Mizuno MP-14 Irons

Available At:
MP-14

A favorite of dozens of PGA Tour Pros, the MP-14TM is one of the most popular forged blades on the PGA Tour and features a clubhead made of Grain Flow ForgedTM mild carbon steel. These nickel chrome plated forged blades are as solid as they look, delivering the feel and performance demanded by accomplished players. The MP-14 irons feature a cut-away muscle-back contour design with a slight offset to generate feedback and excellent workability. They also feature rolled leading edges to reduce turf drag.

User Reviews (116)

Showing 1-10 of 116  
Tom Allen   Shoots in the 70s [Oct 25, 2014]
Model Reviewed: Mizuno MP14

I own a set of these, they sit in the closet, Generally I play a new set of Callaways. Got the old Mizunos out the other day, shot a sub zero round. Half a club short but dead on steady as a rock. Hit 16 greens in regulation. I am an 8 handicap. Love these old clubs. Shafted Dynamic stiff. I always have to laugh when someone says you can't hit blades, if you don't have a swing, you are really going to hit anything are you. Great clubs. -TA

Customer Service

Have not used customer service

Similar Products Used: Have played Hogan blades and Wilson blades, like the Mizunos best
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
Sean Stratton   Scratch Golfer [Jun 14, 2013]
Model Reviewed: mizuno mp14 irons

I played the 2-pw with dg s400 shafts in the mid 1990's as a teenager. I remember being about a 6 hdcp when I bought them. One year after playing these irons I was scratch the point to the story is it's a good idea to play blades when you are young so you learn to rely on solid golf swings instead of a bunch of ''forgiveness'' from some clunky non workable ''game improvement'' iron. In reality hitting a ''non forgiving'' forged blade iron is what is going to improve your game as it teaches you how to rely on center face contact to get good results. Any mizuno forged blade will do this for you. I would reccomend the 14s because you can find them very inexpensive these days which leaves you extra cash for greens fees and range balls! If you get good and want to upgrade from the 14s reward yourself and give the 68s a try. I currently play the 68s and they are the sweetest forged blades on the market right now. I hope this message reaches a junior golfer or two out there as it is very sincere and has merit.

Customer Service

just the standard loft and lie checks that every forged iron player should do a couple times a year at the minimum.

Similar Products Used: wilson fg 51s and mizuno mp68s forged club wise.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Jerry   Shoots in the 70s [May 20, 2013]
Model Reviewed: mizuno mp14

Tried the MP14s,33,23,32,68,29 and they are all so unforgiving unless dead on the money. Have not seen any irons as consistent as the Pings. Only irons i have ever tried in 10 years that you can close your eyes and none of them hit bad at all. Mizuno has too may iron sets that are too close together in being identical. They need to reduce the model numbers to stop all the confusion.

Similar Products Used: G25, G20, I20, Ping Anser
OVERALL
RATING
2
Value
RATING
2
j   Shoots in the 70s [Feb 21, 2013]
Model Reviewed: Mizuno MP-14

Gotta laugh at several of the reviews here.

This is a great set of irons. I hit some Hogan Apex's that were very nice but never owned them.

Customer Service

Never had a need

Similar Products Used: Cobra MB's (nice), Ping eye (wonder where it's going), Macgregor MT Tourney R2MT's (not enough beef).
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Joe Wiseman   Shoots in the 90s [Oct 17, 2012]
Model Reviewed: Mizuno MP 14

Yes, I shoot in the 90's. Why am I reviewing Player's Blades? Cause I want to get better to where I can use these with confidence. I found a set for $121 at Golf Galaxy and traded some Callaways for them. Sweet when you hit them on the nose. I have other sets of blades (see below) and these may prove the hardest to hit. Why play Blades when you, in a word, suck? They help you get your swing to a place where its more close to good than SGI crutches will by practice, practice, practice.

Customer Service

n/a

Similar Products Used: MacGregor MTR1 (1968), Ben Hogan Bounce Sole +1, MacGregor CF 4000.
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
troyster   Shoots in the 80s [Feb 21, 2010]
Model Reviewed: mizuno mp 14

I think every golfer who wants to really improve their ability should go out and buy a set of these. I bought a set, 3-pw, switched the s300 shafts out for r100's, and finally broke 100. In a months time I broke 90. Played with them for about two years straight and I can't remeber why I sold them. It's true, these are desiged for the better ball strikers out there who's last concern is forgiveness, but as far as blades go these aren't totally unforgiving like some others out there.

Similar Products Used: taylor made burner tour irons,cobra trd mild steel, hogan radial blades.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
alpineberlinette   Shoots in the 70s [Dec 22, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Mizuno mp14

Purchased set 3-PW completly refurbished, all Spec better than factory, shafts spined. Have also Mizuno Tour original,TP9, TP11, Taylor Made RAC TP MB, Cleveland CG1 black pearl. The MP 14 are outstanding. Approx 1 Club longer than the others, quite easy to hit, correct size for a blade fan. Feedback very good, TP11 are better. MP14 are the evidence, the golf industry is only marketing. These sticks are 17 years old!

Customer Service

Mizuno Germany sent within 2 day copy of specification and old catalogue.

