Cleveland Tour Action TA-3 Irons

Tour Action TA-3

User Reviews (107)

Showing 1-10 of 107  
freedomrawk   Shoots in the 80s [Apr 05, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Cleveland TA 3

My father got me these clubs when I was 12 and i've been playing on these ever since. In fact I played these so much two years ago I lost both the heads off the 3 and 4 irons in the same round. (take care of your clubs and dont soak em in water to clean em.) If you like to work the ball these are great, If you like the way a blade looks and feels but can't control a muscle back, these are a little more forgiving. Not much but a little. These clubs are longer than most other clevelands of the center but if your not lined up 100% your ball could be going any where. You will hate these clubs if you are a high handycapper and are trying to improve your game these do not forgive one bit so stay away from em. Another great thing about these is that you can find these out there in a lot of places for under 100 bucks. If you swing fast get yourself the rifle stiff shaft and send those shots long. Also a lot of clevelands I recomend getting your lofts checked occasionally cause they are a little softer than other brands.

Similar Products Used: Ping eyes, TA7's, TA1's, Taylormade burners (remember those old ones with the bubble shafts)and CG tour's
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Aubrey   Shoots in the 80s [Sep 24, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Cleveland TA3

I've always been a true irons player and my TA3s bring out my best shots. The form forge and blade style give me the look and feel to step up to every shot with confidence and throw "darts". But they're not very forgiving clubs. So when I miss a shot or fall into the rare slump, it can be a long and painful round of golf. I love my TA3s. Clubs for "real" golfers.

Similar Products Used: Mostly cavity backs ... MacGregor, Cobra, TaylorMade, Ping, Wilson
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
michael   Shoots in the 100s [Jul 09, 2007]
Model Reviewed: CLEVELAND TA-3

Great clubs for great players. I've owned these clubs for about four years. I actually gave up the game because of these clubs. Very hard to hit unless you hit the sweetspot. Then your ball will scream. These iron are not for high handicappers. I had to trade these for some Cobra cavity backs.

Customer Service

n/a

Similar Products Used: hogan, cobra
OVERALL
RATING
2
Value
RATING
3
Charvelboy   Shoots in the 70s [Jun 09, 2007]
Model Reviewed: cleveland ta3 irons

I'm a junior, and finally decided to change to a true players club. I had been playing Ping i5 black dots, and I didn't like them. As with about every other set of Pings I've played, the i5's were long and solid. The bad part: they were too hard to line up, despite the less offset compared to other Pings.

So it just so happened that I ended up with these irons. I have already begun to work the ball significantly both ways, and shot my first round under par. Currently, per 18 holes, I'm hitting around 12 to 13 greens. But the best part is, now my shots are knocking down the flagstick, rather being too far left or right.

Customer Service

idk

Similar Products Used: Ping i5, i2, i3, Ping Zing, Callaway x-14s, Ping G2, Mizuno MP-32s, etc.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Jeff Millski   Shoots in the 80s [May 08, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Cleveland TA-3 S400 Sensicore

Just a super all around set. Compact, blade like with a cavity back, and just a slight bit of offset. Easy to work both ways and hit high, low, draw or fade. If you can find a set in nice shape they are quite a value!

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
sadie2677   Shoots in the 80s [Oct 09, 2006]

I shoot in the low 80's and loosing strokes because of these irons. I have owned these for a long time, lent them out, while I went through, pings, hogans, taylor mades, pings again, and finally remembered my buddy had these. I got them back, regripped them and I am throwing darts. I even went back to using cleveland wedges. These clubs set up perfect nice small blade style heads with cavity back forgivness. I do hit them a bit shorter I think than taylor made or ping, but thats because the lofts are not all bumped up. Actually the lofts have made my game more accurate, because I don't have huge gaps between my scoring irons. All around great clubs

Similar Products Used: Ping, hogan, taylor made
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
Alasdair graham green   Shoots in the 90s [May 31, 2006]
Model Reviewed: cleveland ta3 irons

these irons are one of the most nicest clubs i have ever owned they are so accurate and forgiving that i have been hitting the target every shot i have played when u hit them cleanly u cannot even feel the ball.the amount of height u can hit the ball with them our amazing. They are no doubt the best irons around. but only if you have a fast swing so i wouldnt advise them for slow swingers. So if you are a fast swinger thses are the irons for you.

Customer Service

very good and understanding

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
Klein   Shoots in the 80s [Dec 02, 2005]
Model Reviewed: TA3 Cast Irons w S300 shaft

My 2nd set of irons and I love it. It is still in my storeroom as my spare set. As mentioned by others, this irons have a small sweet spot. These irons are not very forgiving. However, there is where I leant to hit better and longer. This irons are not for any weekend players who do not pratice much. This irons would suit you if you are looking into improving your ball striking and you have time to train with the irons once in a while.

Customer Service

Never get to use them.

Similar Products Used: Some unknown japan brand.
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
  Shoots in the 90s [Nov 17, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Tour Action TA/3

I liked my Yonex ADX Tour Forged irons, but I love these TA/3's. I hit one shot off the tee with the 5 iron, and it was like I didn't feel hitting the ball, and it landing four feet from the pin. They're like buddah (butter for the vernacularly challenged). Highly recommended, and forget the previous reviews where these sticks were for only scratch golfers. Baloney! These irons make golf more fun, period. Took several strokes off of my game to boot. Look for them and buy them at a discount. That only adds to your fun.

Customer Service

None

Similar Products Used: Yonex, Ping, Wilson, Hogan
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
4underpar   Scratch Golfer [Nov 13, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Cleveland TA3

There's only one thing you need to know about these clubs..hit it on the sweet spot and you will have a smile on your face...but be off ever so little and you won't be happy. I have the gun metal finish and the set up and look of these is second to none.These clubs are for single handicapped only..there is no forgiveness and clubs are a slight bit shorter than others. Pro's on the pga carry TA5 3 and 4 irons for a reason. If you are a great ball striker these are the clubs for you.

Customer Service

Excellent..had a grip problem on one of the clubs and they sent me a new one.

Similar Products Used: 990..MP33..762..
OVERALL
RATING
3
Value
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 107  

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com