Cobra SZ 400 Titanium Drivers

Available At:
SZ 400 Titanium

The new SZ Drivers provide maximum allowable energy transfer and a higher coefficient of restitution (C.O.R.) over a greater effective hitting area, resulting in longer distance, greater forgiveness and a sweet, solid feel and sound.

User Reviews (13)

Showing 1-10 of 13  
Charlie W   Shoots in the 80s [Jul 20, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Cobra 400 SZ Titanium Driver

I've had a lot of drivers over the years. The last time I was in the market for a driver I went to a second-hand golf store and they let me take out 5 clubs at a time to try out. Naturally I checked out Callaway, Titleist, Taylor Made, etc. By the time I was through I had tried maybe 15 clubs. I always went to the same driving range, got the same bucket of balls and hit to the same flag. The Cobra was maybe the 6th club I tried and it clearly stood out right away. The sound, the feel, the consistency and the distance were amazing. I would put it down and grab another club, make the same swing, and saw that it definitely was the club I was using and nothing else. During the rest of the testing I would always take the Cobra along with 4 other clubs.... same results. Even now people still come up to me on the drivng range and ask what kind of driver I am hitting. That's because the solid sound and distance gets their attention. Great club.

Customer Service

Unused

Similar Products Used: Callaway, TaylorMade, Orlimar, Titleist, Mizuono, Nickent, etc.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
MakinItRain   Shoots in the 80s [Jun 10, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Cobra 400 SZ

One word: WOW. Just a little bit of background on myself; took a hiatus from the game (about 3 years) and when I originally halted I was shooting consistently in the high 80s because of my solid iron play, off the tee was another story. When the newer tech. drivers were coming out in the late 90s and early 00s I was frustrated that I couldn't hit anything consistently straight or decent length like I could my older (small head driver/woods). So as time went on I was used to teeing off with a 3 wood instead of a driver (prob only 200cc). After coming off my break I decided to look at the Cobra line of drivers b/c of the success I've had with my 3 wood and my Cobra irons. I didn't have a lot of extra cash for a new driver so I opted for the 3 year-ish old Cobra 400 SZ driver in good used condition. The first two times out at the range I was stunned at the results. I am traditionally a low ball trajectory hitter, so the 10.5* face paired with the Reg Flex Aldila shaft seemed to do wonders. For the first time, I was hitting the back net at 300 yards of the driving range in the air (something that I never thought I would see myself do as I was accustomed to hitting my 3 wood about 230-250 max yards in the air) The club head launches the ball right into a great trajectory line, not too high such as balooning or too low as a line drive. The club is also well suited for me at 5' 11" and about 160, the club itself isn't too heavy or too light, just about right with the 400cc head for myself. Do yourself a favor and get the right shaft flex and head size for your particular swing by going to a pro shop that has the proper equipment to help you out.

Customer Service

Haven't had to deal with any since i'm the second owner.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
jjloans   Shoots in the 70s [Sep 21, 2006]
Model Reviewed: 400SZ

Was having some trouble with my driving, and was waiting for my Nike SQ to arrive, traded for a used Cobra 400SZ with factory HM S flex... WOW! I was really impressed with how straight this puppy is and with how long it is... pretty nice combo! Seemed really easy to hit, and pretty darn forgiving if not hit right on the nose... mine is a 10.5, and yes it does hit high, but I didn't find the trajectory to be a negative... this is high launch, not balooning. I tend to hit a low ball flight anyway, so maybe the high launch is less of an issue for me... sound is loud, but nice...very impressed, very happy with it! Did I mention it is REALLY long!

Similar Products Used: Just about everything. lately G5 (didn't work at all for me G2 (nice stick) Hi-Bore (disappointing distance) F-Speed (disappointing everything) Cleveland Comp (nice stick and long, but just not consistently straight) Nickent Trimax and 425 (both vey nice sticks) etc, etc...!!
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
lukevh   Shoots in the 90s [Feb 23, 2006]
Model Reviewed: 400 SZ

In addition to my previous review, I have to add that this driver is extremely easy to use of the fairway. I was absolutely surprised how easy it was. Obviously the ball flight is low and boring, but if you get in the right place, there is no need to be afraid of giving it a go. I hit it about 225 metres (250 yds) plus role off the deck. Of course there isnt any backspin to speak of.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
lukevh   Shoots in the 90s [Jan 22, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Cobra SZ 400 Unlimited

I previously used an Adams GT 360 with Grafalloy ProLaunch Blue shaft. I find this club much much much straighter. It is correct to say it takes a very bad swing to put a slice on it. If anything there is a tendancy to draw it, or hook it. Even shots on the right edge of the face produce a draw-back-to-centre ball flight. The ball flight is high and generally straight or slight draw. Not sure how much extra distance, maybe 5-10 metres, but what matters is finding the fairways. You can use this driver on tight par 4s and gain the extra distance over a 3wood with the confidence that it will go straight. I bought it for $150 (Australian) on ebay brand new, absolute bargain, which makes this club even better!

