Callaway X-Tour Irons

Available At:
X-Tour

  • Two-piece 1020 carbon steel body
  • Blind bore hosel technology
  • Proven 360-degree undercut channel technology
  • Slightly smaller blade-style head

User Reviews (92)

Showing 1-10 of 92  
Jude   Shoots in the 70s [Sep 23, 2011]
Model Reviewed: 2005 Callaway X-Tour Irons

I have had these irons for about 4 years and absolutely love them. At first I noticed a loss of about 5 yards from my Cleveland clubs, and that is because these are tour irons and are about 2 degrees weaker than most manufactors cast irons so I had them bent 2 degrees strong...problem solved. I also had them bent 2 degrees flat because I'm on the short side. I then changed out the shafts from those heavy S300's to Project X 5.0's which are nearly 15 grams lighter and make a HUGE difference in ball flight. I have recently tried out the Mizuno MP-53's but they don't seem to have quiet the buttery feel of my x-tours, which really suprised me since Mizuno is know for their soft as butter feeling clubs. These clubs are also VERY forgiving for a forged iron.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
golf is fun   Shoots in the 70s [Jun 13, 2011]
Model Reviewed: X-Tour with Project X 6.5. +1/2"

I have had these irons since 2006. Mine have 6.5 project x shafts - the old satin finish version without the frequency noted on the label.
I have played them on and off, switching out with Mizuno and other irons. Every time i come back to these i am amazed.
They allow me to control ball flight - working it left to right or right to left plus hit high shots that stop fast or punch shots that fight the wind.
Feel is as good as my Mizzi's, just different. Forgiveness is exceptional for a players club. Turf interaction is wonderful, allowing for additional forgiveness on misses.
I haven't found a club yet that is superior to these babies, and that's the reason they don't get sold and keep returning to the bag.
Overall grade: A+

Customer Service

Never used - no problems with irons.

Similar Products Used: Various Mizuno, Ping, and Titleist products.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Marc   Shoots in the 80s [Sep 10, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Callaway X Tour

I am a 10 handicap. I play the Callaway X Tour irons with the True Temper S300 shafts. The clubs are heavy but the ball flies straighter than any irons I have ever played and every shot on the clubface is flushed. These are the best.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
deckie   Shoots in the 90s [Jul 28, 2010]

callaway x tour forged is best for me, I was tried many best brand but still no comfort for me, one year ago I moved to callaway x tour, and feel so comfort to use and hi accuration also distance, tks callaway

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
golfclubs   Shoots in the 100s [Apr 21, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Callaway X-Tour

Inspired by three-time major champion Phil Mickelson, the new Callaway X-Tour Wedges offer tour-proven precision for the more accomplished golfer. Legendary clubmaker Roger Cleveland has designed the best-looking, best-performing wedges Callaway Golf has ever produced. Forged from soft 1020 carbon steel for exceptional touch and feel around the greens, Callaway X-Tour Wedge at wowgolfclubs.com,the wedges come in numerous loft/bounce combinations to fit most players' preferences. Roger Cleveland designed 58- and 60-degree versions with the special PM (Phil Mickleson) Grind, which allows for the maximum in playability around the greens, and added "Mack Daddy" Grooves for the ultimate in spin, trajectory and distance control.

Features

Forged 1020 carbon steel

Allows for exceptional touch and feel around the greens. Available in two finishes: durable Satin Chrome or Vintage, which is the look preferred by most tour players.

Special PM (Phil Mickelson) Grind and "Mack Daddy" Grooves

On selected 58- and 60-degree versions, the PM Grind allows for the maximum in playability around the greens. Unique ''Mack Daddy'' Grooves are aggressively-sized but conforming grooves that maximize spin, trajectory and distance control.

New enhanced shaping

Preferred by tour players, the new improved head shape creates confidence on full shots as well as delicate feel shots around the greens.

Eight bounce/loft angle combinations

Choose from among eight loft/bounce combinations that work best for your swing and turf conditions.

