Louisville Niblick Fairway Woods

Niblick

New deeper Persimmon face increases confidence in the fairway and rough as well as off the tee. Lowest center of gravity offered in any fairway wood made today.

User Reviews (13)

Showing 1-10 of 13  
wb4tjh   Shoots in the 90s [Apr 21, 2017]
Model Reviewed: Niblicks and fairway finder driver

I've been using my LG Niblicks and drivers (2) now for 14 years and I still think they are the best of their type I have ever owned. I do use some titanium drivers too, but the Niblicks remain in my bag and are simply the best performing fairway woods I have used in the 55 years I have been playing golf. My fairwayh finder drivers are the most accurate drivers I have ever hit and the gear effect is simply amazing.I also have several of the LG putters and they are works of art.

Customer Service

shipping and communication have always been just fine.

Similar Products Used: Other persimmon clubs
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Yazzman   Shoots in the 80s [Mar 30, 2014]
Model Reviewed: Louisville Niblick fairway woods

I have played all different brands of metal fairway woods. I used Ping,Titleist, Callaway, Taylormade, Orlimar Tr Metals, Snake Eyes, Cobra. Just by chance I purchased a Persimmon 7 wood. I bought it because I thought it would be a gag gift to myself and I would pull it out of my golf bag to have my golf buddies laugh at me. I got one with a steel shaft. I went to the range and oh my god that thing is so easy to hit. I can hit it out of deep rough,wet muddy muck buried lies, sand traps. The thing is a cannot miss club for me. It is freakish how easy it is to hit. Well I play a round with my foursome and I pull it out when I am 200 yards out. They all say " Hey old timer! " and they all laugh and said let me see that old relic! And they do this before I hit my shot. The ball gets up in a hurry and it flies straight and true. It lands right on the green and I am ten feet from the pin. It is my money club! The next thing I do is go out and buy myself a Persimmon 2,4,5,9 wood to go along with my persimmon 7 wood. I am beating my friends so easy that is seems illegal to take their money. Give one a try and you will never go back to a metal fairway wood again. I bought all of mine on ebay. You can get them cheap there too. Look for the bargains and you will save lots of money. The most I spent on a persimmon fairway wood was $45.00 dollars. And it was in new condition and was never used. Two thumbs way up for Louisville golf!

Customer Service

I never used them. But when I called and asked questions they were very nice.

Similar Products Used: Just about every other metal fairway model made.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Joe Frances   Shoots in the 90s [May 22, 2011]
Model Reviewed: Louisville Golf Fairway Woods

The Louisville Golf Niblick fairway woods are fabulous. I have been shooting in the low to mid 90s for the last year or so. I have gone back to the LG Niblicks and Smart Driver and my scores have been 90, 88, 85. These clubs are so satisfying in terms of feel and sound and they keep the ball in the fairway so consistently (even on marginal heel or toe hits) that I am having a blast and scoring better than with the bomber metalwoods. I simply love these clubs and I am not a perfect ball striker by any means. Anyone who thinks persimmon clubs are only for scratch golfers are totally misinformed. In fact players who are annoyed with off line hits off monster headed clubs could do themselves and their scores a favor by picking up one or more of these gems. Fabulous!

Customer Service

Terrific. Very personal. Small company with a lot of heart and dedication.

Similar Products Used: Cleveland and Ping metal woods.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
axeist92126   Shoots in the 80s [May 09, 2011]
Model Reviewed: Louisville HL3 34 degree persimmon hybrid

They are unique, in that very few golfers carry a 34 degree hybrid, let alone one with a persimmon head. I use it as a "gap" club between my Burner 6H (28 deg) and my Ping Eye 2 7 iron. I hit approximately 160 yards dead straight. Has a very good feel and a heavier swingweight (D5 with a Golf Pride grip or D7 with a Winn Excel RF).

Customer Service

Louisville Golf makes some excellent persimmon woods.

