MacGregor V-FOIL M565 Irons

Available At:
V-FOIL M565

Mid-sized heads, refined top lines, streamlined V-FOIL weighting and reduced offset characterize these forgiving, high-performance, game-improvement, forged irons. The new V-FOIL SPEED Technology in M565 will inspire mid-handicap golfers to play with greater aggressiveness and confidence.

User Reviews (61)

Showing 1-10 of 61  
Reuben   Shoots in the 90s [Aug 11, 2009]
Model Reviewed: m565

i bought these irons on ebay mostly because i wanted to switch to forged clubs and they look amazingand i got a great deal. sure enough they hit even better than they look! i am a beliver. i've played with alot of different irons and these are my favorite. my dad liked my set sooo much he bought a set. the only problem is the guy on ebay said they were stiff shafts but i sent me x flex. i still love these clubs though!

Similar Products Used: macgregor vip,
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
Chris Nelson   Shoots in the 80s [Jun 06, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Macgregor m565

Nothing better than hitting a forged iron right on the screws! However for most of us the forged iron market if for the better player. But the Macgregor M565 is a forged iron that is great for the mid to high handicapper. I am a legit 15-18 handicapper and these irons are just the right fit. Game-improvement features with the feel of forged. I have the Rifle Flighted 4.5 steel shafts 3-GW and they are the best I have ever played. Long...straight...and I think they look really cool. Cheap as heck on Ebay right now too!

Customer Service

None needed...but watch out Macgregor just got bought out!

Similar Products Used: Holy crap...everything!!!
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
swartzd   Shoots in the 90s [May 06, 2009]
Model Reviewed: MacGregor V-Foil 565

These are truly great irons. I have played with them for about 3 years. I have really liked them but have been lusting after the forged 2008 MTs since they came out. Picked up a set this spring real cheap since everything Mac is being closed out as the company struggles. I REALLY wanted to love those MTs but after 12 rounds with them, the 565s are back in the bag and it's a beautiful thing! These things are in better shape after over 3 yrs of play than the MTs after 12 rnds. So much more forgiving too. As many posters have said, these may be the best thing under the radar out there!

Customer Service

Not used.

Similar Products Used: Adams GT Tour; MacGregor 2008 Forged MTs.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
Les   Shoots in the 80s [May 03, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Macgregor v-foil m 565

I bought these irons a couple of months ago off ebay 4i-gw, I wanted something a little more forgiving but with no or very little off set, purchased them for $150 and made my decision based on these reviews, & now I have a few rounds with them under my belt I can say i am not disapointed, the rifle 4.5 reg shafts are great , not to whippy, I am one of those golfers stuck between reg & stiff & these are just right , i'm glad I did'nt go with the stiff.
They are just what I was looking for , a forged cavity back , with lots of forgivness & awesome shafts and cheap as chips !!.
I agree with the previous reviewer that the maxfli A-10 tour ltd is also an excellent iron but not quite as forgiving as these.
The M-565 sets up nicely at adress, the top line is a little thicker than what I am used to & if these clubs do have a down side it is purely esthetics, they are not the pretiest iron ever made but you can live with that especially when you see your aproach shots seeking out pins.
Also being forged they offer decent feedback & like the previous reviewer stated they dont ding as easily as other forged clubs.
All I can say is I am glad I bought them & I can recomend them to the mid handi caper. Cheers.

Customer Service

n.a.

Similar Products Used: Maxfli A-10, srixon i-302, mizuno mx-23
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
pcgolfer   Shoots in the 80s [Apr 28, 2009]
Model Reviewed: MacGregor M565

These are the best golf clubs ever made in my opinion for mid handicappers - period. If you hit in the 90s, get these. You will only be able to get them on ebay.

MacGregor is one of the most underrted club maker period. They cut no costs in making these. Rifle shafts, good grips, and they are beautiful looking.

They are also forged, but they see to be much more dent/ding resistant than other forged irons. They are not blades and don't look as good as the A10s on setup. However, they look very good with little offset. Once you hit them and get the benefits of hitting your irons straight and on target, they go right to the top. I have tried to replace them every year, as I used to sell clubs. I have given up and bought a handful of sets to last until my golf days are done.

Like all other irons, these are lofted strong, with a 45 degree pitching wedge. I strongly recommend picking up a matching 50 degree gap wedge.

I own sets of these in graphite (stiff) and regular flex (4.5) and stiff (5.5) Rifles. I honestly have played every iron made. My sentimental favorite are the Maxfli A-10 Tour Limited (great irons). These irons and the Maxflis have the highest ratings on any irons every made and well worth it.

These irons are long, straight and work very well with slow swings. The 3 iron is very hittable, but I do favor an extra hybrid. There is nothing I can say but buy these if you can find them.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
jamesrroberson   Shoots in the 80s [Feb 05, 2009]
Model Reviewed: MacGregor 565 irons

I have played Titleist irons (981)since they first came out, switching several times to newer models, but always go back to the 981s. I bought a set of MacGregor 565 irons on Ebay and have been pleasantly surprised with the quality. I consistently hit them a club longer than my Titleist iron, probably due to YS-70 graphite shafts on the Macs
versus S300 steel on the Titleist.

The long-irons are particularly long, but like all the Mac irons seem to be more unpredictable as to length. First time I out I flew a green from 210 yards out with the Mac three iron--not so unusual for me to hit a 3i 220 or more off the tee, but not from a downhill lie on a par five fairway.

Overall, I like the 565s and the graphite shafts. Like other reviewers I swore I would never switch from steel shafted irons, but I did.

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
FrancoToro   Shoots in the 80s [Jan 31, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Macgregor M565

Great set of clubs... looked at all of the reviews and said i must get a set... got them today with the YS graphite shaft on ebay for £118. Well seeing as this was my first outing I hit a normal score for the 9 holes I played although it was really, really, really windy. Ball flight is excellent and the clubs are easy to use... Pitching wedge is a treat although as previously mentioned the PW does hit the ball longer than the TM RAC PW I used up to yesterday... Altogether I am looking fwd to this getting me on more green and hence more birdies and pars...

Customer Service

Not tried yet..

Similar Products Used: TM RAC Combo's
Callaway X16 Pro Series
Ping Zing
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
woodsyisking   Shoots in the 80s [Oct 20, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Macgregor M565

Bought these irons 3-PW, 5.5 rifle shafts 9 months ago second hand for 100 euro, yes 100 euro. Replaced long serving copper zings.

In the past 9 months i have brought my handicap down from 20 to 14.4, won two medals at the club, a number of singles and team events.

These clubs are the easiest, straightest and most forgiving club i have ever hit. Best bang for your buck clubs on the market.

Just shows that the big name clubs are no better than these puppies. Considering buying another set and putting them away till they are needed.

Well done macgregor.

Customer Service

Not used

Similar Products Used: R7, R7 cgb max, ping rature, callawy x20, cobra s and a few others to boot.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
PC Golfer   Shoots in the 80s [Oct 14, 2008]
Model Reviewed: MacGregor M565

Another year gone by and the M565s are still in the bag. I sell golf clubs and these are the irons that are in my bag. A durable, forged clubs that hits straight, long and lets you work the ball.

The steel Rifle shafts are also about the best I have played. I honestly don't see any club replacing these. I have several sets, but doubt MacGregor or anyone else can do much better - legally

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
bob hillstrom   Shoots in the 80s [Sep 13, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Mac V-Foil 565

Excellent irons. Very forgiving. Great height to all shots.

If you want forged irons that are forgiving these might be what you are looking for...the regular steel shafts are the best I have ever used in 40+ years of golfing.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 61  

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com