Cleveland CG14 Zip Grooves Black Pearl Wedges

Available At:
CG14 Zip Grooves Black Pearl

Cleveland CG14 Black Pearl Tour Zip CC Wedges The Cleveland CG14 Black Pearl Tour Zip CC Wedges are the perfect balance of performance, versatility and forgiveness. The design integrates Cleveland Golf's advanced groove and feel technology with a Tour-scrutinized shape, sole and offset. Designed with a slightly larger size and wider sole, the head offers players additional forgiveness against fat shots. The Tour-inspired C? shaped sole provides a constant sole width from heel to toe to improve b

User Reviews (18)

Showing 1-10 of 18  
Richie   Shoots in the 90s [Jun 03, 2013]
Model Reviewed: CB 14 Satin Chrome

I've been playing for 2 years now. My driver and irons are decently okay, but what always stopped me from shooting low scores was my short game. I upgraded my wedges to get a 52 and a 60 degree and boy am I glad I did. I went from shooting 100's to shooting 90's within weeks. The feel and consistency of these wedges are great. I tried my friend's Vokey's and couldn't really get a feel for them. With these, I play nice high flop shots with my 60 and bump and runs that end up within 3 feet of the hole with my 52. I am currently shooting in the mid 80's and if I could get my putting down, I'll be able to shoot in the 70's soon. These CG 14's are great and I love them.

Similar Products Used: Titleist Vokey
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
sly   Shoots in the 90s [May 12, 2010]
Model Reviewed: cg 14

This is simple. If you REALLY care about scoring and your short game, get this wedge. I hear people say a "wedge is a wedge" but the people who say that don't have game. If you hit the same shot with different clubs, different things happen, and this club 60 and 56 degree are top notch. Today i just finished my round and i had the best short game ever. Hit 3 pins with the 56! In one rd! Never before. This Cleveland wedge feels great, bites, and does as advertised. After a rd or 2 you will be killing yourself that you didnt get this stick. Tried the CG12, RACS, and others. No contest...

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
Scotty-LOS   Shoots in the 90s [Mar 23, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Clevelan CG14 - Camo 52,56,60

I have always had some issues with my short game and chips, pitches and flop shots. I used only carry a PW cause I never could use a wedge and take advantage of the diff loft's and bounce etc etc. I asked for some wedges for my B-day and my wife bought me a CG14 56* 2 dot sand wedge in a cool camo finish. The club looked great. I took it to the local course that day to play a quick 9 holes anyway the 5th hole has a trap left side of the fairway I always end up there cause of my nice slice the green is about 65ish yards pin is leftside high with about 50 feet of green behind the pin... So I am thinking another try with my PW and just pop it out and play from the fairway.... But here is this nice camo stick my wife got me I took the F**cker out and setup I took my shot nice 3/4 swing it felt amazing the ball scooped out so clean and a super high nice rianbow drop shot I saw it going right at the pin I can tell I gave it a little much but damn this thing was right at the pin I thought.... I didnt see but there was a guy still looking for his LW up on the green so he saw the whole thing all I heard him say was NICE.. so I walk up the green and BOOM my ball is right there 3 feet left of the pin.. I say WTF I def thought I flew the green...

He said bro I never seen that much spin on the ball how you do that.. he said that the ball over about 15-20 feet he said nice soft landing and then he said the ball took of like it had a string attached to it and I was pulling it back he said bro the ball peeled out and just went right back at the hole he said I missed it by about 3 inches from holing it.. So all I can say is now I own a 52GW, 56SW and a 60LW and my short game is alot better the spin and the trajectory of the ball with these wedges is amazing I think they are the best wedges out there and yes I have tried Vokey's before..

