Cleveland HiBore Irons

Available At:
HiBore

The new Cleveland HiBore irons. 3-PW set with a large club face, and an even larger back. The clubs look a bit unusual at address, but really hit the ball well. They have a nice soft pop on contact and whether heel, toe, or sweetspot, shots eem to always go straight. I havent been able to get them out on the range or course since its been in the 30's lately here, but as far as feel goes they're great. If your in the market for a set of super game improvement clubs you owe it to yourself to check these out. They are very similar feeling to the Nike Slingshot OSS in my opinion.
Cant comment on distance as of yet, but Im more focused on getting a clean straight shot anyways. Its a great time to be in the market for a set of irons as a mid to high handicapper. SO MUCH to choose from.
These can be had for $599 in steel almost anywhere, some places a bit cheaper.

User Reviews (51)

Showing 1-10 of 51  
Chuck Gentry   Shoots in the 80s [May 12, 2014]
Model Reviewed: Original HiBore set

I bought the HiBore set in 2007 based on a friends recommendation. He told me that this new model would help me get back into golf without a lot of frustration. He said after you get your game back on track you could then move to a more conventional set of clubs. well here it is 2014 and I have no desire to change, I love these clubs.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
Robert Sprague   Shoots in the 70s [Oct 01, 2013]
Model Reviewed: Cleveland Hibore HB3

Here's a question: Would you like to hit each of your irons 8-10 yards farther and almost 50% higher? Would you be happy if your percentage of iron mis-hits dropped dramatically? Would you be especially pleased at how much better all irons hit out of the rough, out of divots and out of the sand were easier to hit?

Well, that has been my experience with the Cleveland Hibore HB3's that I put into my bag earlier this year.

And it makes perfect sense. Most all of us hit our 3-4 hybrids more solidly. So why not go beyond the 3-4's and carry the advantage through the entire set?

And are there any obvious negatives the Cleveland Hibore HB3 irons? Well, there is one negative. When I first put them in my bag my golf buddies gave me a seriously hard time because they were obviously "game improvement" clubs. Oh, they laughed for sure.

But who is laughing now?

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Graham Oates   Shoots in the 80s [Aug 12, 2011]
Model Reviewed: cleveland hi bore irons

I restarted my golfing about 2 years ago after not playing for 10 years. I was a 28 h/c and decided my old clubs were not very good. I went to a local golf club and asked if I could try some second hand clubs. He gave me 2 irons from 4 different sets of clubs. When he passed me the hi bore I almost gave them straight back. Anyway I took them to the range and tried them. I was pleased with the first 3 clubs then tried the hi bore. Boy was I amazed, hitting everything sweetly and straight. Needless to say I bought them. A year later and i wouldn't swap them for any other club,seriously!
I don't hit every shot down the middle and there's the occassional shank but these clubs are superb. I am thinking of buying a second set of clubs,used, and they will definately be the same clubs. Im playing quite regular now and my handicap is 13 and a big part of that is down to the clubs. I would absolutely recommend these superb clubs.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
Bob   Shoots in the 70s [Mar 08, 2011]
Model Reviewed: Cleveland HB3

HB3's are awesome! I Currently play to a 6 handicap, with these irons i'll be a 4 before too long. High, straight, forgiving.....can't miss!

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Terry   Shoots in the 100s [Oct 30, 2010]
Model Reviewed: cleveland hb3 hybrids

Played with the new Cleveland HB3 hybrids set today (3-PW)
and was WELL pleased with them. High and straight as advertised. Very easy to hit club set . I'de read where the PW was a little clunky but really did'nt have a problem with it. Just line up and swing as normal. My putter abandoned me today but the complete set of hybrids didnt let me down. They seem to hit the ball just a tad longer as well. Glad I bought them! Maybe I need a hybrid putter!!!

