Mizuno MX-900 Irons

Available At:
MX-900

  • High Strength Steel
  • Maximum Durability
  • Hollow Technology

User Reviews (65)

Showing 1-10 of 65  
maiomai   Shoots in the 80s [Nov 20, 2013]
Model Reviewed: MX-900

I must have bought the MX-900 set 3-PW from Bert (the hater) on EBay really cheap. His lost is my gain ! I've played with this set for 3 rounds and the feedback of every club is fantastic. I just aim and strike the ball with complete confidence, even with 3/4 iron. Lookout partners !

Customer Service

No need.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
tom   Shoots in the 80s [Jun 27, 2013]
Model Reviewed: mizuno mx-900

good spacing of distance between clubs, and more control with the short irons, which are very easy to hit.

Some of the reviews have said they lost distance with the shorter irons, which is odd as if your hitting a 9 iron (or any iron) big hits aren't the name of the game, consistency and forgiveness are, which I have found these to be.

I have an average swing speed and find I hit them a few yards longer that the average mathematical distance, but when I open up I can find up to 20 yards more [for those average golfers who like to hit a 7 iron 150-160 yards].

Easy to find these days on ebay for not very much, but still better than some of the 'new tech' stuff.

Customer Service

not used.

Similar Products Used: Taylor (gimmick) Made burners, callaway x-22, mizuno mx-200
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
Luke   Shoots in the 80s [Dec 18, 2011]
Model Reviewed: MX-900

After using a cheap Greg Norman (Shark) brand of irons, I was immediately impressed with the soft feel of the mx-900's. Since starting with them 6 years ago the only thing that ever became any sort of problem was when one of the weights came loose in the 6-iron (no biggy there). What makes these irons superior than it's opponent brands would be how much easier it is to hit the 3 & 4 irons their respective distance, in some cases the 4 iron will easily fly past my 5 wood (both on good shots). Overall I would recommend the mx-900's to any beginner who has already built up a strong swing (as brand new golfers might be a little overwhelmed with the weight of the longer irons) as these clubs are very great for their reasonable price.

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used: N/A
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
telcodean   Shoots in the 80s [Nov 08, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Mizuno Mx-900 Irons

I have held off from writing a review on the mx-900 irons. I had tha problem looking at a thick top line and couldn't get past it for over a year. I was not hitting them well and kept going back to my old mizuno mx-20 irons. How ever i knew it wasn't the irons it was me. I decided on taking a couple of golf lessons. Low and behold it really was me and not the clubs. The instructor fixed my swing and I put in a lot of practice session. I know love these clubs they are more forgiving and with the lofts being a bit stronger I have gained more distance using them. I am now feeling the effects of hitting the sweet spot with these clubs feels like butter is the best I can describe it. I am 58 years old and I am not a longer hitter I hit my 5 iron 170 yards.I can also hit the 4 and 3 iron with I couldn't do with my other clubs these are like hitting a hybrid. I love these clubs now. I recommend these clubs for those that are mid to high handicap.

Customer Service

Never had to use them. Bought clubs on E-Bay

Similar Products Used: Wilson Staff OS- Olimar Trimetal-Taylormade rac
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
arun_s   Shoots in the 90s [Feb 13, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Mizuno MX-900

I was playing with a beginner set (Wilson steel shaft). As my passion for the game increased decided to go in for better clubs. Tried Callaway X-22, Taylormade Burner Plus and the Mizuno 950s. Based on the feel which was the best in the MX900, as well as the fact that the progressive sole thickness suited all terrains (harder fairways, rough) decided on these (graphite shaft). I got about 10-15 yards immediately - though the loft perhaps also had some role to play. Simultaneously worked on my swing mechanics and can now confidently hit the 3 & 4 irons. The good thing about these irons are that even if i hit them fat I only lose 10-20 yards and they go straight. I've hit fat and off-line some times, but am able to come back into play. However you do lose distance from the rough. These clubs also get a lot of attention due to their looks. Have no problem with the short-irons which are standard sole. I realized that the mid and long irons work pretty well if you pick the ball (like I do). Very happy with it and only see my game improving with it. Have dropped 10 strokes since April on my recently obverhauled course (7000 yds from the white tees, course rating of 73.1 and slope rating of 131). Feel confident of breaking 90 now and am close to it.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
gerryb39   Shoots in the 80s [Aug 03, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Mizuno MX900 irons

I am a golf equipment junky and have owned many, many different iron sets.
The MX900's are absolutely the best overall irons I have ever played.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Steve   Shoots in the 90s [Jul 18, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Mizuno MX-900 irons

I had the same Ping ISI irons for approx 15 yrs. Liked them and was hitting them better than ever the last few years but thought I should try some new technology. Hit the Mizunos at the shop and they felt better than several others I tested , including Titleist and Callaway. However, I didn't want to pay the price for a new set. Got a great deal on EBay a couple of months ago and I am 100% pleased . I hit the short irons 10 yds longer than my Pings and the middle irons 15-20 yds longer but with less draw. The feel of these at contact is soft but very solid at the same time. Difficult to describe but a very pleasing feel. I have talked to some single-digit players who swear by Mizuno irons and I am understanding why.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
db   Shoots in the 70s [Jun 20, 2009]
Model Reviewed: mx900

I recently purchased the mx900 and traded in my taylormade racs. I loved my taylormades, but the feel of the mx900's are great and the clubs a great buy

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Robert Cabot   Shoots in the 80s [Apr 23, 2009]
Model Reviewed: MX 900

These are the best clubs I've ever hit ... the results are very predictable. They are slightly longer than the Cobra model I had prior. Love them ... you will as well.

Customer Service

Very good customer service. I was measured for these clubs

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
jjloans   Shoots in the 70s [Apr 15, 2009]
Model Reviewed: MX-900

Superb irons. Mine came with Nippon NS Pro 950 S flex steel shafts, and they are a dream to hit. Well worth the upgrade shaft, as I do not care for the DG SL shaft. Great feel, great balance and the distance, in spite of one bone-head's remarks is just fine.. even a bit longer than many.

I have the full set of irons, 3-PW, no hybrids, and the 3 and 4 irons are very easy to hit.

I also really like the slightly heavier than average swing-weight. I think this is the most important first step in finding irons to suit... and I have hit so many different irons I am getting a little dizzy. The favorite swing-weight (for you) will make any iron a much better performer. The Pings, for example are great clubs, especially the G5's and the i10's, but I found the stock weight's to be too light... and they just did not perform (for me).

The forged feel of this set is just fabulous. The head design is perfect, not to much game improvement clunkiness, but enough, mostly in the sole, to make hitting them a breeze. Spin is fine, trajectory is on the high side, but still very good.

Overall, the best irons I have hit. Not too many available on Ebay, and for a good reason, most people keep them!

These irons should work well for just about any golfer, even the low Hdcp.. hey, easy is good!

Finally found a set I think I can stick with for many years. OH, and IMO, they are beautiful!

Bert, U are a meat-head. The short irons perform just as well as the others, and the distances are consistent and perfect.

Customer Service

NA

Similar Products Used: Most everything. P.S. Very happy with my Yes Dianna C-groove putter, and my Hogan Sure-out wedges.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 65  
Available At:
Available At:

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com