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
GtownGolfer22   Shoots in the 70s [Nov 20, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Cleveland CG14 black pearl wedge

This club is great. It allows you to play all types of shots around the green with great amounts of spin. I can hit a higher pitch or a little bump and run, and easily control the amount of spin I want. However, there are 2 things that I do not like about this club. First, it fills up with grass and pieces of the ball pretty easily, even after practice swings I have to clean the grooves. Secondly, I like to feel miss hits on the club face, and with the vibration stopper on the back, all the shots feel sweet even when there not, so I don't get as much feed back as I'd like. Other than that, this is a great wedge to have in your bag.

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
Joe   Shoots in the 80s [Oct 27, 2009]
Model Reviewed: CG14 50/60 Chrome/Black Pearl

Lovely club, good look at address, good ball flight, good spin, great control. With a good swing you can compress it and the grooves take effect. I can hook spin back, cut spin it back. The 50 degree comes in low-mid height, and 60 degree is high and fantastic from greenside rough or from 100 yards away in rough. From sand its fantastic, especially the 60 when you have to get it over a big front lip. Though you have to make a good swing for full results and must punch down to take a divot or you catch it dead thin. Looks are fine, the dampener that the yellow thing in the back doesnt make it look ugly in my view, only benefits in feel.

Similar Products Used: Srixon WG 706 56 degree--Titleist 200 Series 58 degree
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
CoG oil   Shoots in the 70s [Mar 29, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Cleveland CG 14 56 and 52

I was using vokey SM 2 seasons ago and chipping was average.. would not leave my self tap ins by and means. A buddy of mine bought these wedges so I tried them out, WOW, the amount of control and spin you get with these wedges is second to none. WAY better than the Vokey's. I absolutly LOVE these wedges. You can land the ball a foot from the hole and stop it on a dime when chipping. Approach shots from 90-115 even the average golfer can spin them back 10ft.
Great clubs

Similar Products Used: Vokey SM, Rac TP, Ping, callaway X
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
GolfAddict714   Shoots in the 80s [Feb 04, 2009]
Model Reviewed: cleveland cg14 Black Pearl 52 58

THE BEST WEDGES. My scores dropped immediately after buying the 52 and 58 degree black pearl wedges. I scored a 110 yard birdie shot with my 52! I just swung and it went in the hole. Its automatic in the sand!!!!No worries about sand traps anymore. I started playing a little over a year and I cant believe the shots I have made with these wedges. No lie.

Similar Products Used: Titleist vokey
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
golfer7890   Shoots in the 90s [Dec 23, 2008]
Model Reviewed: CG14 Chrome

Very easy to use, forgiving. Not super soft feel, but good feedback. Just clips the ball off the grass. This club really gets the job done. Very surprised at the excellent performance, but then again its a Cleveland wedge. Highly recommend.

Customer Service

I cant locate the email address on Cleveland's site-- big minus.

Similar Products Used: 588, Vokey, Cally X-forged, Rac TP Satin.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
Trip Bogey   Shoots in the 90s [Dec 16, 2008]
Model Reviewed: CG14 Chrome

My wedge search is over. I had the CG11 model last year and gave them up for more of a "players" wedge. After some experimentation, I decided I wanted something that had the same feel as the CG11 so I went with the CG14 52* and 56*.

My game has improved over the past year so I can't attribute my overall perception totally to the wedges. However, they inspire confidence and when dialed in, they seem to serve as a GPS for the ball.

Unfortunately, conditions have been unfavorable due to a lot of rain so I don't have much detail about spin and play out of firm lies. They have worked wonders for me off the mushy fairway, tightly packed bunkers, and thick, wet rough.

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
John   Shoots in the 80s [Sep 29, 2008]
Model Reviewed: CG14 52*and 56* Black Pearl

I can't imagine any wedge better than this. It makes all my others obsolete, including the Vokey SM. Some don't like the looks but I find them very appealing but were talking about performance and IMO nothing beats the CG14 in terms of feel, forgiveness and overall playability. They stop the ball on a dime and are very versatile. Once you play them, especially on the course, they will be in your bag, for sure.

Customer Service

Never needed

Similar Products Used: All Vokey's, Cleveland's, Callaway, Mizuno, Hogan, TaylorMade and on and on.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 18  

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com