Mizuno MX-11 Irons

MX-11

MX-11TM enables golfers of all skill levels to hit consistent, high, accurate shots.

Mizuno revolutionizes game improvement technology with a club design that combines forgiveness, accuracy, and distance. The new MX-11TM irons feature two-piece T-Zoid® Hollow TechnologyTM construction allowing for a wide sweet spot area and a low, deep center of gravity producing a higher launch and increased distance with every iron. Mizuno technology has never offered more benefits to a golfer than in the MX-11TM, the future of game improvement design.

User Reviews (19)

Showing 1-10 of 19  
Dennis Hilburn   Shoots in the 70s [Apr 28, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Mizuno MX-11

Great set of irons --- easy to line up,easy to hit,very accurate,straight. They can be worked but I prefer straight. I have personally tried 100's of iron sets and I haven't replaced these yet. My biggest complaint is the wide soles, not the best for chipping. Some other reviews have complained of distance control and no feel from these clubs but I disagee on both counts. Besides who really needs to feel the shot when it is straight and on the green. These are not the longest hitting irons I've owned but they are "THE BEST".

Customer Service

Never needed

Similar Products Used: All Ping, Callaways, Taylormade,Macgregor,Cobra, you name it I tried them. My 2nd pick would be MacGregor m565's
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Editors - Golf Magazine   Scratch Golfer [Sep 05, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Mizuno MX-11

The Editors, GOLF MAGAZINE

After years of producing first-rate forged blades and cavity-back irons for better players, Mizuno targets mid- to high handicappers with the oversized, deep-cavity MX-11. But even low handicappers appreciate the MX-11's muscular looks. With its enlarged sweetspot and wide sole, it gives golfers that "can't miss" feeling, which is a plus for all levels.

Feel is a different story. Some like the slightly heavier clubhead sensation; others can't get comfortable with it. Most feel that the MX-11 not only dampens vibration on mis-hits but also dampens feedback on solid shots. This is a problem for better players. Others suggest the limited feel makes controlling greenside shots difficult. Not surprisingly, the one tester who raves about the feel of the MX-11 is right in its mid-handicapper target group.

The MX-11 proves a solid, if unspectacular, performer. None of our testers claim improved distance, but mid- and high handicappers will like knowing that the big sweetspot makes it easy to get the ball airborne and does a good job of forgiving poor contact. Considering the game-improvement features, the easy workability comes as a pleasant surprise to lower handicappers. There are a few comments about the thick sole, which seems unwieldy from poor lies, but in the end, all agree that the MX-11 would be a nice addition to the 14- to 20-handicapper's bag.

Anthony Spikes "Because of the lack of feel, I never have enough trust in these irons to play anything more than conservative shots into the middle of greens. I never feel comfortable enough to attack the pins."

Tony Crecca "Even good shots don't produce that 'pure' feeling I expect from my best efforts."

Bob McCarthy "The deep cavity back with the center weighting [T-Zoid bar] gives me as solid a feel as any club I've hit."

Tom Gustafson "Produced draws, fades, and knockdowns without breaking a sweat."

Eric Jack "Mis-hits sacrifice some distance, but direction correction is alive and well, saving me a few strokes."

Tony Crecca "The MX-11 is quite forgiving."

Similar Products Used: They use all of them ;)
OVERALL
RATING
3
Value
RATING
5
lawyer33501   Scratch Golfer [Aug 12, 2006]
Model Reviewed: MX11

A brilliant club that is easy to hit at an exceptional price.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
LowPro   Shoots in the 70s [Mar 03, 2005]
Model Reviewed: Mizuno MX-11

These are excellent irons for the mid handicaper. I switched from a set of Pings and added and easy 10 yards to every iron. They set up beautiful, with minimum offset and only a slightly oversized head. They have a nice high trajectory. They are not very workable, but who cares if your shots are going straight. The first day I had them in the bag I hit 14/14 greens in regulation, which was a first for me. They are very affordable too; you can get a good used set on EBAY for less than $175. I also highly recommend Mizuno HiFli Irons as a good replacement for your hard to hit long irons.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
62749golf   Shoots in the 90s [Nov 01, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Mizuno Mx-11 Irons

I have played several game improvement irons and these by far have performed the best for me. The head size is over-size but not over powering. Forgiveness and length is very good. Able to hit even the long irons with confidence. Just swing easy and on line and let the club do the rest. I wish they had a Gap wedge as well but don't as far as I know. These irons will be in my bag a long time!

