Cobra FP Irons

Available At:
FP

irons

User Reviews (19)

Showing 1-10 of 19  
chardylo   Shoots in the 70s [May 10, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Cobra FP irons

I will start by saying over the last 12 months I have gone through 6 sets of irons (No, I am not kidding). I have purchased (not in actual order) Taylormade r7, r7 Draw,Callaway X-20, X-20 Pro Series, X-16 Pro Series and yes even Ping G5's. I knew my swing was out of whack, but could not figure out why. I will not say these clubs fixed my swing, because no club can do that. I had trouble getting the ball in the air, so went from stiff steel shafts to still graphite shafts, then to regular graphite shafts and then back to regular steel shafts. As my swing got much better the reg. steel was too whippy. I stopped by a local Dicks Sporting goods and they had the FP's on sale for $299. I hit them on their monitor and decided to pull the trigger and get them. That weekend I played a round and was striking the ball like old times. The combination of the Nippon Steel shafts and this head gave me a penetrating ball flight, not too high and not too low. I am finally back in my happy place and these will stay in my bag for a while!!!!!

Customer Service

Not used yet

Similar Products Used: Taylormade, Callaway, Ping,
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
DJ   Shoots in the 100s [Apr 20, 2010]
Model Reviewed: cobra fp irons

Greates set of irons i have ever used. I normally cant hit a 4 iron but with these i hit the 4 iron great

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
GolfDawg16   Shoots in the 80s [Sep 09, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Cobra FP

Without a doubt one of the best set of irons on the market today. Just played a second round with my new FP's at Stone Creek CC ini Valdosta, GA and the second time around is even better. Shot a 79 on my first 18 approaching dark. It was if the clubs knew where the flag was. I hit a couple of off center and the ball seemed to track back toward the pin every time. On my last hole I was 122 yards from the pin in darkness, used an old ball with water on the right, could not see the flag. Pulled the 9 iron and took a swipe. After what seemed an eternity I heard the "thump" of the ball landing on the green. Got down to the green and found the ball eight feet from the flag.
Fantastic clubs! Well worth the $349, especially with the graphite shafts. Picked up the Lob Wedge also but having trouble finding a Sand Wedge.

One of the best set of irons I have ever played.

Similar Products Used: Wilson DI-7, Ping G-5, Cleveland CG Golds, Cobra 3100
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Zach Cook   Shoots in the 70s [Jul 28, 2009]
Model Reviewed: cobra fp II

I would definately buy these irons!!!!!! The feel is so good and these irons are so smooth. I would say better than callaway and titleist combined. Previous clubs were titleist 962 and callaway x-22 and cobra fp's beat them all!

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
rkohli   Shoots in the 80s [Apr 29, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Cobra FP

Have played with Steel Stiff Shafts before switching to this set when I decided to shift to graphite regular.
Picked up this set on eBay and was surprised by the feel of this club. It is forgiving and yet give you the feedback and softness of the Mizuno.
I have knocked of 2 strokes since I started using these clubs and should knock off another couple in a months time (if my putting holds).
These are mid handicap irons and do their job extremely well. My 7 iron gives me a consistent 140-150 yards carry with a Bridgestone 330r or Titleist ProV1x.
Best set of irons for their price.

Similar Products Used: Ping Eye2 (S), Mizuno MP32 (S), Titleist 755 (R) all steel Shafts

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
brent   Shoots in the 80s [Apr 03, 2009]
Model Reviewed: cobra fp ii

TRUUUUUST ME PEOPLE-GET THESE IRONS, HURRY DONT WAIT, GO GET THEM NOW. ive tried alote of brands. i had those titleist ap1's and they didnt feel this good. They actually were so bad i sold them. I did some major thinking and research before i got thes cobra fp's and man im so happy. So soft feeling, effortless distance. Im telling you, im picky and for me to like these means alote. GO GET THEM, YOU WONT REGRET IT, I PROMISE

Customer Service

DONTKNOW

Similar Products Used: TITLEIST, ADAMS, CALLAWAY, TAYLORMADE
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
TRYFE TREADWELL   Shoots in the 90s [Feb 18, 2009]
Model Reviewed: COBRA FP

Just got a set of the cobra fp irons(have played callaway x-18,mizuno mx 17 and 19's,cleveland irons)and I must say that they are not only game improvement but look very,very traditional.The shafts in these clubs are unbeatable(nippon regular)These clubs are about the same distance as the callaways but feel so much "sweeter".Got them for 399.00 at local golf shop.Try them and you will see!!

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
TOM ANDERSON   Shoots in the 90s [Jan 13, 2009]
Model Reviewed: king cobra 2008 fp irons

Got my cobra irons a few days ago and they are amazing! these irons are not just game improvement irons they are also playability irons, i could shape these irons as good as my last irons which were players irons which i didnt get on with!. played a round today at my local golf club and shot 90 my best ever score!!! i came up to a par 3 where i had to use my 7 iron and omg i couldnt believe the spin i got off my iron, the ball stopped dead 8 feet away from the pin and i made a birdie. if your looking for game improvement irons with playability then get these they are fantastic!