Similar Products Used: Mizuno tour original, TP9,TP11,T-Zoid Pro II (sold), MP33 (sold), Titleist 962B, Callaway X20 tour (sold), Honma CL606 (sold), Honma 737 (sold), Taylor Made RAC MB TP smoke, Cleveland CG1 black pearl
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
goldwingguy   Shoots in the 80s [Oct 22, 2009]
Model Reviewed: MP 14

First off let me start by noting that I never post reviews. I do not have an established handicap, don't really care what it is. I have been a career high 80's to low 90's golfer. My first set of forged irons were a set of Mizuno MP Grads. From there I got a great deal on a set of Mp30's. I hit those for about 3 years and loved them. Just recently I have been wanting to hit blades so I started looking for used sets of MP32", 33"s and 14's. I came across a set of MP14's for a 120 bux on craigslist and the rest is as they say, "history." These are beautiful clubs with a look of history to them. When you sole these clubs on the ground and see the club next to the ball, you just know you can hit a good shot. The thin profile gives you a feeling of just you and the ball and nothing else. As you take one last look at the flag, you can hear the echoes of all the posts you will have read..."you're not good enough to hit blades.." You start your backswing and you hear one last cry..."You need to be a low handicapper..." your downswing descends and the ball connects with the heart of your club...a pured 7 iron launches the ball high and straight. The green recoils from the thud of a small meteor that is your golf ball. You reach into your pocket and grab your divot repair tool. The sound of Sinatra now fills your head...because you are about to go dancing. Spend the time on the range and you will hit these clubs as good as any other club, cast or cavity backed. The difference is the reward you get from a) The soft feel of forged steel b)the look on peoples faces when they see you are playing with blades c)the fact that you pushed yourself to be a better golfer by hitting blades. D)The fact that you did not listen to the status quo of "not being good enough to hit blades" The rewards in life are greater when the road to achieving your goals is difficult.

Similar Products Used: MP Grads, MP 30
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
James   Shoots in the 80s [Sep 20, 2009]
Model Reviewed: MP-14

I have played these clubs for about 8 years. Played a few other sets before including KZG, Cobra, Tommy Armour (great starter sets BTW), Taylor Made and various other loaners including the 29's and 32's. I had a friend recommend them to me...something about Tiger playing them...so I went on eBay and bought them for a couple hundred bucks. Standing over them for the first time is a little intimidating especially for someone who was shooting in the upper 90's (got her down to a 6 since) with cavity backs. Took my first swing, felt the heaviness of the club head throughout the swing and then contact. Couldn't believe the feeling and the results. Now, don't believe that you are gonna drop strokes as a result of playing these but I can tell you this. You will not lose yardage, you will not spray them all over the course and you will enjoy the feeling of playing with clubs that let the owner drive. If you get them fit with the correct shafts (for me the Rifle 6.5) you will love these forever. I highly recommend the Rifles because of their consistency and because they also dampen vibration. You just don't get those two variables consistently with the True Temper. I actually have two sets of 14's now (getting one restored to a black oxide finish) just so that I will never be without one. I don't play hybrids and carry a three wood only for certain par 4's and par 5's. The reason is because the 1, 2 and 3 irons are outstanding. Long and straight. The mid irons are even better. My playing partners are constantly amazed at the length of the 7 and 8. Pure joy in hitting them. Now...I am not a fan of the MP-14 SW, GW or LW. Much prefer my Cleveland's. Just don;t have the same feeling at impact. Can't explain it. Maybe I just haven't found the right combination of shaft, grip and such for the wedges yet. Final thoughts --- For the money these are the best that I have hit. As prices drop these are now almost criminally available for all to play. Maybe don't buy a whole set --- maybe you get one club to try (I recommend an 8) and see for yourself how they feel. Good luck!

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
yama247   Shoots in the 70s [Sep 13, 2009]
Model Reviewed: mp 14

let me tell you, getting a fake set of TM tour preferred was the best thing that happened to me. I was playn a set of mp 32's which I love! but was at a tourny and played with a guy tha was play that set of TM. after the round I was curious bout playn blade stlye cavities like the tour preferred's so I ask to trade and he said yes. anyways I took them in to trade for the nike tw blades and found out they were fakes. so while I was worried bout what to do, I stumbled on a set of mp14's which I've never heard of. (made in 99, started golf in 03) they were r300's I always played stiffs. so was a little reluctant to try them but since I called the guy who gave me fakes and he said yes he'll return my set. he's in milwaukee and im in st. paul, was gonna take bout 3 days to send, didn't have any clubs so I decided to demo 14's. all I can say is WOW! I was drooling over these! I picked up 10 to 15yds per club! was hitting 8 iron 150yds now 165 carry! not sure if its the shaft or what? my 32's felt like butter, 14's feel like melted butter! these clubs are so soft. I find them more forging and easier to hit than 32's. I can hit my 3 and 4 irons again. was using hybrids. now keep in mind Im a club hore! I've been thru 10 sets easy these by far are the longest and straitest. small head makes u swing at it more! these are not for sweepers and pickers. they are for people who compress the ball and take divots! love the 14's got em in great condition for 180. paid 18.00 after all my trade in with my spare clubs.. would recommend these to anybody

Similar Products Used: ap2's, mp 32, mp 60, mp 57, ping g2, rams,wilsons,tour preferred fakes, back to mp 32
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 116  

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com