Cobra S9 Irons

Available At:
S9

Cobra S9 Irons

We can’t say it enough: These are the most technologically advanced, most forgiving irons Cobra has ever made. Featuring their new game-changing, multi-material iron technology, the S9 Irons have higher inertia qualities and an extremely low and back Center of Gravity (CG) for high launch, greater distance and more accuracy. The multi-material technology includes a wide sole, polymer topline and urethane insert for softer feel. To sum it up, these irons are a huge advancement in advancing your game.

* Wide Sole, Low Profile, Undercut Cavity - Extreme low, back CG and high MOI for high launch, greater distance and maximum forgiveness.
* Polymer Topline - Extreme low, back CG and vibration dampening.
* Back Cavity Plate, Urethane Insert - Vibration dampening, softer feel.
* Premium Graphite Design Ys - 5.1 or Nippon N.S. Pro Shafts - Higher launch, greater control and accuracy.

User Reviews (44)

Showing 1-10 of 44  
Gazza   Shoots in the 90s [May 30, 2016]
Model Reviewed: cobra S9 irons light flex graphite

Well I have played 4 rounds now and slowly getting my distances . Nice feel and sound to these irons . They fairly spring off the face and have a nice high ball flight. I think the Callaway x12 and x14 are easier to hit.

Customer Service

Not used

Similar Products Used: Too many to list but these Cobra's stand up well against the rest.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
Mark F   Shoots in the 80s [Jul 20, 2014]
Model Reviewed: S9

For a "ultra game improvement" iron these have found their way into my bag. I had back surgery in 2010 and I had to make some switches in the bag. I had to shelf my Adams Idea Pro irons and my Titleist. 1st switch was to Regular shafts in my irons. 2nd was switching from steel to graphite and I haven't looked back. I know what decent golfer uses graphite shafts right? This guy, and without any thought of switching back to steel any time soon. I love the much lighter shafts as well. These irons swing effortlessly with these shafts. This irons have a large sweet-spot as advertised. They are not near as workable as blades or players clubs admittedly. However, they ARE WORKABLE, they are responsive. They are not as responsive as Mizuno forged irons or most any forged irons so if you need that sort of workability these aren't for you. But if you want to hit it straight and even if you mishit the ball on occasion but want great results then try these cobra irons out. What sold me on these irons was the feedback. Altho even mishit shots go straight and long, when you hit them flush you know it. The sound is also nice when centered on club face. They are sorta flashy but nothing extreme. The YS-5.1 shafts are pretty nice for stock graphite. In fact I was surprised because I had bad luck with Graphite Designs YS driver and wood shafts so I was leery. I am borderline stiff/reg but I'm glad I dropped down to regular shafts in these irons. I have always hit an 8 iron right at 150 yards and I was afraid I would lose all my distance control computer brain settings. Astonishingly I now hit my 8 iron around 155 yds, I lost no distance and gained control. Maybe I should have switched earlier altho my swing speed has dropped from 96-99mph with irons down to 88-92mph due to the bad back and surgery. 1st set of Cobra irons and I am very very pleased thus far. As my game shakes off the rust from time off from back surgery I may have actually benefited in some aspects. I probably would have never tried an Ultra Game Improvement iron like these. They are great irons with a higher launch than some may like but if you need a little help elevating the ball I recommend them and the GD YS 5.1 shafts as well. Well played Cobra, I looked these up on the Maltby Playability Factor or MPF and they were very high like 980 or so. That is just a formula used to help identify and categorize irons and the their forgiveness and such..Callaway and Maltby irons are definitely favored by this MPF system but to see these irons rated high was not surprising. I would say they are a touch marginally bigger than say a midsize iron but not much. They are in fact appealing at address and don't feel big like most Callaways or other game improvement irons. Well done Cobra, note the irons I am referring to are the 2007 version with less RED than the newer 2008 version. I hit both and preferred these. They were selected over Adams, Callaway, Tour Edge Exotics(barely I liked them a lot too), Clevelands etc...

Customer Service

none needed

Similar Products Used: Adams Idea Pro, Titleist 962, Bridgestone, Zevo Fly-Ti, Cleveland TA-5 & Vas 792, Mizuno MP-60 & MX-17, Ping Zing & I3 the lot
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
Terry Bell   Shoots in the 80s [Feb 28, 2013]
Model Reviewed: Cobra S9

After reading all the positive and glowing reports on these irons, I purchased a set off E Bay for around $400.00, what a letdown! Tinny, awful feeling irons. Oh, and they don't go very far either, not nearly as forgiving or long as my old Cleveland TA5's, both with R shafts in graphite.

Lately I've considered buying another set of Cobra's, the S3 hybrid set, but the S9's stick in my mind and I don't think I'm going to be able to purchase them, pay a bit more and buy Taylormades new Rocketbladz irons I think.

Customer Service

Never called.

Similar Products Used: Cleveland TA 5, Ping G10, Adams hybrid set
OVERALL
RATING
1
Value
RATING
1
Available At:
RR Matthews   Shoots in the 80s [Jul 24, 2012]
Model Reviewed: Cobra S9 w/ graphite shafts

Right away I noticed distance by about 10 yards on all clubs. I also noticed no sting in hands on any shots. You can shape shots like the high draw if you have the talent to do so. This is a easy swinging , light to increase swing speed and good hitting iron. I am not sure you can improve this with all the models that come out each year. They are getting like cars, trying to change something to call it new to drive sales. I say leave this one alone and reproduce it for seniors or anyone who is losing muscle mass due to aging and that can be after 40. It has taught me that I will select grapite shafts again, in regular with a cavity back club like the s9 . Plenty of these still out there for sale , like ebaby, amazon, or golfsmith. Hoep you try these, you want be sorry and you can pick up a set for less than 300.
carolina golfer.