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
JaapU   Shoots in the 90s [Sep 19, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Cobra FP

I own a set of Cobra's 3100 I/H I bought as a shop's demo-set when I started playing seriously two years ago. As time brings new developments I thought it was a good idea to have a look into the new irons, so I went for a fitting session to try out a bunch of newbies and compare with my own 3100's. The only cadidate not available for testing was Taylormade, but they are pricy so not really on my wish list.
After warming up with my own 6-iron I hit several balls on the launch monitor with each club. Later I could compare my feel with the results. Definite no-go's were the Wilson Ci7 (no feeling, balls all over the place). The Callaway X-20 felt good, slightly heavier than my Cobra but ball flight and distance were good. The Ping G10 was not my club, pushed most shots to the right and the feedback was a bit dead. Apart from that they look terrible with a tacky orange shaft and rather plump head, but this is off course secondary to performance.
I already knew I could not hit the Mizuno MX-25 and I did not like the MX-17's so I skipped Mizuno to move on to the Cobra FP 2008. Slightly heavier feel than my old 3100's but for me it was by far the best club. Very consistant distance and minimal spread in direction. Ball flight was slightly lower than the Callaway X-20. Good feel and as a bonus nice looks, an improvement compared to the older Cobra designs.
Just to make sure I also tested the S9 but for some reason I had more trouble hitting these than the FP although they are supposed to be easier to hit. Strangely enough I had the same experience with the 3400 X/H three years ago when both sets were available for sale as demo-sets.
I will therefore exchange my 3100 i/h for a set of Cobra FP's with the Aldila graphite shafts. The fitting also showe me to be a very standard type of person (length, lie, grip) so shopping should not prove difficult.

Customer Service

Never used them, my old Cobra's are doing well

Similar Products Used: Cobra 3100 i/h
Cobra 3400 i/h
Callaway X-20, X-16
Mizuno MX-25, MX-17, MX-57 (I could at least try couldn't I?)
Wilson Ci6
Cobra S9
Ping G-10
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
jonah96   Shoots in the 90s [Jul 06, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Cobra FP Irons

I just got back into golf after a 20-year hiatus (I'm now 39, having not played virtually at all since high school). Wanting to pick up an iron set that wouldn't totally discourage me (like a tour-quality set of irons would) yet still allow me a little room for growth as I play more and presumably improve the consistency of my swing (i.e., a compromise between forgiveness and playability), I set out looking at iron sets in the Taylormade r7 draw range (about $400/set). After having my swing analyzed and several hours at the range testing TM's RAC OS2 & the r7 Draw, as well as comparable clubs from Nike and Ping, the club pro who was helping me with a custom fitting handed me an FP 6-iron and it was all over. After a couple of adjustment mis-hits (I never realized how much of a difference club changes could make), I started absolutely pummeling the ball, hitting the 6-iron an average of 20 yards further than all of the other 6-irons I tried (went from an avg of 170 yds to 190). Even more impressive to me was that my trademark fade vaporized. In short, I was hitting it long and straight (in between the typical hacker shanks, wormburners and pushes, of course).

Perhaps most appealing to me, however, was the sound made on contact. Unlike any of the other clubs I tried, there was a distinct difference in sound between sweet spot hits and mis-hits; my mis-hits made a deep "clunk" on impact, while my sweet spot hits made a thin "click" sound. Yes, I understand that this difference in sound (and feel) is true of virtually any club. However, this sound distinction is far more pronounced with the FPs. While I could imagine someone not wanting to hear their mis-hits, you cannot imagine the value of such audible feedback as an amateur. While on the range, it allows me to tinker with my swing, making microadjustments, and then literally hear the results. In fact, the sound between the two is so distinctly different that I didn't even have to look up when hearing a thin "click." I knew it was long and straight. Awesome.

One other thought before I run. When I set out looking for clubs several weeks ago, I read everything I could find online, including countless reviews here at golfreview.com. Just last week, I had settled on either the RAC OS2's or r7 Draws, having tested them on my own and being convinced by the very positive reviews and spec descriptions on the TM website. However, for some reason, I decided at the last minute to pay for a custom fitting and it proved to be the best $50 I could have spent. While I have no doubt either of those clubs would have served me well, it's as if someone made these FPs just for me and my swing.

The moral of the story is this: I'm certainly no expert, but based on my experience, if you're looking at buying a higher-quality iron set beyond your basic starter set for $200, pay for a custom fitting. Each golfer is different - handicap, swing plane, club speed, etc - so what works for one player really well may be terrible for another. Try every different 6-iron model you can get your hands on and I'm convinced you'll eventually find the one that is best for you. Good luck and happy hitting.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 19  

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com