Customer Service

Callaway X-Tour

Similar Products Used: Callaway X-Tour
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
Zack   Shoots in the 70s [Feb 09, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Callaway X-Tour Irons

I don't know what it is about these irons, but I have never hit any set of irons with more consistency wether that be in accuracy, trajectory or distance. I've hit numerous sets of irons, and even though these don't have a very soft feel or provide you with a ton of distance, they make up for that in weight, accuracy and consistency. My GIR % has never been better.

Similar Products Used: Titleist DCI 990, Titleist 690.CB, Nike blades, MacGregor V something rather, Cleveland ta5's, pine zing 2's
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
samarati   Shoots in the 80s [Dec 19, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Callaway X-tour

Ebay purchase. 3-PW. Rifle 6.0 stiff steel shafts. Golf pride grips. $200.

I have an on & off relationship with Callaway clubs. Over the past 3 years I've bought and sold 3 Callaway iron sets and several Drivers & Woods.

I purchased these last week. I've hit about 25 buckets of balls on the range, and played them on a really wet course yesterday. I shot 7 over par, and could have beterred that if my short distance putting was more accurate.

These clubs are very, very good. I attribute the accuracy and predictability of the clubs to the Rifle Precision steel shafts. These shafts have no vibration at all. They feel rock solid and stable throughout the swing and ball contact.

Comparison to Ping i-3 with JZ stiff shafts - Which I've been playing the past 2 months.
*Distance - Ping i-3. Especially 3 & 4 irons. 10 yards longer.
*Accuracy - Callaway X-tour. The Callway heads are a bit smaller, so I know it must be the Rifle shafts.
*Feel; sensitivity/feedback - Ping. Ball feedback is more apparent and nuanced. Callaway ball strike feels more generic wherever I hit the ball on the clubface.
*Looks - Callaway. The chrome and black graphics are a bit flashy and gaudy. But still prettier than the Brown & Tan inserts on the dull gun metal finish of the Ping i3.
*Fun factor - Callaway. I have not changed my swing with these clubs. So how is it that for the 1st time in my life I'm hitting greens and the backspin is backing up the ball, just like the pros? Happening with every club in the set, weird but wonderful. Pings hit the green and ball rolls forward several yards.

Customer Service

Callaway shop, pre-owned service guys are always friendly & helpful.

Similar Products Used: Ping i-3 - Love 'em!
Callaway TA-7 - Meh!
Callaway X-12 - Flexy like a fishing pole!
Titleist DCI - Whoa! Too much club for me!
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
kgodbey60   Shoots in the 90s [Nov 06, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Callaway X Tour Irons

I have only played 2 times with these irons and I absolutely love them. I love the feel and forgiveness. The only thing is that I do feel that I'm losing some distance. I'm going to keep them !

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
famousdavis   Shoots in the 70s [Jul 01, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Callaway X-Tour

I bought these on 6/24/09 and took them to the range. I did not need to take them to the course because they are definitely not for me. I currently play Titleist 990 irons and the Callaway's felt very clunky and heavy compared to my current set. I also found that the ball didn't seem to carry very far with the X-tours and I think it's because of the weight. They are beautiful irons and I wanted to like them more than anything but I didn't like them at all.

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used: Ping Eye 2, Titleist 990,
OVERALL
RATING
2
Value
RATING
3
Available At:
limonm31   Shoots in the 70s [May 22, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Callaway X-Tour

Bought these clubs about 6 months ago and I've never hit the ball as well. The cavity back makes them so forgiving so that off centre hits still fly most of thee way there. I know some people find that you can't work the ball to well with these clubs, but I find the ball flying straight is good enough for me! I found them quite a heavy club intially (compared my previous dci 990s) but this weight now just makes them feel like such a solid club.
Very nice design too, so over the ball the clubhead looks good at address (compared to other callaway designs). Strongly recommend this club to player of any level.

Similar Products Used: Taylor Made Rac/Lt/OS, Titliest DCI 981/990, AP1/AP2
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 92  
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com