Cleveland CG4 Irons

Available At:
CG4

  • Cavity back design
  • Lower and deeper center of gravity
  • Higher moment of inertia
  • Mid-size blade
  • Progressive offset profile

User Reviews (69)

Showing 1-10 of 69  
oldschoolrocker   Shoots in the 80s [Oct 05, 2011]
Model Reviewed: Cleveland cg4

I picked these up for a song a a local golf shops trade-in bin. I had heard how soft they were for a cast club, so I took the 8 and 6 in the bay for a test drive. WOW...instant LUV...a bit more game forgiveness than I normally play with, but, since purchasing they have worked their way into my bag as gamers. Only had one set over the last 40 years that stayed in the bag for any real length of time. Think I have found the second. Had the DGS300s tipped a 1/4 inch, and the irons bent 2* flat, which has resulted in a very tight pattern. Finding clubs about 6 yards longer than my usual, so I pulled the 3 from the bag and added another wedge, Cleveland of course.

Customer Service

No dealings with yet.

Similar Products Used: You name it, I've hit it.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
Erpy89   Shoots in the 100s [Oct 03, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Cleveland CG-4 irons

I got the Cg4 irons from Ebay last Dec '08 for about $250.00 to replace a hand-me-down Lynx predator mid-size irons. The clubheads of the CG-4 have progressive off-set which would be good news to high handicappers. I can comfortably hit the 3 iron better than my old Lynx black cat hybrid. Feedback on poorly struck shots for the CG-4 seem to be dampened but good hits reward the player with that soft butter feel. PW is fun to hit around the green. I would recommend this set to mid to high-handicappers.

Customer Service

Not used

Similar Products Used: Mizuno TC 29, Lynx Predator
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
BrannerLitten   Shoots in the 80s [Jul 17, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Cleveland CG4

I had the money and time last year to try out nine different sets of clubs. The seven included:Nike Ignite, Titleist AP2, Titleist AP1, Cleveland CG1 Black Pearl, Nike CCi, Callaway x-22 tour, Taylormade CGB Max, Ping G10, and Cleveland CG4. I really enjoyed it. My wife was like "ANOTHER SET OF GOLF CLUBS!" every time one would show up. I don't claim to be the greatest golfer(atleast when I am sober), but this was a fun experience. This is how I rated them.
#1- CG4
#2- Ping G10
#3- CGB Max
#4- AP2
#5- CCi
#6- X-22 tour
#7- AP1
#8- Ignite
Tied at #8- CG1

Customer Service

I can't say enough about the people at Cleveland.

Similar Products Used: All listed above. Plus previous clubs which include Macgregor Reverse Draft and Callaway x-18.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
Lefty   Shoots in the 80s [Mar 16, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Cleveland CG4

I owned the Cleveland VAS 792 with composite-R shafts, TA3 with True Temper steel R, and now the CG4 True Temper steel R. I have always used Cleveland for their lower price and higher quality.

VAS 792 best irons ever made by any maker. Dead straight and longer than any other irons on the market. Sad they are no longer manufactured.

TA3 good looking clubs and as good as anything else on the market but not as good as the VAS 792. Almost as long though. Easier to work with than the VAS 792 under tough conditions, especially out of bunkers.

CG4 was not an easy switch from the TA3 and took some time to get used to. Definitely softer to hit than the TA3. Not as long though as either the VAS 792 or the TA3. CG4 top line is thicker than usual for Cleveland, again needing to get used to it. Offset looks minimal, even compared to the TA3. Still work in progress but pleased with the CG4 performance overall.

CG4 main characters would be soft as hell off the face, easy to work with, and a thick top line that looks like it wants to punish the ball.







OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
BigSkyGolfer143   Shoots in the 80s [Feb 14, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Cleveland CG4 Irons

I have played golf virtually all my life and these are the best clubs i have ever swung. They have a unique crispness to each shot, and to be honest they look sweet in a bag. My iron play has always been decent but i am now able to attack pins instead of simply hitting at a green. A great investment to any golfers game!

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
Available At:
nadasii   Shoots in the 90s [Feb 11, 2009]
Model Reviewed: cg4 tour

i played old callaway big bertha golds and ben hogan blades before these. and found these clevelands to be between the berthas and blades in terms of forgiveness.
the head is quite compact and top line is not very thick so it look good at address, the feel of the head is buttery soft at impact, but when played with softer balls like pro-vs it feels a bit mushy, distance is further reduced on what i find is not a particularly long hitting iron set. slightly harder balls gives a very much improved distance and strikes feels more sharp.
shot shaping is possible with the tour model i find the fade easier to play but both is possible, however normally i take one club up if i play a fade around a tree, i find i need to take two up with the cg4, i think the angle of the clubs is a bit higher than normal, but thats not a problem once you know your yardage with them.
all in all, im very pleased with these irons. they have very soft feel allowing you to add spin to shots and looks fantastic. i feel very comfortable playing these while i try to lower my handicap. i got these for £140 near new 3-p so i got them cheapish, with reg steel lite shaft, all standard . bargain

Customer Service

na

Similar Products Used: r7 berthas hogan blades
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
fadm   Shoots in the 80s [Nov 19, 2008]
Model Reviewed: CG 4

When I purchased these clubs (April 2008) my hdpc was 15. With a little change on my swing and these clubs, now I have 11.
These clubs are the best!

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
drew schreurs   Shoots in the 80s [Sep 26, 2008]
Model Reviewed: CG4

When i bought these irons, i was not sure what to expect to be honest. I had never before played anything cleveland. I have now had them for several months. They are very, very comfortable, especially from a mid-handicap standpoint. There is enough forgiveness due to the cavity back, but it also has taken my striking to another level. THe balance and feel of a sweet spot hit is just incredible. Easily the best investment i have made. The heads are also not insanely oversized like many other high-handicap irons. Low handicap golfers most likely will not find these irons satisfactory, but for the average joe schmoe they are a great investment.

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
Golferpro   Shoots in the 70s [Sep 17, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Cleveland cg4

The cleveland cg4s are the best irons. They are so forgiving and feel really soft when you hit them right. They hold the greens really well and get good ball flight. Trust me these are the best irons out there.

Customer Service

I got them on ebay brand new for a cheap price.

Similar Products Used: kzg zero offset irons
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
matt3719   Shoots in the 80s [Jun 24, 2008]
Model Reviewed: 2008 Callaway Big Bertha Irons

I just bought a set (4-PW,AW,SW) from my local country club after working with a Callaway rep. These clubs are awesome. I have always had trouble hitting the longer irons, but no longer. I almost pray for the once dreaded long (200+ yd) par 3's. I hit the 4 i-brid as long as my cleveland Hi-Bore xls 3 hybrid (210+)
The only complaint I have with the irons are the short irons. I currently use my TaylorMade RAC PW and Titleist AW and LW, instead of the Big Bertha's. Those irons are simply too large: I felt like I was hitting the ball with a shovel.

Customer Service

Never Used

Similar Products Used: Taylormade RAC OS2, Titleist 762, Taylormade LCG
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 69  
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com