Mizuno MP-57 Irons

Available At:
MP-57

The New MP-57TM irons are a crowning achievement in the evolution of MIZUNO's award-winning Grain Flow Forging® and Cut MuscleTM technologies. The Product Development team undertook the task of making the MP-57's the first MP iron with a Full Cavity, resulting in a significantly larger sweet area than any other iron in the history of the MP line. Along with increased forgiveness, the MP-57's produce a slightly higher ball flight in the long irons, and a mid trajectory in the scoring irons. They also deliver the solid feel and shot making ability that the MP iron player craves. Most importantly, the MP-57's achieve all these playing aspects, yet in a classic head profile that appeals to better players.

The ideal combination of solid feel and workability, with unbelievable forgiveness, make the MP-57s the most playable MP irons ever.

Features

* First ever Full Cavity MP iron for increased forgiveness with a reinforcing muscle pad for enhanced feel.
* Innovative Cut MuscleTM design provides ideal COG location, perfect trajectory, enhanced solid feel, and complete ball control.
* Exclusive Grain Flow Forged®, 1025E Pure Select mild carbon steel provides the ultimate soft, solid, consistent feel.
* Durable Double nickel chrome plated finish.
* Modified U-grooves produce the ideal spin rate, for maximum playability in all conditions.
* Rolled leading edge, cambered mid-sole, and rolled trailing edge deliver consistent striking ability from all types of lies.

User Reviews (66)

Showing 1-10 of 66  
David Bevell   Shoots in the 70s [Nov 10, 2013]
Model Reviewed: Mizuno MP-57

A really nice feel - it does have that Mizuno Forged feel at impact if you hit it on the sweetspot. I thought it was going to be more forgiving than it was. I hit balls and played 2 rounds with them and I wanted them to be the club - they weren't. It is a beautiful club. If you're looking for forgiveness in a forged club - look somewhere else. The old Mizuno Pros (late 90s) has more forgiveness and a better feel than these.

Similar Products Used: Mizuno MP58, 60, 32. Callaway X Tour Forged, X20. Taylormade Burner 1.0 and 3.0. Titleist 775 and 735.
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
Available At:
Tom DiCinti   Scratch Golfer [Nov 27, 2012]
Model Reviewed: Mizuno MP 57

I've previously played with Titlest Blade (PM) for 12 years, and swiched 3 years ago to Taylor Made Tour Preferred TP irons. I'm a Lefty, so it's hard to find and try quality clubs witout buying them. I saw a used set of MP 57's on ebay, and decided to buy them. Looks like they were played for a season, but in great shape. I played a round,the day after receiving them, and they felt solid, and the ball flight was perfect for me. However all shots went right, and I though I was pulling or hooking everything. They just felt like they would go right in the set up...so I took them to Golf Galaxy, and sure enough, they were 1 1/2 to 2 degrees upright..had them changed back to Standard, and now WOW..they feel great, go where you aim them, and I have increased my distance by 1/2 club...They are a Players club, you can move the ball, and get great feedback. Highly recommend for 0-12 handicapers...or aspiring 20's who want to be single digets. But get them or any set fitted..even good golfers cant hit shots with Irons not fitted to them.

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
Vladamir   Shoots in the 70s [May 18, 2012]
Model Reviewed: Mizuno MP-57

Clubs good as Russian Vodka comrad. I so happy to be in this country where women have high heel with short pants. Beyond wildest dream. I start golf back 5 years after getting dream job as grass lawn jockey. I sneak off to links at midnight like spy back in Kremlin. First I borrow set from soul brotha' neighbor but find heads to big for liking. I get good real fast and need clubs help me get better.

I go to said golf store and slavic owner try to wheel/deal. I make him offer he can't refuse with my Russian friends beside. I now own said clubs and will protect store owner from Russian Mob. I tell him I'll peel his skin if he tell. No problem.

Year later I play golf still with same clubs. Club cut through ball like a peeling knife through finger back at KGB. Love country where fallen comrad can bat around ball with shiny club.

I must go now. My wife, Zoya, she get mad when take time on review board. She cooking favorite food this night...Tvorog burgers and Vodka. I will see you.

Customer Service

I not call them

Similar Products Used: Sling blade, other tools to extracting information
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
cameron the man   Scratch Golfer [Dec 26, 2011]
Model Reviewed: mp-57

These are amazing clubs. if you have a choice between these and any other company or style, go with these. they are great feeling, balanced, and very playable.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Foundthebunker   Shoots in the 80s [Aug 07, 2011]
Model Reviewed: Mizuno MP-57

I have had these clubs for 3 seasons now and love the consistency. They seemed to be a full club different from my previous set (R7). I played a full year with them thinking my swing was at fault for the distance loss. I hit them pure, but had to play an 8 where I would normally play a 9 iron. Finally I took them back to the shop I bought them from to get a second fitting, thinking it might be the wrong shaft for my swing. Turns out the clubs had a 4 or 5 degree difference in loft from my old set. They made a couple adjustments and sent me on the range...low and behold I was back to my distance but still hitting far more consistent. I am still considering new shafts as their analyzer suggests an R300 or PX 5.5 for my SS. Overall though I love these irons. They look great at address, swing pure and with the DG S300 shafts have a boring trajectory. Just make sure if you buy them online you get fitted before tossing them out...really goes for any club, but it made a huge difference with these.

