Mizuno MX-17 Irons

Available At:
MX-17

  • Deep undercut cavity
  • State of the art "Multi-Piece Wax Technology"
  • Precisely engineered back cavity pads add mass behind the hitting area for greater feel
  • U-grooves produce the ideal spin rate

User Reviews (40)

Showing 1-10 of 40  
S.Mansfield   Shoots in the 90s [Nov 27, 2012]
Model Reviewed: Mizuno mx-17

I have always been a keen sports man and always brought up to believe 'a bad workman blames his tools' and 'youre only as good as your ability' etc etc. I had been playing a cheap set of clubs for years, firmly believing the club make/quality/price meant nothing over ability........then I picked up a set of second hand MX-17's and what a difference.
Im not a pro by any means and if I had a handicap I'd guess I'd be around 18-20.
The MX-17 is a brilliant club for beginner/improver and instantly took 10 shots off my round over 18 holes.
the sweet spot seems huge...and when you catch it...the ball flies. I picked up my 2nd hand set for £125 and I will now go and get my handicap sorted!

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
Davide   Shoots in the 90s [Jul 15, 2012]
Model Reviewed: Mizuno mx17

I have owned these clubs for 2 years. I play anywhere from once a week to every other week. The Mizuno mx17 are a very forgiving club. I have scored in the 80's multiple times with these irons. The other week I hit 16 of 18 greens in regulation on a tough coarse that I regularly play. I only scored an 86 because I had 2 drives go OB and I was 7 over for those 2 holes. If not for that I may very well have broke 80 for the first time. my putting was off that day too. Anyone looking for a game improvement iron would like these irons. The only issue I have, is that after 2 years, my heads are coming loose from the shafts. My 4 iron head flew off during play and several of my other iron heads are coming loose. Other than that, tey are great irons.

Customer Service

Never had to deal with them.

Similar Products Used: Pine meadows Acer Hollow core and a cheap set of old Northwesterns.
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
paul james   Shoots in the 70s [Nov 27, 2010]
Model Reviewed: mizuno mx17 steel shaft irons

Firstly having started with mizuno irons when I first took the game up 17yrs ago,and having tried most other big brand names,I have come back to mizuno,with the mx17 regular steel shaft irons.The weight of the club and look at address are secound to none and my ball stricking has improved beyond my expectations.Yes you do get a higher ball flight than most other clubs,but I always hit the ball high anyway,so have not lost any distance.For quality clubs at a sensible price mizuno cant be beaten

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
GolfatRichmond   Shoots in the 90s [May 07, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Mizuno MX 17

I got the MX 17's last year and man I am very happy with them. Clean top line feels like a players club. The face is very hot. If you hit down on the ball the club will do the rest. And its looks don't hurt either. Keep the groves clean and the lower irons with stick the ball on the green and may even get some spin action on the ball. The irons do allow you to work the ball on the low irons.

Customer Service

Have not needed customer service.

Similar Products Used: Ben Hogan Apex CFT edge
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
chan   Shoots in the 80s [Dec 31, 2008]
Model Reviewed: mx 17

i used these irons for about 2 years, and they are extremly forgiving
if you mis-hit, itll go off target, but in a straight line, so you can push or pull the ball, but hooks and slices generally dont happen
i used stiff graphite shaft, and a sweet spot shot would feel awesome, but they had the weight spread out just enough that the mis hits didnt jar your hands.
ive improved enough to try a set of mizuno mp 32 (the quality of the mx 17s lead me to go on to another mizuno set)
but me getting used to a set of blades is a different story for a different review

bottom line, these clubs are very forgiving and fly with a good amount of spin on a consistant trajectory

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
Available At:
grayson   Shoots in the 90s [Jun 22, 2008]
Model Reviewed: mizuno mx 17

I took these out on the course today for my first round with them. I had been to the range a few times and knew I liked them. I ended up shooting 98 but I had a par 4 birdie and 2 pars (which is actually good for me). These are so easy to get up in the air and seem to go pretty long too. I'm 31 and have only been golfing for 3 years now but I've used a lot of different clubs. If you are semi-new to the game and are looking for something that looks good and works even better then I sat try these out. I got mine for $280 in "like new" condition on ebay. HIGHLY recommended!

Customer Service

No need so far

Similar Products Used: mizuno mx23, mx19, mx900
ping i3, i5
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
jones   Shoots in the 80s [Apr 03, 2008]
Model Reviewed: mizuno mx 17

these are my first "real" set of irons, i had cheap ones before and you can definatly tell the differnence with these, they just feel so comfortable and yes they are frogiving. I have to say i just love the 6 iron and 9iron, and when i swing with these clubs i always feel great, before with my old clubs i felt unsure wheter my shot was staying on the course, best 300 quid i spent, and go great with cobra x speed driver and hippo hex woods.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
drew niedert   Shoots in the 90s [Sep 26, 2007]
Model Reviewed: mizuno mx 17

Wow I bought these to take my game to the next level and they sure have done that. These clubs are very forgiving with miss hits. I had graphite shafted clubs and these are steel that took a few rounds to get used to. The only complaint is the grips felt small so I regripped with winn cords.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Drew Niedert   Shoots in the 90s [Sep 08, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Mizuno MX 17

If you want forgiving straight shots this is the set to have. I bought the steel shafts that took a little getting used to. I had graphite shafts on last set of clubs. I had to change stance a little but was no problem. The only fault for me was the grips are to small but will wait for winter to change them

Similar Products Used: Zevo ZV-2, Ping I-5
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
DO'T   Shoots in the 90s [Aug 07, 2007]
Model Reviewed: MX-17

I had a 10 year old set (Palmer Statesman) that was working fine, but my friends were making fun of them. I always liked the look and feel of Mizuno clubs, so when I saw a bargain on Rock Bottom Golf, I bought them. I have the graphite stiff shafts.

The first thing I noticed is that the clean look and the manufacturing quality. The second thing I noticed was that they're heavier than my old clubs. I needed to change my swing a bit, because the weight pushed them towards me and I hit on the toe often. It took a few rounds, but I'm used to them now.

I like them a lot. Hits on the sweet spot feel beautiful, and the ball goes straight with a nice boring trajectory. Mis-hits also go straight (that is, without a lot of sidespin), but not necessarily towards the target.

I didn't gain any distance over my old clubs, maybe even lost some.

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 40  
Available At:
Available At:

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com