were right in that these irons are much better for me than the Mizunos.

I bought them from Callaway preowned with Nippon 850 shafts but they were too stiff for me so I reshafted them with TT Dynalite shafts which were softer and also give me a higher ball flight.

Now that are just about dialed in and they feel very good.

Like any set of clubs find the clubhead design that fits your swing and abilities and most importantly find the correct shaft for your ballflight and swing speed.

Similar Products Used: Mizuno Mp57, Ping i3 Blade
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Lamont   Shoots in the 80s [May 20, 2012]
Model Reviewed: X-Forged 2007

I was playing with the X-Tours and was loving them but after watching my Brother-in-law hit nice shot after nice shot with the X-Forged I knew I had to upgrade. The club is smaller than the Tour so I like that about it. They hit nice and I picked up 10 yards with them. I can't wait to see how this season shapes up.

Customer Service

Callaway Preowned Golf is the best place for clubs period. Got my set 4-PW for $185 on clearance!

Similar Products Used: I would say the Callaway X-Tour and the Cleveland TA3 Form Forged.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
Skesky   Shoots in the 70s [Mar 19, 2011]
Model Reviewed: Callaway X Forged 3-PW

Let me first start by saying that i have had my irons re shafted to TT dynamic Gold To lower the trajectory (high swing speed so the flighted really weren't my thing).

Performance-
I absolutely love the things I can do with these Irons, More than enough workability, and the distances are fine, I don't know the lofts offhand but I hit these Slightly Further than most of my Past Clubs, The Yardage Gaps Are near Perfect, about 15 Yds. per club slightly higher from 5i-3i.

Forgiveness-
Surprisingly High for a Thinner Forged Iron, but still by no means a club for someone with an inconsistent swing path. Off-center hits can go fairly straight but in the wrong direction by a few degrees.
Feel-
Amazing, plain and simple. I can tell you almost exactly how far off a miss hit is within 1/2 a Cm before looking at the club, And buttery smooth on a solid shot as with most Forged Irons.

Cons-
Very Few, but I am not a Huge Fan of the Looks, and occasionally if you play on Bermuda grass the clubs dig pretty deep and can sometimes stop after your shot (rare but it doesn't happen to me with some other clubs.)

Customer Service

Broke a 5iron at the hosel, got back to me in a few days good as new, very friendly A+

Similar Products Used: Just about every forged iron out there, with the exception of some older models and some Mizuno's.

P.S. picked mine up for about $250 used, so value for me is unsurpassed. Anything under $350 for these is 5 stars, anything above that is still 4.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Vinny Marsden   Shoots in the 80s [Aug 09, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Callaway X Forged 09

As the album title says.."CALL OFF THE SEARCH" I have found the ultimate irons for me...just played the front 9 at my club..and actually hit the pin on 2 holes..the others were just boring inside 15ft!!! The feel is tremendous, power/touch and unlike some I have not lost but gained distance...I cannot recommend these clubs enough.

Similar Products Used: Nike VR Split Cavity Taylor Made MB Ping i3 Hogan Edge
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
Golfer1-1   Shoots in the 70s [Mar 12, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Callaway X Forged '07

Well these irons changed me. I went from feeling nothing in extremely large cavity backs to these at the merry handicap of 28. Most would critisise, however this was one of the best decisions i have ever made. The confidence alone must have drop 5 shots and through the desire to hit these pure, which isn't that hard anymore, would drive anyone. In all, i love these clubs.....but. Out on the range my 7i head came off and it need to be sent back to callaway. The club pro said they had lead poured down them, a cheap way to add weight, not really associated with Callaway clubs. Starting to question if the clubs i bought from CallawayPreowned are actually real, even though they garentee it. But is a must buy.

Customer Service

Well fine up untill now... but we will see.

Similar Products Used: Everything from Titleist Z mb, mizuno mp 67 ,32 33, 14, taylormade RAC tp and x 20 x22 bb08.
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
famousdavis   Scratch Golfer [Oct 21, 2009]
Model Reviewed: X-Forged

I went to the range and found something strange. A tour van and Callaway rep, his name was Stan and had a strong grip. I asked for the X-Forged in the nicest way...he handed it to me and said "fire away". I hit 8 balls in a row at the one-fifty, I said "darn dude, these irons are really spiffy". I thought that the irons were great and there was nothing wrong...I proceeded to make a deal with the rep and buy them for a song. I played the next day and shoot a smooth sixty-nine. I must say I approve and that these irons are inexplicable fine. I can't wait to put another ball on the tee...but right now my wife says she's got a little "somethin' somethin' for me". I'm out.

Customer Service

The reps name was Stan Pervis..but I didn't bother to call customer service.

Similar Products Used: Used them all but I don't like hitting out of a driving range stall.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
Available At:
justincuris   Scratch Golfer [Oct 13, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Callaway X-Fordged

I really like these irons after finally deciding to switch to fordged I think i made the right choice. If you are going to make the swith from cavity back to fordged I would like to let you know that it is alot different when you play then when you hit balls on the range altohugh the feel is unbeleiveable on the range it takes time to get the feel on the course. I would recomend this product to a low handicapper. Alos if possible I would get fitted for these because of the weight of the head compared to a cavity back... Good Luck any questions Email me: Justin1324@gmail.com

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
golfr   Shoots in the 80s [Jun 29, 2009]
Model Reviewed: callaway x forged irons 2009

Was playing X-16 Pro Series (earlier version of the Callaway "tour" irons) and was worried about transitioning to forged irons. While the x-forged irons are less forgiving, they almost force you to swing better due to the immediate feedback and feel of the clubs. Feedback is not harsh though and when I make decent contact, I've never hit straighter shots. But when you pure one, WOW, they make you sound, look and feel like a pro. SWEEEET!! Yes these irons require a little more skill but not nearly the "elite level of performance for highly skilled golfers" stated on Callaway's website. Highly recommend demoing these bad boys before buying your next set of irons but make sure you use the right shaft for your swing which is critical with these clubs. Also, easy to find online for way less that MSRP.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Christiaan   Shoots in the 80s [Mar 30, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Callaway X forged irons

Well what can I say... I moved from old callaway X12's (played with them for about 6 years) to the new X22's (played with them 2 months) and reacently bought the X-forged irons (yet to play with it. Personally the X12's was great clubs to begin with... so along the way i started making little swing adjustments, making my swing more controllable and smooth till i started to realize that the clubs i'm using is really out of date and i'm not getting the results that i was aiming for. I then bought the X22's, beautiful clubs i must say, but felt like they were exactly like the X12's just with added finesse... The clubs play brilliantly and are very forgiving, but ball shape and control is not under discussion for these clubs. Today I went in to trade the X22's for a forged iron set, just purely because I want more feel and feedback. I'm not worried about distance. Accuracy is my game :) I've hit a couple of balls with the Nike, Taylormade, Ping, and the Callaway. I must say, they all are exceptional, and it really needs a pro's touch to feel the difference. Not that I am, I just go for that's comfortable in my hands :) hehe... I told the guy not to tell me what club he is giving me to hit and i really just focused on hitting the balls and not looking at the kind of club and persistently the results showed that my swing consistency with the X-forged was a little bit better than all the others. They hit sweet, they feel balanced... I just can't wait till I can go and play them. :)

Customer Service

The Pro Shop South Africa. They are always superb!!!

Similar Products Used: Anvil, Callaway X12's, Callaway X22's
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 33  

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com