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
Mully   Shoots in the 80s [May 01, 2012]
Model Reviewed: cobra s9

im a decent hacker on a budget. with that said, i bought the set used on ebay when i was in college, and started golfing on my off days. these clubs were good. the distance on off center hits (which were very common) were good. i found i got a lot of spin from the lower irons, and were able to get the ball in the air with the longer irons with ease. since buying a set of cg16 irons from a demo day and getting fitted, i highly recommend going that route. but, if you were like me, who is upgrading your big 5 brand clubs, i highly recommend these. then when you get good enough, go get fitted and itll help you out a ton. i went from shooting high 80's low 90's to low 80's consistently, even breaking it a few times.

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
Barmeym   Shoots in the 80s [Aug 23, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Cobra S9

I have owned these irons, 5 - SW ns pro r shafts, for the last 4 years. I was just 13 at the time and were just perfect for me as I was just starting to play some proper scoring golf.
These irons just like to have a medium to high draw all day long. However you hit them, be it off the grass like a fairway wood or a decent divot, this is the shape that you will get.
Bad miss hits will tend to lose this shale but still go the correct distance, this is where I believe the perceived "forgiveness" comes in. The distances are all fairly similar, as opposed to blades which a miss hit will cost you on distance.
As I have mentioned these irons were great for starting off however, as my ball striking has improved I have looked for something with a more traditional shape and feel. I personally now find the address view on the 5 iron uninspiring with its large offset and shallow but long face. In my latter days with these irons I began to develop a large draw with the longer irons that was more of a hinderance. I have very recently bought a set of titleist 695cb's and am playing my best golf ever, shot a 76 the other day, and would highly recommend to anyone wanting to improve regardless of handicap.
In conclusion I believe that these are a fantastic set for anyone who is just starting out or for whom ball striking with irons is not a strong point as they get the ball up in the air and are fairly confidence inspiring. However for anyone wanting to move on to the next stage I would recommend a set of more traditional irons such as the mp-57's etc

Customer Service

Not used

Similar Products Used: Cobra FP - not as easy to hit but not very controllable either :(
TM RAC TP - very nice forged cavity iron, nice ballflight :)
Titleist 695CB - lovely :) :)
Mizuno MP-67 - not as hard as expected to hit, nice feel
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
Jason   Shoots in the 70s [Jul 27, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Cobra S-9 Irons

These are the best set of irons that I have ever had. I had the Cobra SSi Irons before I bought these. I didn't like the shafts or grips, so I upgraded to graphite shafts and golfpride grips. My distance has increased by an average of 20 yards per club. I have and always will be a Cobra Golfer for life! Great equipment and will always stack up to the Taylor Mades, Calloways, Titleists, and Nikes of the industry.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Chaz Chevalier   Shoots in the 70s [Feb 01, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Cobra s9 Irons

I'm 19 years old and I've had thee clubs for two years now, and I must say they are the best clubs I've ever used. I used to hit my pitching wedge 130, but with these I hit it 155. They increased my distance drastically. I also bought the 3 iron separately and love it! All in all worth every penny!

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
mike   Shoots in the 80s [Aug 28, 2009]
Model Reviewed: cobra s9 II

I had Cleveland CG Golds, then hit these and realized what I was missing. Have the Nippon NS Pro steel shaft and hit them 15-20 yards further each! Crisp feel, and few mis-hits. Every well struck ball is a high draw, and can get over tall pines with ease even with a 6 iron. Recommended for ALL skill levels. These are money.

Similar Products Used: NONE, These are AMAZING.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
fzayas   Shoots in the 80s [May 26, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Cobra S9

I just switched from Titleist AP1 irons to the S9. I was very happy with the AP1's but I wanted to change from steel to graphite shafts. While I was trying the AP1 graphites, I decided to pick up another set to compare them to and my eye fell on the Cobras. When I hit them, they felt great. I went through the set of both and found that I hit the S9 long irons much easier and better than the AP1's and that's what tipped the scale for me. The AP1's are supposedly more workable and the S9's more forgiving.

I've played 4 rounds now with the S9's and have found that, yes, they are extremely forgiving, but I can also work the ball well enough. They are extremely accurate, especially the Gap Wedge. The ball is laser-guided when I hit it with that thing.

I especially like the buttery feel of hitting these irons. Catch it pure on thee sweet spot, and you don't even hear the ball. My playing partners have commented several times that they thought I just took a practice stroke, and didn't know I had played my shot already.

I also see a very noticeable gain in distance. I expected a little due to switching to the graphite shafts. But I’m about a club and a half longer now.

My only negative is in chipping, my AP1's were better. These clubs feel very light to me so I am having to get used to that when chipping, but I know I will with practice, so no biggie.

I also have to mention that these are very attractive looking clubs. Very beautifully designed and they instill confidence at set-up. I also like that the club face has that circular marking that helps you easily line the ball up for a sweet hit.

For my handicap, I was advised that I didn't need this level of game improvement irons, but the heck with that. I love these clubs!

Similar Products Used: Titleist AP1, Taylormade R7, Callaway X18, Wilson Di7
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 44  

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com