Similar Products Used: Louisville Niblick Vanguard 5 wood and Even Wood Red Stripe 10 wood.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
docrog   Shoots in the 70s [Sep 17, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Persimmon woods

I am probably the least likely person to advocate persimmon woods due to the fact that I'm maybe one of the shortest-hitting, mid 70's player in the world. Virtually everyone asks me why I don't usually hit my Callaway 460cc titanium driver to get a bit more distance. (My usual distance from the tee ball is 215-230 with normal swing). The only answer that I can give them is when I was very young, the PGA championship was held several blocks from my house at Southern Hills CC. My father and I were watching several players during the practice rounds, when everyone else was following Palmer, and SEVERAL times you could hear the player saying to his caddie, "what will keep me in the fairway, this rough is ridiculous", etc. I can't really tell you why hearing this stayed in my head, but it did. I played on both the High School and (small) college teams, being outdriven by virtually everyone, but always managed to play the #1,2 or 3 position. Recently I came across an interview with Hale Irwin when he was burning up the Senior Tour a few years back, and he plainly stated that if he could be GUARANTEED that he would always be in the fairway, he would gladly give up 15-20 yards of distance. Now, given that everyone wants to play "bomb and gouge", it isn't very exciting to just place your tee shot in the middle of the fairway some 225 yards off the tee, leaving about 160-170 to the green when everyone else is trying to swing from their heels and hit a sand wedge for the second shot, but let me ask you straight; and I really want you to think for a second before answering to yourself, which is more exciting; bombing one 280-290 ish not knowing whether or not you might still be in play and therefore having to chip out from behind the trees, or saying to your playing partners--it sure was fun watching you bomb it all day.....oh by the way, you shot 83 and I shot a 74??? I own several sets of Louisville golf persimmon woods, including the Classic 50's set, the Niblick fairway woods and the Thumper driver. Choose any, but just ask yourself what you are trying to accomplish. If you sometimes struggle with getting the ball on the green from outside of about 160 yards, absolutely give the Niblicks a try. If you need to hit the ball with a massive amount of control, and then roll the ball, give the Classic 50's a try. I will ask you one more time, and again I am in the minority, distance or accuracy? Giving yourself the chance to possibly hit every fairway and every green and having a "boring" round of 71 or 72 is very appealing to most amateurs.
BTW--I did win the United States Hickory Open earlier this year in North Carolina using Hickory shafted Persimmon woods and irons on a Donald Ross course where you HAD to keep it in play. It is my opinion that for each extra fairway, and esp. each extra green that you hit, your score will drop by at least one shot--depending upon how far offline that your tee ball normally goes. Also, keep practing on getting your chips close and work on those 4 footers. You may never play for money on the PGA tour, but close to boring par golf is really a great thing!

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
A V Twiss   Shoots in the 80s [Apr 01, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Persimmon Golf 3 wood TT DG R300

Louisville Golf Niblicks are marketed in the UK under the name Persommon Golf. Louiville ships the heads to the UK and Persimmon Golf assembles them. I tried to order a Niblick direct from Louisville Golf and they referred me to Persimmon Golf. Quite ethical I would say. I wanted to try a persimmon club because I find that my Sonartec NP99 is quite difficult to hit off a tight fairway. My home course has links type turf with tight lies. My first experiences with the Niblick were not particularly positive. It requires a smooth swing to make a good contact but ones I had got the hang of it I now find I can hit it between 210 and 220 off the deck. The flight pattern is much lower than with the Sonartec. The steel shaft may have something to do with this. Off a low tee peg I hit it about 225. Distance wise I am sure that it is a little shorter than the Sonartec, probably by about half a club. Accuracy is superior but I can't tell you why. I only know that the dispersion pattern is much tighter. Feel is completely different. In the first place the club is much heavier and there is distinct "thwack" when you meet the ball. It does not sound as powerful as the right from a well struck metal but there is something deeply safisfying about hearing a distinctive "crack" and then watching the ball fly down the fairway. Poor swings are severely punished. Definitely an acquired taste and not for everyone but if you have a smooth swing and don't try to leap at the ball you will be rewareded with almost comparable distance, tight dispersion and a feel like no other.

Just one other criticism. Why on earth did the suppliers give me a leather head cover? Totally unsuitable for British weather.

Only giving 3 starts fro value as they are expensive compared to US prices. Even with VAT and import duty.

