MacGregor Forged PCB Tour Irons

Forged PCB Tour

User Reviews (34)

Showing 1-10 of 34  
Pete Ponta   Shoots in the 90s [Feb 22, 2014]
Model Reviewed: MacGregor PCB Tour irons

I have 4 sets of tour series PCB irons-

Don't be too concerned with numbering on the ferrules-as these originals were often
built with very stiff shafts-S300 and higher.

Those re-shafted with regular shafts are best- such as the 5.0 and 4.5 Rifle. The
qualified golf shop installing- and new ferrules used.

No shortage of quality forged cavities to choose from, to include the old Peerless Classic 88's.

These Macgregors however, ideal for an aging player or mid-amateur properly combined with the correct shaft.

Similar Products Used: Peerless Classic 88, Tommy Armour 845 V25
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
dansicle   Shoots in the 80s [Apr 29, 2008]
Model Reviewed: pcb tour

Quality, craftsmanship and confidence are the words that come to mind when I hold these irons. I know what to expect, consistent ball flight. I am a low 80's player looking to take the next step and dip into the 70s on a regular basis. A friend, the best golfer I play with, plays with beat up Miura blades and plays a simple yet consistent game. A game designed not on the "wow" factor of equipment and glitz but on simple expectations. Like hitting 175 yd 7 iron... and doing it over and over again.
These irons are confidence inspiring and rewarding clubs.
I don't find them very offset at all, and I have played with non offset clubs for years. (their sister clubs the "non tour" pcb version are significantly offset).
Forged by miura... these are some of the most affordable highest quality irons available for somebody who wants to take the next step in getting a better game.
They are much more forgiving than a blade but you do not lose feel of the club like some giant oversize cast irons. The short irons are particularly rewarding as i am starting to dial them in.

Similar Products Used: I have used numerous irons over the years.
Most recently
Ping Zing II,
Tourstage z101 (also great clubs)
Macgregor m685


OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
MCS   Shoots in the 80s [Aug 30, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Macgregor forged PCB

This is club is good, but only thing that drove me away from it is the offset. I just couldn't get over how much offset the clubs had. I had to intentionally open up the club face to hit a draw. Or I had to put the ball back in the stance which also produced a low draw.

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
Iggy   Shoots in the 80s [Oct 28, 2006]
Model Reviewed: PCB Tours

I've tried most forged cavity backs out there and have not come across anything close to how these perform specially if you have them set up properly. I like the rounded toe look and how they "borrow" much from the JNP design, which is another favorite. Extremely underrated but they do deserve a look. IMO, they are still one of the best forgings out there, feel, performance & workmanship. Macgregor still has it.

Customer Service

Very good.

Similar Products Used: TM300, Cleveland FF TA-3, TM X300 FCI
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
haydenwark   Shoots in the 70s [May 10, 2006]
Model Reviewed: PCB Tour

I am 25, I shoot almost every round below 80, and I was looking for a iron set that wasn't quite a blade and wasn't this overgrown HUGE clubhead that seems to be the model for every club made today. I needed a club that preformed like a blade but had a little forgivness as I do tend to hit thin every now and agian (thats my miss).

Man did I find it in these, I picked them up from a relative who is a scratch and he put new True Temper 300 shafts and golf pride grips on them. I took them to the range and could not begin to tell you how sweet they feel. Draws, fades, knock downs, flyers, soft hits, and bullets where all easy to pull off.

Customer Service

None needed

Similar Products Used: None these are better than any other similar product
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
hawkers71   Shoots in the 80s [Sep 25, 2005]
Model Reviewed: MacGregor PCB Tour

Simply the best set of irons I have ever owned (and I've had a few!). A classic shape with just a slight amount of offset, they're very easy to set up square at address. Best of all they can be worked left or right with ease, and with a little more forgiveness for an off-centre hit than my old forged Spalding musclebacks. My scores on par-3s have come down, and I have never felt as confident hitting approach shots with 7 iron or 8 iron. MacGregor marketed these to mid-low handicappers, but anyone who makes reasonable contact with the ball will enjoy playing these. If you're duffing it round the course, spend your money on lessons!

Customer Service

MacGregor is making a big comeback and some of the old service and distribution woes (here in Australia) will hopefully be rectified.

Similar Products Used: Forged cavities: MacGregor JNP (a little less forgiving, more a low handicapper's club) Hogan Apex Edge (feel heavy, weighted towards clubhead)
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
bakdon   Shoots in the 80s [Aug 28, 2005]
Model Reviewed: MACGREGOR PCB TOUR

I HAVE PLAYED THE PCB TOURS AND FOUND THESE ARE THE OLD SCHOOL IRONS.THEY ARE 1025 CARBON STEEL AND HAVE A FEEL TO DIE FOR.I HAVE MP 30,S AND FIND THE PCBs HAVE A BETTER BALL FLIGHT AND STOP THE BALL ON THE GREENS BETTER.THESE PEOPLE THE TRY TO COMPARE BEST FORGEINGS ARE TO PICKEY.IF YOU HIT THE SWEEY SPOT THEY ALL FEEL GOOD.THANK GOD FOR MACGREGOR AND THE SIMPLE DESIGN AND CLASIC LOOKS.I WOULD SAY TO ANYONE BUT A BEGINNER TO TRY THESE IRONS.

Customer Service

I HAVE USED BEFORE AND IS EXCLELENT.

Similar Products Used: MP30,EYE TWO,HOGAN APEX,AND MANY OTHERS.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Pengor   Shoots in the 80s [Apr 22, 2005]
Model Reviewed: MacGregor Forged PCB Tour

I had my little brother Jonathan pick these clubs up for me. Since then I have seen neither Jonathan nor my new clubs. He keeps mentioning the weather and maybe next week. I think he has fallen in love with my clubs and is so afraid of the butt kicking he will receive once I have them (next game of golf). Presently he is trying to procure another set of the same. Be afraid Jonathan, be very afraid. big brother David dgg

Similar Products Used: Presently I have a 26 year old set of MacGregor blades.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Jerry   Shoots in the 100s [Apr 17, 2003]
Model Reviewed: PCB Tour

Had been playing MP-33's for more than a year. Since I don't work the balls, why not take advantage of the extra forgiveness from cavity backs? The reasons I picked PCB Tour are that the attractive classic look, and the minimal offset (I can't align myself correctly with offset clubs at address). However, the feel has no match to MP-33's. All in all, very handsome and solid sticks to have in your bag.

Similar Products Used: Mac Tourney MT, MP-33
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Shawn Watts   Shoots in the 80s [Mar 14, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Macgregor PCB Tour w/rifle 5.5

I've played the regular PCB's for a while and was looking for something to help me learn how to work the ball a little. I read the previous reviews and almost had the shop I bought them from strengthen the lofts, but then I compared them to some other sets I currently have- regular PCB's and Maxfli Revolution (black dots). The PCB Tours actually have stronger lofts in the longer irons, and gradually get comparitively weaker until the Rev's and PCB's finally pass them up at about the 8 iron. The 9 iron and PW are noticeably weaker lofted on the PCB Tours. Something to think about before you get them adjusted without trying them first. That being said, a solid hit with the 9 iron still gave me the same distance as the Revolutions or PCB's.

Similar Products Used: Ping Eye 2+, PCB's, Maxfli Revolutions, several others
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 34  

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com