Cleveland 792 VAS Irons

792 VAS

  • Vibration absorption system (VAS)
  • Provide great feel and feedback
  • Advanced perimeter weighting system for great forgiveness

User Reviews (20)

Showing 1-10 of 20  
Andy Martin   Shoots in the 70s [Apr 05, 2017]
Model Reviewed: Cleveland Classic VAS

I was playing Titlest forged blades. I was hitting so much that my hands started hurting.
I bought the VAS because they had an incredible damping effect. I have owned these clubs for 25 years and the still play great.

Similar Products Used: Ping Eye 2 are very similar
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
rex golf   Shoots in the 80s [Sep 27, 2016]
Model Reviewed: VAS 792 irons

great irons to rid urself of shanks.

Customer Service

cant find out what the different color decals mean on back of irons.

Similar Products Used: hogan edge, various c/b.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Jayem   Shoots in the 80s [Jul 04, 2016]
Model Reviewed: Cleveland 792 VAS Irons

Have an old brochure with the shaft flex details:
Double Diamond is "strong - for strong hitters"
Diamond is "firm or medium stiff"
Square is "reg to soft"
Circle is "soft"

PS - irons play way better than they look. Very straight but I'm not convinced that the VAS plate absorbs too much vibration as they do feel a bit harsh on off centre hits.

OVERALL
RATING
3
Value
RATING
4
David   Shoots in the 70s [Nov 12, 2015]
Model Reviewed: Cleveland vas 792

Just picked a set of these at the local recycling store . I remember these from way back with the looks only a mother could love .. $14 for the set !!!
If anybody else has had these and know a bit about them , could you please let me know what markings I'm looking for to a determine the flex in the shaft ... Nothing on the steel shaft that indicates the flex

Customer Service

Not applicable

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
Mark   Shoots in the 80s [Mar 17, 2015]
Model Reviewed: Cleveland Vas 792

I have had these for almost 20 years, bought them new and reached the best levels of golf I know. Began playing other brands the last 8 years buying the newest most marketed sets every 2 years, and havent gotten near the play out of any them like I remembered getting with the Vas's. Proof, today I took my custum built Rocket Blades out of my bag(because of major frustration from poor play) and replaced them with the Vas's. Shot my best round in 10 years. Remarkable, maybe a bit lucky, but remembering and experiencing that awsume feeling you get from hitting great shot after great shot is priceless. I dont remember why I took them out of my bag, but what I do know is that I never played as poor then as I have been recently. I wonder how much technology really has advanced in club design, or is more just effective hype and marketing and sales. I put my Vas's up against any current manufactured set being offered today and say with confidence they would perform as well or nearly as well, for being 20 years old. That current technology hasn't leaped so far fowards as the club companys market it to be. I won't be taking them out again any time soon. I have spent thousands over the last 8 years to get that "inner feeling" you get from playing well and hitting shots "like when I was younger". I think the best clubs each are ever going to hit are not "yet to be made" but rather, have already been made. We just need to remember what those were and go find them and play with them again see for yourselves.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Tim   Shoots in the 70s [Mar 12, 2015]
Model Reviewed: Cleveland VAS 792

I purchased these back in 1995 and played some of my best golf with them. I sold them in 1999 and I have regretted it ever since. I just purchased a set of them again and I couldn't be happier. True they are not pretty to look at, but the feel and ball control that I have had with them is incedible. I will never part with them again.

Similar Products Used: Tommy Armour 845's, Powerbilt Hybrids, Browning 440, Walter Hagen's
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Drew   Shoots in the 100s [Oct 22, 2014]
Model Reviewed: Cleveland 792 VAS Irons

Bought these clubs used. I figured for $50 these would be worth a shot as I was looking to upgrade from some really old starter clubs. Got these about 3 months after I started golfing and ever since, my game has been steadily improving. They may not be all that pretty, but they have a great feel. They make a great sound when you get solid contact and the forgiveness is great. I had a hard time controlling a slice with my old set but these clubs have all but eliminated that. I was told that these clubs would be a great stop gap before I purchase my next set, but I plan on using these for a while. Every time out on the course, I get more distance with them and it doesn't feel like I'll plateau with them any time soon. I typically shot in the 120's with my old clubs even after I got comfortable with them. With these, I'm now shooting in the low 100's and occasionally in the high 90's. Would recommend to anyone, but especially newbies like me.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Ty Terpening   Shoots in the 80s [May 20, 2014]
Model Reviewed: Vas 792

Best investment I ever made. They aren't the prettiest or longest irons out there, but by far the straightest and most forgiving I've ever hit. Loved them so much I got the 3,5, and 7 wood and they are great clubs too. Found the driver on Ebay for $1 and hit it straigher than any modern driver I've tried to hit. I've had these irons for a year and plan on using them till the heads break off.

Similar Products Used: Ping, Nike, Callaway, Cobra
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Mike   Shoots in the 70s [Nov 02, 2013]
Model Reviewed: 792 Graphite stiff

My neighbor gave me a set of these to donate to junior golf. I tried them on a lark, and ended up donating my Taylor Mades to JGA. They are downright unattractive, but they are easily the best feeling irons I've ever hit.

Customer Service

No idea.

Similar Products Used: Srixon, Taylor Made, Titleist
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
James Potts   Shoots in the 80s [Dec 06, 2011]
Model Reviewed: Cleveland 792 VAS Irons

I am stunned. I always kind of liked the odd look of this set but would never take the plunge and purchase them. What a mistake. I bought a set earlier this summer and finally broke them out this past weekned. Unbelievable !!! I hit all but one green(I only played nine holes) and shot a 35. They just go dead straight. Hook swing, slice swing,...didn't matter. They went right where I aimed. I've been playing for 21 years and have hit them all. Ping, Callaway, PRGR, Taylormade, Adams, etc. There is not another set like these. They are not as long as today's strong lofted sets but the dead straight ball flight is just hard to believe. I am about a club shorter with this set but that scorecard had no idea of what the number on the bottom of the club was when I was hitting all of those greens. The number one handicap hole on the course was a 210 yd par three. (tiny green) I hit a three iron that landed pin high and stopped an inch from it's pitchmark. Made the put for a rare birdie on that hole. I was hooked. I was so impressed with these irons that I have already purchased a back up set and a 2 iron. If you are someone who likes to work the ball then this set is not for you. But, if you like a laser straight ball flight with a ton of bite, do yourself a favor and try one of these clubs. Don't get me wrong, I have shot that kind of score before but not without scrambling for a fare share of par's. If you are a good putter, these will get you on the dance floor and give you ample opportunities for birdies. I LOVE THESE IRONS !!!!

Customer Service

None needed

Similar Products Used: Ping, Callaway, Taylormade, Adams, PRGR, Spalding, Wilson Staff, Liquidmetal, etc.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 20  

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com