Customer Service

Persimmon golf were very helpful in deciing the best shaft option for me. Built from scratch and delivered in a week.

Similar Products Used: Powerbilt citation 5 wood. Awsome head, long and straight but the leather grip was a pain.
OVERALL
RATING
3
Value
RATING
4
Scott Knapper   Shoots in the 90s [Feb 19, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Louisville Golf Thumper f.s. Driver

Picked this up from the LG factory while on vacation in Louisville and let me say this driver is an absolute winner. Very large head for a persimmon driver, and it produces a very nice penetrating trajectory with plenty of roll on the end that I simply don't get from most drivers. I get more distance with this driver than with my Mizuno MX500. I would highly recommend this to anyone! It's very easy to hit, looks fantastic at address, and produces that wonderful "knock" when struck that makes persimmon clubs so special. Plus, the bright red color of the Thumber f.s. is a real attention getting on the practice range and on the tee box.

Customer Service

Ron Just and Josh Fischer from Louisville Golf were fantastic in helping me decide on a club and getting it properly fitted. Being such a relatively small operation allows the guys at LG time to take care of each customer. They were even kind enough to give me a tour of the plant, and explained in detail the process that produces such fine persimmon clubs.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
korndog   Shoots in the 80s [Feb 04, 2007]
Model Reviewed: 7 wood

I have had the 7 wood for 2 years now, and have just decided to add a 5 wood. There is simply no other wood that compares for my game. Any lie will result in a high trajectory shot, with a sweet sounding Thwack and a dead straight shot.

Customer Service

Exclellent

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
MulliparMatt   Shoots in the 80s [Mar 07, 2005]
Model Reviewed: Louisville Niblick 3 wood Graff Blue R

Have played this club with the Graffalloy Blue reg flex shaft for over a year now, and have nothing but good things to say about it. Just as long as metal when hit on the insert--the longest being 250yds off the tee( I have a swing speed in the mid 90's). You can have these made up with just about any shaft or swingweight you want. I like D2 swing weighted clubs--club has great balance with D2. Like the V shaped sole--gives you the option of hitting 200yd shots out of the rough, unlike the oversize fairway wood heads that seem to dominate the market. Have their driver also, yet with both clubs it's important to hit the face insert in order to get good distance, and it's just so much easier in the 3 wood--so I use that club more often. If you have been reluctant to buy this 3 woood since you have to order them, I say go for it--as long as you put a decent shaft in it I pretty much guarantee you'll really like the club. The only downside is that you'll have to get it refinished every few years--but that's not too expensive.

Customer Service

Great

Similar Products Used: Callaway Steelhead Plus 3,5--a classic Titleist 980f Mizuno Blue Rage--did'nt like
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
wb4tjh   Shoots in the 90s [Dec 13, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Louisville Golf Niblicks

I am left handed and have been playing the 3,5,and 7 Niblicks now for a year. I have had a chance to compare them with several metal fairway woods I own, and I keep coming back to them. The are by far the easiest to hit and the most accurate of any woods I have owned in 40 years. They get the ball into the air better from bad lies such as sand, deep rough and even muck better than any fairway wood I have ever hit. The vee shaped sole on the club really gets under the ball and gets it airborn in a hurry. They have the best feel of any wood I have used, and being persimmon, they feel and sound sweeter than any metal wood I have played. They do require a bit of extra care and cleaning, but after a year are holding up quite well. It is easier to hit the ball straight with them and the gear effect really works. They are also the most beautiful woods you can buy and they play just as beautifully. I would not hesitate to buy them again and would recommend them to anyone looking for high tech yet wanting to keep in touch with golf's traditions.Nothing feels or sounds like real persimmon, and these Niblicks are winners. I also have a Louisville Golf Fairway Finder 2 driver and it is also the best of the breed. Check them out, they make gorgeous clubs, all to your specs and are fine people to deal with. I think these clubs are the best kept secret in golf.

Customer Service

Simply outstanding.

Similar Products Used: Many metal fairway woods: Cleveland, Ping, Cobra, and a nice set of 1,2,3,4 and 5 Prima persimmon woods.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 13  

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com