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
jrv1932   Shoots in the 100s [Dec 07, 2005]
Model Reviewed: king cobra 400sz titanium driver

I recently bought a Nickent TriMax460 driver with the recommendation of other reviews and the salesman. I hit it at the range and one round at the course and it was horrible for my swing. Not a bad club, but not for me. the club face was just too big. I took it back and tried everything from the TM R7, Ping G5, G2, Nike Sasquatch, R5 Dual, R580xd, and R540. The King Cobra 400 was definitely the best for my swing. I tried so hard to buy the R7 because of the look and name, but the results didn't lie. I usually average about 200 with my driver(only 1 month into the game so im not very good) with a very hard slice about 50% of the time. With the King Cobra I was hitting 240-250 consistently down the fairway. Even mis hits were playable. The r7 is a solid club also, just not for me. The G5 was a really nice club for such a big face, but not as forgiving as the KC. Perfect club for a beginner. Now I just need to work on my swing to get to about 275!! Highly recommend for the new golfer who hasn't perfected his swing.

Customer Service

Great! The first salesman wasn't much help, but the second let me return the used, scratched club and really helped me with my purchase. He almost "forced me" to buy the King Cobra!

Similar Products Used: TM R7, R5 Dual, R580XD, R540, Ping G2, G5, Nike Sasquatch, Nickent Trimax460, Nickent Cross, Nickent 3DX, Cleveland Launcher
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
boomin_barber   Shoots in the 80s [Jul 27, 2005]
Model Reviewed: Cobra SZ400

Like farrety said people say alot of things when you out drive them by 20 yards. People i play with all give me stickk for playing an "Old man" club but im still in the fairway further down than they ever are. And for £99 bargin to the max

Customer Service

Not needed

Similar Products Used: Taylormade R510 Titelist 975J
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
scottcpfs   Shoots in the 100s [May 06, 2005]
Model Reviewed: SZ400

Bought this driver and had it for 1 year. I LOVE IT! It is very forgiving and long. I have dropped 10-15 strokes in past year due to having more distance off the tee and hitting short irons into greens instead of long irons. Had nasty slice but have now developed a slight draw and/or a straight ball. Great driver and nicely priced.

Customer Service

not used

Similar Products Used: Taylor Made 540XD
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
neonbreon   Shoots in the 90s [Feb 05, 2005]
Model Reviewed: Cobra 400SZ

I like this driver alot. I had the Cobra 427 prior to and was able to swap it for this because I bought the 427 used and swapped for the SZ used and paid the difference. A couple of the things I like about this driver: 1) Very large forgiving sweet spot, 2) The ball trampolines off the spot extremely well, 3) fairly easy to keep a slice down to a nice "baby fade", 4) Easy to hit a draw that does not turn into a viscious hook, 5) not so large that you feel you are swinging a VW Bug at the end of a golf shaft. I do not have the greatest swing speed (my guess is around 95 - right now if I go faster I loose control), so the stock Aldila Tour R stock shaft mid kick is actually pretty right for me. It is slightly more stiff than most regular shafts. As I speed up my swing try to maintain consistancy, I will probably swap it for the stiff. Some with higher swing speeds find this reg flex stock shaft a bit whippy, but it helps me keep it 235-265 for most of my drives. If you have a faster swing I would recommend the stiff, or a aftermarket shaft. I have a 975 J-VS with a Garralloy which I like, but I hit this further and more consistant, I have hit the Callaway Hawk Eye, which I liked, I have hit the Taylor 580 & 580XD which I liked but both took some getting used to, I hit the Cleveland 460 which I thought would be too big for me (like the 427 was, and the 440 SZ is) but was pleasantly surprised. I have to say that this is still the driver for me, and took me into the 90's after less than 18 months. For those looking into breaking into the 90s, I would definately recommend this club, and to try the Cleveland 460. I personnaly am very happy with it.

Customer Service

Have not had to contact them.

Similar Products Used: Cobra 350, 380, 427, SZ 440, Callaway Hawk Eye VFT, Taylor Made 580, 580XD, Cleveland 460, Titleist 975 J-VS
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
golfer_ray   Shoots in the 90s [Jul 08, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Cobra SZ 400 9 Deg Stiff

Well, if you've read the reviews on this site, Golf Magazine, and other sites, it is very true that this club hits very high. And I tend to be a high ball hitter. However, in the winds of Oklahoma, I have had my best drives if the wind is with me or if I even have a crosswind. I've gained at least 10 yards. Against a +10 mph wind, I use the 13 degree 3 wood, which doesn't necessarily hit the ball that much farther, but very straight. I've played the Taylor Made 540XD, and didn't like the feel of the clubhead at impact (too tinny). And I also played the 983K, but the Cobra is definitely more forgiving and just as long. I am a "club ho" that has bought and sold a lot of drivers on ebay, but this club is in my bag until at least the 2005 models come out. I will add that I am 47 years old, 6'3", with a driver swing speed about 90 mph, and with this driver I drive the ball about 230-240 yards. A quality driver at a reasonable price.

Customer Service

No experience

Similar Products Used: Ha! Titleist 983K, Taylor Made 540XD, Zevo Compressor and seriously, name it and I've probably tried it!
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 13  

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com