Customer Service

Have not had to contact them.

Similar Products Used: Taylor Made Supersteel, Ben Hogan Apex Edge, Taylor Made 200.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
Parth Vasa   Shoots in the 100s [Jun 10, 2004]
Model Reviewed: MX-11

Great clubs, easy to put on spin, the graphite steel shaft does not give the best feedback, but overall a great value at the closeout prices now on ebay- I got 'em for $239, and they will stay in my bag.Thouhg the MX-23 series seems to give a really sweet feel.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Rafael Berrido   Shoots in the 80s [Nov 03, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Mizuno MX-11

BEST CLUBS/PRICE I tryed about 4 sets of clubs before i got my hands on this mizuno mx-11, and i will tell you this: this is what i´ve beed looking for. Didnt loose a single yard and im now hitting about 8 out of 10 greens i shoot at. REALLY AMAZING CLUBS

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
rotarydrilling   Shoots in the 100s [Oct 15, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Muzuno MX11

I was playing with a set of blades that I liked but had trouble hitting so......... I looked around for some forgiving clubs.I found the MX11-at a great price and with graphite shafts new for US230 on Ebay.They are forgiving,look good for a cast club,and are a good value.They have a hollow body and seem to hit the ball high.I had problems at first with my shots going left but I think thats due to my old clubs not being offset and these are offset.Grips are good.The stiff graphite shafts are not all that stiff.3 iron on a good clean shot is about 200 meters or 219 yards.Shafts are a neat royal blue colour.In all a good club for the beginner to mid handicap player looking for a good value.

Customer Service

Not used.I bought my clubs in USA but shipped to Thailand.I really expect no warranty.Thailand price for these clubs would be about US$790

Similar Products Used: Tried many including Mauriman World Records,Callaway X14 & X16,Mizuno MX15 & Comp EZE,Taylor Made RAC OS,several others I cannot remember.
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
Senski   Shoots in the 70s [Oct 13, 2003]
Model Reviewed: mx-11

After about 3 holes with these clubs, I could tell that I have found my set. I noticed greater accuracy and a better ball flight than my Cobras. The appearance is just great at address and the feel is crisp. I would highly reccomend thease clubs.

Similar Products Used: King Cobras OS
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
turbo saab   Shoots in the 80s [Jun 18, 2003]
Model Reviewed: mx11

Bought r300 steel shaft. Overall perception, good sticks. Cosmemetics: Topline somewhat thick but still closer to classic then others. Cavity backed with traditional mizuno back bar. Good quality finish, dull face and high gloss sole and back. Sole seems somewhat thick but doesn't seem to effect the club to ground contact. Overall clubs look good. Feel: Crisp on good contact and slightly off the sweetspot. Used to graphite shafts which seem to dampen vibration back to hands and arms. Notice that my elbows have begun to suffer slightly after a few rounds due to steel. Overall good feel and impact shock will work itself out as I get used to the club. Accuracy: Quite good. Trajectory somewhat high but controlable. Good bite where greens and fairways are condusive. Overall accuracy as good or better then most. Playability: Somewhat put off by the improvement designation on the club. After a few rounds I've found that the ball can be worked easily. Fades and draws not a problem if stance and or grip adjusted. Distance: One club shorther then prior graphite shaft clubs. Dropped to 7 iron vice 8 to get to 150 yards. As I adjust to steel shaft, distance will come back but a 10 yard sacrafice to gain accuracy is acceptable. Overall impression: Excellent club for the money. Don't know why Mizuno discontinued them but their decision is my gain.

Customer Service

haven't used

Similar Products Used: Nicklaus Pro Carbon, Nicklaus N1 and linear dynamics
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 19  

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com