Cobra King Cobra II Irons

King Cobra II

User Reviews (70)

Showing 1-10 of 70  
Michael W.   Shoots in the 100s [May 06, 2015]
Model Reviewed: King Cobra 2 Senior Irons

I recently received these clubs as hand-me-downs from my grandpa. Unexpected results. These clubs are great. I am only 13 and I shoot 145 with an 8 iron. I love them.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
spencer   Shoots in the 80s [Apr 05, 2009]
Model Reviewed: King Cobra 2 Oversize irons

Iv'e been playing for 20 years now,having started at 13 with Brosnan Imperials i purchased the King Cobra 2 Oversive irons for $350 off a mate,5 or 6 years ago.They have taken my golf to a handicap of 15 and produced some sub 80's rounds.I have found them to be extremeley forgiving on off centre strikes,usually causing the shot to go higher and spin off,droping only 10-20 mtrs from your intended target rather than blowing out alot further.Having a reasonably thin sole makes it easy to get a clean pick off the turf, especially kikuyu,rather than hitting it fat.I am only now finding that i am looking for more feel and shot making ability from a more blade style iron.These clubs are accurate, but the trade off for oversize clubs compared to blade style is accuracy versus forgiveness. I would reccomend these clubs to any begginer or intermediate player to about a 15 handicap.

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
wesley russell   Shoots in the 100s [Aug 10, 2008]
Model Reviewed: cobra 2s

I was used to my ol top flites but i could not hit the hybrids. I got the king cobras for christmas i love the new clubs the irons added 10 yds to my distanse

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
rogerk   Shoots in the 90s [Aug 06, 2008]
Model Reviewed: King Cobra II Oversized Irons

Love these irons. Were given to me from a friend who has them left at his hotel for several years. After calling the owner, he said to keep them. I played with a set of ping knock-off's before that I've had since I was 13 (11 years ago). I was playing my irons pretty decently and was skeptical about switching to these new ones (since I hit my old ones decently).
I decided to make the switch and just go for it for a round.
...played the round of my life!
I got a feel for the club distances that were about 10-15yds further than my previous irons.
One thing I have to say is that even on mis-hits, they go 90-100% of the distance they should. I hit an 8-iron last time out (about 130yds for me). Even though the shot didn't look right (trajectory), it still went the same distance and landed me on the green.
Sometimes your shots don't have to look pretty to work. These irons have been super forgiving and are playing very well for me... I love 'em.

I'm giving it a 4 rather than 5 because there's always got to be room for a higher score. Being that these were hand-me-downs, there's likely to be an even better set out there custom-made for me. ...I'm not worried about looking for that set though since I'm loving every round with these irons!

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
Tim W   Shoots in the 80s [Jun 04, 2008]
Model Reviewed: King Cobra II Oversized Irons

I started playing golf when I was young, about 12 years old. After playing with a junior set and subpar irons for 5 years I was lucky enough to be handed down these irons from a family friend. Needless to say they didn't dissapoint. I Winn gripped my clubs (and the friends for the favor) and absolutely love the feel. 3-PW and I can feel and control the ball on every iron, as stated previously the club head isn't too large or too small just perfect for me (5'11"), the club head is weighted just enough at the bottom of the shaft to get a great feel and solid contact with the ball. I was never the best iron player, but these irons led to more accurate shots and some better trajectory and the ball actually "checking up" on the greens. Took about 2 years off from the game, went out and picked up my bag and I still hit the irons like it was yesterday. Still shot an 85 on a subpar course, a lot of that was due to my iron play and short game....still have to "iron" out the details with the longball and finding a driver. Guess what brand i'm looking at? King Cobra because they make such quality products.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Zach   Shoots in the 80s [Nov 20, 2007]
Model Reviewed: King Cobra II Over Sized

I usually just play little short 9 hold course; par 27. I'm awful at golf, but love, and usually average in the low 40's. Since getting these clubs from craigslist for fifty bucks, I've hit a 33 twice. Excellent all around; I'm new but can certainly tell the difference from the dunlops and allieds I was using.

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used: Dunlop, Orlimar, Allied, Lynx
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
nate shaw   Shoots in the 90s [Mar 26, 2007]
Model Reviewed: king cobra 2 oversized

OMFG... after playing for a couple years with a set of dunlop irons...i traded them in for a set of fila's? yeah I know fila make golf clubs! anyway they hit slightly better then my dunlops so I was happy. I'm not a great golfer by any means ...if I break 100 I think I did good...I recntly bought the king cobra II oversize irons at global golf for about $100 dollars. the first time I played with them... I could tell a huge differance. the first hole i was laying aboyut 165 from the pin after my drive...with the fila's or dunlops that would be at least a four or five iron(I have never hit my irons well)... i pulled out the 8 to lay up, since I loose control on lower Irons and smashed the ball 15' over the green with an 8 iron! after that and a few holes of adjusting my new iron distance....I was smashing the cobra three iron as far as I could hit my 3 wood...(which is a sad 175 to 200 yards) it took some time to get the feel for the pitching wedge and 9 iron but after that I was for the first time hitting irons with a lot of power. I shot a 94 then the next round shot a 85...nothing has chaged but my irons...I love them! I played nine this moring par was 34 I shot a 36! a must buy if you can find them at a good price!

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
jsggill   Shoots in the 80s [Oct 14, 2006]
Model Reviewed: King Cobra II Oversize

I bought these irons brand new a few years back and I did not use them for a few years as I decided to try some newer irons. After starting this season poorly I decided to try these irons again. My scores had drifted from regularly shooting in the mid 80's to shooting in the mid 90's. Part of this was due to me playing less, but I also felt the irons I was using were not performing up to par.
All I can say that these irons were way ahead of their time. After a few hits I had to shake my head and wonder why I put them away. If you are looking for irons that hit the ball high and long look no further. I feel the heads are perfectly sized, not too big and not too small. They are weighted head heavy and so you can feel the club swing. When you connect with the ball just watch it take off.
I have tried alot of new irons over the past few years, from Taylor Made (expensive) to Powerbilt (cheaper). For some reason these old Cobras performed better than all.
I am glad I did not dispose of these irons as I am having fun playing again.

Customer Service

Not used.

Similar Products Used: Wilson Deep Red II, Top Flite Tour II, Taylor Made RAC, Powerbilt TPS 7.0, Cobra 3400, and others
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
ZachariahLee   Shoots in the 80s [Mar 02, 2004]
Model Reviewed: King Cobra II Irons

I won't say that these irons are friendly even with a bad shot, but I will say that when you strike a ball accuratly these clubs will hang with or out perform any club in the market. My set is 0 offset which may be the reason for no forgiveness though. The hump shaft being a little heavier at the bottom does help me to "feel" the clubhead at every moment in my swing! Over all I love it!!!

Similar Products Used: Cobra Gravity Back, Mizuno t-zoid irons.
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
gilesu   Shoots in the 90s [May 02, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Cobra SSi irons

I bought the Cobras yesterday lunchtime and played my ever best round of golf in the afternoon. I played four under my handicap. These are superb, very easy to use irons. They promote a very smooth swing and hit beautifully straigt and long. I can't wait to play them again tomorrow and knock another four off!

Customer Service

Unknown

Similar Products Used: Taylor Made 200's, Mizuno MX20
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 70  

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com