Customer Service

Never had to contact Mizuno

Similar Products Used: Mizuno MP-58, Mizuno MP-63, TM R7
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
Kevin Madden   Shoots in the 80s [Jun 18, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Mizuno MP 57

I was never a golf junkie. I always shot in the 90-100. After I got a job working in the Golf simulators. I started working on my swing. I used to play with Square twos and Nike CCi's. After finding out I'm a lefty, used to play righty. I dropped 10 strokes in 4 months. My pro told me I was good ball striker and should try for some players clubs. The Nike VR split cavity was my first option. A client let me hit his Mizuno MP 57 and after hitting 10 shots with 3 different clubs. I was like this set is for me. Luckily I didn't need to tweak anything. I'm standard length, and lie. I have played with Mizuno irons for about 6 months and I love them. I have the MP 57 4-7 iron and MP 68 8-PW. I would have gotten the MP 58, but they don't make them left handed. FYI you lefty golfers. The 57's are great clubs that have the softest feel. Like everyone else is saying these are forged so if you don't strike the ball correctly you will lose about 10-12 yards and stings your hand. I say this club can be used for a scratch to a 10-12 handicap if your a consistant ball striker. Choose with what you like and feel. Don't pick the clubs that look the coolest. KJ Choi plays with G15 cavity irons. I hope this review is helpful and good luck everybody with your golf season.

Similar Products Used: Nike CCi Forged
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
jeff buell   Shoots in the 80s [May 24, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Mizuno MP 57

all revies were good, but I need some help advice from someone out there.I have used Mizuno Pro T-Zoids irons for 10 year. Once I hit a forged club the first time there was no going back. I'm about a 12 handicap by they way. I bought these irons used, and played pretty well with them for years. I recently discovered that the S400 shafts in them were very heavy and extra stiff. Instead of reshafting them, I went trying new clubs. New Mizunos were a little out of my price range, so I bought the Adams A4's. they are a beautiful club, forgiving and forged. I have them taped up because I'm not sure I'm keeping them and haven't gotten burned on many sets before.
I love the 7-w. They have a similar feel to the Mizuno's and I hit it them 20 yds. farther!..but for some reason I don't get near the feel or performance from the 5-3 hybrid, and have a mental block with even hitting the grandpa hybrids even though most pros are hitting them now.
Traded the Adams for Taylor Made Burner 09's. they get rave reviews, but after playing with them twice, hated them. They are huge heads and don't help me in any way, and are more of a super game improvement club. If I have to hit some club that makes you naucious looking down at it and looks like a childs club...to play decent, I might take up gardening.
and to boot, I sold my babies to my best friend who is killing the ball with them and starting to kick my A$$!
dilemma.....get the A4's back and learn how to hit the hybrids, or get some used MP 52's or 57's. wonder if any of you tried all three of these clubs? What are the differences between 52's and 57's. I'd love the new 58's, but don't have an extra $900 bucks laying around.
Help!!! I need to just make a decision and go with it before I have to sign divorce papers.

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
fzayas   Shoots in the 80s [Apr 13, 2010]
Model Reviewed: MP-57

I'm an equipment junkie and I've tried lots of stuff. I picked up a used set of these a couple of months ago. My game is just outside the "player's" category of irons, but I wanted to hit these every now and then and see how my game progresses. I am extremely happy with my purchase. I don't find these clubs to be hard to hit at all. Granted, I hit hybrids for everything above a 6, but I find these irons to be surprisingly forgiving for a club in this category. Distance control is where I see a big difference. Feel is superb, and I have no trouble working the ball in either direction (compared to my Ping G15s which I have to coax a draw out of). Also, Very easy to control trajectory. I shoot in the mid-low 80's generally, so my consistency is not the greatest, but on my good days, these clubs make it a great day.

Customer Service

n/a

Similar Products Used: Ping G15, Titleist AP1, Taylormade R7, others too many to remember or mantion.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
830651264   Shoots in the 80s [Mar 07, 2010]
Model Reviewed: mizuno mp-57

just got a set of mp-57 by far the best irons i have ever hit. if you are in the market for some irons and you hit the ball pretty well you need to try the mp-57 .

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
3
pudsy   Shoots in the 70s [Feb 10, 2010]
Model Reviewed: mizuno mp 57

hard to hit and as a 5 handicaper i should be able too time it. poor sweetspot and over rated better getting titleist or ping.

OVERALL
RATING
1
Value
RATING
1
Showing 1-10 of 66  

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com