Cobra Trusty Rusty Wedges

Available At:
Trusty Rusty

Cobra Trusty Rusty Black CC Wedge Featuring specialty alloys that rust over time, the traditionally-shaped Cobra Trusty Rusty Black CC Wedge offers versatility and shot making. The specialty finish promotes maximum allowable spin and enhanced feel with a non-plated finish that rust over time, allowing you the shot-making capabilities you demand around the green. Additional features: Laser precision technology: features four distinct surface roughness grades that result in maximum allowable spin

User Reviews (62)

Showing 1-10 of 62  
Juicein LA   Shoots in the 100s [Jun 29, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Cobra Trust Rusty 59 degree Lob Wedge

This is the one lob wedge no hack golfer can live without. Rusty will perform for the handicapper and for the heavy handed hack, like myself, its like it senses your weakness and compensate. Perfectly weighted, it feels light and buoyant in even the tightest grip. Highly recommended!

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
BobBranch1   Shoots in the 80s [May 16, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Cobra Trusty Rusty 61 degree wedge

The 61 degree Trusty Rusty is the trustiest and by far the oldest clubs in my bag (older than my Titleist DCI 990 irons), and it will not leave until the wearing of its grooves sends it to a well-earned retirement. Low bounce and great feel make this my go-to club around the greens where I normally play. Note that where I play has firmer than average ground conditions. I also like my wedges to be simple looking at setup and 'light' feeling to my hands.

Customer Service

Never used

Similar Products Used: Cleveland 588, Vokey, Wilson
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
sharkhark   Shoots in the 80s [Dec 09, 2005]
Model Reviewed: 53,57,61

I bought this as a used set of 3. I had remembered the nice feel of them in stores years ago. I also knew they had an aggressive leading edge. Play with them for last 2 mths of CDN season was exceptional. I had nice wedges, but too much bounce. Very often would hit fat/thin etc. Just not comfortable. 1st round with these, my steep hit down on ball, swing, worked. Depending on your type of swing, maybe not for you. Many good reviews here, but some people not happy. But for me, very consistent contact, crisp feeling, unbelievable spin. I am tempted to buy a set of 3 as back up, just because they don't make (and probably never again) this exact type of wedge, by any manufacturer.

Customer Service

not used c/a

Similar Products Used: ben hogan riviera sw, maxfli revolution milled lob wedge (both soon destined for ebay) etc
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Toby91210   Shoots in the 80s [Nov 17, 2004]

I recently brougth a 61 degree lob wedge, i have tried to rust the wedge with water and water and salt but it is not rusting completly and leaves funny looking rust stops and some parts have not rusted at all! club has made big impact on short play, any information or help email s_side69@hotmail.com PLEASE HELP!!

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
3
bradji   Shoots in the 80s [Jun 28, 2002]
Model Reviewed: Trusty Rusty 61

Initially, I too, loved this club. While I am still a believer in its capabilities, I have come to recognize its limitations after about a year of playing with it. First the good: This club sets up very nicely to the ball. It has virtually no bounce which makes it easy to hit off of hard fairways, tight lies and heavy sand. It does get good spin too. With the scalloped back, you can really open up the face for a beautiful flop shot. Now, the not so good: Because it has little bounce, you can easily hit fat shots, especially on soft or wet fairways. Also, this leads to inconsistent distances out of heavy rough and really soft sand. In summary: As per the above descriptions, there are shots/courses that I play where this is definitely the club of choice. "Ol' Trusty" does well on most desert courses. However, if I am playing a course with heavy green side rough and/or soft sand and fairways, I opt to use my Vokey 60 wedge with more bounce. ›

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used: Vokey, Ping Eye2, Carbite, Armour¬
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
golfer309   Shoots in the 70s [Apr 27, 2002]
Model Reviewed: Cobra Trusty Rusty 55

Bought at Nevada Bob''''s on closeout. I had a set of Gravity Back Irons. The $250 Sams club special. I loved them and bought the Cobra wedge and dont regret it. I love this thing so much. This wedge in my opinion is one of the best wedges made. Had it for about 10 months and still spinning it back and nailing the pin. This along with lessons have put me in the 70''''s. The wedge is so accurate because it has no offest. Perfect club, will keep forever.

Customer Service

Asked them how much I could bend the loft and had me an answer very quick.

Similar Products Used: 588, Vokey, 900, Purespin, everything
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
enic   Shoots in the 80s [Feb 25, 2002]
Model Reviewed: 53 57 61

these are the greatest wedges i have every played with, and i''ve used them all. Clean picks (not thin) 99% of the time, extremely forgiving, extremely accurate and much more feel compared to the cleveland 588''s, 900''s, and titleist vokeys, making it really easy to gauge distance. Damn shame cobra discontinued the product. I''m taking really good care of mine.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
celt   [Jan 08, 2002]
Model Reviewed: Trusty rusty 55, 61
Strength:

None

I first gave this club a good review. However, after a summer of playing it, I can now see the shortfalls that led to its'' demise. Sharp leading edge tends to dig to deep on too many shots. This club spins the ball so much(most I have ever seen) it can be a problem with distance control. In addition, it eats balls alive! I found it great for short chips where you need to stop the ball on a dime, but it really is not that versatile otherwise. If you are looking for one, contact me, I have two in my closet now gathering dust!!

Customer Service

no experience

Similar Products Used: all major wedges.
OVERALL
RATING
3
Value
RATING
5
Kevin   Shoot in the 80s [Aug 16, 2001]
Model Reviewed: 53, 61 Degree

Great Wedges. I use both wedges for chip shots around the green. Carbon steel has gives great feedback from the clubhead. I use the 53 for 80-90 yard shots from the fairway. Nice high trajectory lands soft. Sharp leading edge will smile balls, but shots like that are my fault!

Customer Service

none

Similar Products Used: Wilson
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
hoags   Shoot in the 80s [Aug 16, 2001]
Model Reviewed: Trusty Rusty 55

This is a great wedge around the green. It has recently shaved about 2 or 3 strokes a round off my score. It sets up very nicely and produces good spin (but not too much). Only problem I had with it was when I was chipping, the ball would check up slightly. Once I got used to it, I could be very aggressive. I love it. Looking for a 51 degree or 53 degree. Anyone know where I can get one?

Similar Products Used: Hogan 5610, Cleveland RTG, PIXL
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 62  

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com