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used: N/A
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
Sandwedge647   Shoots in the 80s [Oct 29, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Cleveland HB3 Irons

Have been playing golf for about 14 years. I have tried a number of different set of clubs. Purchased Clevelands"s HB3 Irons on Tuesday, played Thursday, shot my first hole in one ever with the HB3 Nine Iron. EDnough said. These HB3 are wonderful. They are long and straight.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
frankludwig   Shoots in the 90s [Apr 28, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Cleveland HB3 hybrid irons

Do you like standard hybrids? If so do not miss the experience to check hybrid irons. They will improve your game. Being on the golf course if always nice but this clubs will make it even more amazing.
Started to play golf with Ping Zing FW woods (3,5,7) and Mizuno Widedec II irons (3-SW). In specific loved to play the irons and was satisfied with the results. As hybrids appeared I became a kind of "hybrid junky", using Taylormade Rescue Mid and Cleveland Halo(2-6). The hybrids worked magnificent for distance 120 yards and longer. Anything closer to the green became a mess as I totally lost the confidence to my irons.
It was time to think about new equipment. As a fan of standard hybrids I was relatively sure that hybrid irons are a good choice for me. Cleveland has the most experience with hybrid irons as they just launched the third generation. That is why I recently got a set of HB3 hybrid irons (4-SW), which are the follower of Hibore XLI hybrid irons.
I Played 3 rounds so far and can tell you it is amazing. If you like hybrids, this clubs turn into magic sticks. Clubs are easy to hit and have a nice fault tolerance. Pure fun regarding the excellent feedback, sound and feeling after a good full swing hit. WOW!!!
Nice distance from the fairway. Stroke with #4 so far makes it up to 180 yards.
So far I did use Cleveland XLS Fairway Wood #3 from the tee, but I still have problems to handle it. If fairways are narrow I am using the HB3 #4 and currently think about to use it always. Sure I am loosing some yards but more precise shots and fairway hits are more important.
Most amazing is that I feel extremely confident with a full or stronger PW, SW swing to approach the green (70-120 yards). Ball flies nice and high, exactly like you want to see. According to former hybrid irons reviews, a couple of people did not like the SW, PW. I do not understand, for me these clubs work very well. For closer approaches I prefer to keep using my 60° lob wedge. However softer swings with SW, PW also were ending up in some good results but require some more training.
Chips work also fine. You simply need to get a feeling for a kind of "hybrid-short-game". I yet cannot tell stories from the green bunker but one might prefer to keep using the standard wedges here.
I am totally satisfied with this clubs and happy that I made the decision to get them.

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used: Cleveland Halo 2,6
Taylormade Rescue Mid 3, 5
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
MRH   Shoots in the 70s [Dec 18, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Cleveland hibore irons

Who says a low handicapper shouldn't play these clubs?

I'm a 4 handicap senior golfer who played in the VA Senior Amateur this summer. Love these irons. Have played Mizuno, Ping, Titleist, Callaway and these are by far the best irons ever. Solid, high, and straight. Pinseekers, if there ever was one.

Customer Service

Not needed

Similar Products Used: big bertha, ping g5
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
kevan keeler   Shoots in the 80s [Sep 25, 2009]
Model Reviewed: cleveland hibore xli

I was an eighteen handicapper at the begining of the summer, these irons have got me downn to a ten. I play every fortnight so not that much. I have played on really hard fairways and the strikes have been good, i was told that because of the wide sole they might bounce off the turf but they did not. The wedge took a bit of getting used to because i was getting a low trajectory, but now i can control that. I would give these clubs a 9 out of ten, they have helped me so much.

Similar Products Used: I was using deep red fat shaft irons. The clevelands out performed them in every way.
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
Saildon   Shoots in the 100s [Jul 25, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Cleveland HiBore XLS

I purchased a complete set (Irons Driver and 3W) back in May from Foxy Golf in Akron, OH. I got the A shafts as my swing has slowed over the years. I can't say they have made me ready for the Sr Tour but I really love the clubs. I am happy with everything except the wedge around the green. It really is kinda clunky. I am going to look into a different wedge for that. I am very happy with the clubs over all. I got the 10.5 degree driver and I think I should have gone with the 9 degree as my drives get up very fast now.

The irons stay straight and are very easy to hit. I actually need to change clubs now since I am hitting it farther.

Similar Products Used: Traded in Adams Ideas
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 51  

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com