Cobra Baffler Mulit-Metal Irons

Baffler Mulit-Metal

From Cobra Golf: "Baffler Multi-Metal Irons are widely versatile utility clubs, designed to serve multiple game functions. Commonly referred to as hybrid clubs, the Cobra Baffler Multi-Metal Irons are marked by their progressive, sleek design; their hollow, multi-metal heads; and their performance attributes that combine the best of long iron design with the best of higher-lofted fairway metals. With lofts ranging from 18° to 24°, Baffler Multi-Metal Irons function as long and accurate fairway clubs. Their "lift-friendly" playing features include a lower and deeper center of gravity that promotes higher-launching and longer-carrying shots from 175-225 yards with a high, soft ball flight."

User Reviews (13)

Showing 1-10 of 13  
Janjuc   Shoots in the 70s [Oct 28, 2007]
Model Reviewed: King Cobra Multi-Metal Baffler

I have been using the 20* and the 24* for ~7 years now, they look clean from setup and have minimal offset. I replaced the stock shafts with Rifle 5.5's and that change made them better.
I have tried Taylor Made, Adams and a plethora of 'wood style' hybrids with poor success. I have not yet been able to find a hybrid/rescue club to be their equal and I always seem to return to these irons to replace my #3 and #4 irons with regularity.
If you can find one I do not think that the club will disappoint you. The most recent club that comes close is the Titleist 503H, but this club is offset, which I personally do not like.
Overall for me a great club

Customer Service

No experience

Similar Products Used: Titleist 503H
Adams Idea
Taylor Made Rescue Mid
Ping G5
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
kjones   Shoots in the 90s [Sep 24, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Cobra 18 degree

Further to my previous review. After a few rounds this club has become one of the most useful clubs in my bag. 18 degree baffler hits as far (if not farther) than my fairway wood and is better out of the rough. As mentioned previously, makes a very good driving iron. Attractive for a hybrid - not too much offset. If you can find one 2nd hand try it out. Also very reasonable (although I didn't pay for mine as i swapped my 22 degree for the 18 ). However, while bafflers can be found, in my experience the 18 degree version is difficult to find. Thinking of reshafting from True Temper R300 to Rifle for a little higher ball flight.

Customer Service

N.A.

Similar Products Used: Taylor Made Rescue (1st generation), Adams, Mizuno Fli-Hi (very good but much more expensive).
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
kjones   Shoots in the 90s [Sep 19, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Cobra Multimetal Baffler (18 degree)

Although this model has been discontinued, it can be found second-hand for good prices. With True Temper Dynamic Gold (R300) shaft, this is an EXCELLENT driving iron. However, as this shaft keeps the ball pretty low (for my level of play), fairway shots are not as high as they should be for an 18 degree head. Cobra makes very good clubs - love the SS 350 driver.

Customer Service

Not applicable

Similar Products Used: TM Rescue (1st generation) - didn't like
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Janjuc   Shoots in the 80s [Oct 12, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Cobra Baffler Mulit/Metal Iron

Bought the 20° model after using the 24° model for a few months. Find them to be very forgiving, especially from the rough. No longer carry 3 or 4 iron or #5 Wood, as I can use the Baffler instead, and are a lot easier to hit than the long irons. Can recommend them to anyone looking to find an iron that will replace their long irons, if they are a problem.

Customer Service

Good, measured club speed, grip size, and length of shaft.

Similar Products Used: Taylor Made Rescue
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Janjuc   Shoots in the 80s [Jul 07, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Cobra Baffler MultiMetal

Bought 24* model, use it instead of 3 & 4 iron, and out of short and medium rough. It gets the ball up quickly and has good distance and is easy to hit. On the fairway I can hit it 170-180 metres, and from poor lies ~ 160 metres. Am looking at 20* model to use as a long iron, driving iron option.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
john   Shoots in the 90s [Jun 30, 2003]
Model Reviewed: cobra baffler

This is one great club to have in your bag .Off the tee or fairway its a winner

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
carl hill   Shoots in the 80s [May 03, 2003]
Model Reviewed: cobra baffler

last year tried out some of the other utility irons at the golf show, the baffler caught my eye simipily because of its good looks compared to the others. i bought the 20* graphite club that happen to come on sale for $99.00 cdn (roughtly $70.00 u.s.). this club is my favorite for hitting off the fairway, as with most its replaced my 5 wood, and it is now also my driving iron off the tee. i like this club so much i bought a 24* steel shaft which i use to replace my 7 wood. this i use more as a 'rescue' club hitting mostly from the rough, although i do use it from the fairway for a high 4 iron length shot. so in my option if you're weaker with your long irons and want a club that's (at least in my case) more forgiving than a fairway wood, this maybe the club for you.

Customer Service

none

Similar Products Used: did have a 20* taylor made rescue knock off (gave to daughter)
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
A D   Shoot in the 100s [Feb 22, 2001]
Model Reviewed: 20degree w/ultralight graphite shaft

I am a relatively new golfer, and am hitting my irons extremely well. Straight and consistant. Same cant be said my woods.

The Cobra has been an awesome addition to my bag. The 20degree is roughly a 5wood replacement, and it is damned straight. The tragetory is agressive, and I find it about as easy to hit as a 4 iron.

I'd definetly recommend this to anyone who hates hitting a wood, or wants a more reliable tee-shot.

Similar Products Used: alien ultimate driving iron
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
matt   Shoot in the 80s [Feb 20, 2001]
Model Reviewed: 20 DegreeSteel Shaft (F)

great club. gives confidence at address. not too bulky like Rescue club felt. chose 20 degree so i could drop 5 wood, 3 and 4 iron all in on shot. gives me more accuracy from that distance which is my weakness. great buy.

Customer Service

Golf Bargains are the best for competitive pricing. plus no tax and no shipping if over $100. took 5 days to get to my house.

Similar Products Used: Rescue. Orlimar 13 and 17.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
John K.   Shoot in the 80s [Feb 05, 2001]
Model Reviewed: 20 deg, steel shaft

I was looking for a 2 iron/5 wood replacement. This club definitely fits. It is an extremely easy club to hit and is as accurate as a 5 iron with the distance of a 2 iron (215 yds). I find this club easier to hit than the Taylor Made Rescue and shallow face woods such as the Orlimar Trimetal +. It is the perfect combination of the distance of a fairway wood and the control and accuracy of an iron. However, I do not use other Cobra products.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 13  

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com