Orlimar TriMetal Plus Fairway Woods

Available At:
TriMetal Plus

User Reviews (77)

Showing 1-10 of 77  
Francis Davis   Shoots in the 100s [Apr 02, 2017]
Model Reviewed: TriMetal Plus

Found a Trimetal 9 degree in a shed I cleaned out. Best club in my bag so I bought a set of irons online to replace my Maxfly irons I won at a raffle. My game has improved immensely. Playing short game at TOPGOLF driving range I always make top of the leader board and with woods hit the ditch offen

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
bogegolf   Shoots in the 90s [Feb 07, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Trimetal plus fairway woods

I started golfing about 9 years ago. One of the first clubs I bought was a trimetal knock off, it was also the most enduring club in my bag. About 4 years ago I started messing around with other fairway woods only to find great dissapointment. None of them feel right, set up right or inspire confidence like trimetals. So now I have several Trimetal fairway woods and the + versions are fantastic. They give me a feeling of confidence and strike long solid and straight like no other fairway club. It is true that they are best used on short grass, but thats what a fairway wood is for. In the rough I just use an iron or hybrid. I love Nike drivers and cobra Irons, but for the long fairway shots, Orlimar is my go to club.. Perfection is never outdated..

Similar Products Used: Nike t-40 and t-60. Taylormade, Cobra, and too many knock offs..
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
sgb   Shoots in the 80s [May 30, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Orlimar TriMetal Plus fairway metal

These Orlimar TriMetal fairway metals are great clubs. In my opinion, no club manufacturer has ever been able to match the Orlimar TriMetal Plus fairways. This club is actually easier to hit than a hybrid. (You and I both know that the
only reason clubmakers come out with new clubs each year is to sell them. Most golfers assume that new models must be better clubs -- only occasionally do new models actually possess technological advantages over the previous ones.) The alpha-maraging face provides an excellent feel to well-struck shots as well as a nice "dink" sound. The sole weighting allows a very nice trajectory. They have one of the best shafts ever made in a True Temper EI-70+ graphite shaft. I have this club in 12*, 14*, 18*, and 22*. I will never use any other fairway metals. They can now be had for a song on eBay -- even if you're a terrible musician :-)

Customer Service

Never needed.

Similar Products Used: TM Burner (stainless steel - around 1995 model)
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
mefedward   Shoots in the 80s [Nov 10, 2007]
Model Reviewed: orlimar trimetal 13 degree

I found this club in my basement today. I tried it and it is great.I hit it about 230 and you can hit it from any lie, including bunkers. It easily outperformes my old taylormade burner plus 3 wood. Great club.

Customer Service

Very cood customer service.

Similar Products Used: Lynx Parallax 15 degree, Taylormade Burner plus 15 degree.
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
Maaan_I_Hate_Dis_Place   Shoots in the 90s [Jun 26, 2005]
Model Reviewed: Trimetal+ 14* Fairway Metal

Phenomenal. All of the hype surrounding these clubs is true. The original version of these metals were unbelievable in terms of the distance they gave you off the fairway, but they were brutally hard to hit because of the super-shallow face. Well, they got it right with the re-release of the Trimetal+, now using an all black clubhead and all black shaft for a nice address. The shaft is better than the originals, too (made by Aldila). The amount of effort required to hit this club is so small that you really have to hit the thing to believe it. You can swing like a complete pud and the ball absolutely rockets off the face. For someone like me, who doesn't drive the ball particularly long, this club is a dream come true on par 5s. And it's so forgiving, which is the weirdest part about it. I it it once of the toe so badly I could feel the shaft torque, but when I looked up it was headed straight... not as far as a center hit, but I wasn't dropping out of the woods. The extra clubhead size really makes these clubs a winner. The originals were great, but weren't easy to hit or forgiving. The plus versions do not require a pro's swing to hit. My swing is average at best, but this club does all the work for me. You can get them for $30 or $40 on eBay for the old model. The re-releases (black) are on many sites for $80... an absolute bargain. Try them out... if you don't like them you'll have NO problem selling them. It's a win win situation. I doubt you'll be giving them up when you're hitting par 5s in 2.

Customer Service

Not used.

Similar Products Used: I'm a bit of an Orlimar junky after using the original TriMetals... have used their HipTi driver, TriMetal driver, and original TriMetal fairway woods.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
headhunter   Shoots in the 80s [Jun 06, 2005]
Model Reviewed: Orlimar Trimetal Plus 14 plus

I've had this 3 wood for approximately 5 years now. I was shocked to see them brand new at Golfsmith for $39.99! That is one of the best deals that I've seen, because this is an outstanding 3 wood. Sweet Sound, I carry it about 240 and I can get it out great in difficult lies. I can hit a draw or fade with it also. This is a great club at an even great value these days.

Similar Products Used: Callaway Big Bertha 3 wood
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Greg M.   Shoots in the 100s [Feb 09, 2005]
Model Reviewed: Orlimar Trimetal Plus

I have a 10.5* driver and an old 17* TaylorMade 3 wood, so I wanted something in between for fairways. I got the 14* Trimetal and I really like it. Swings easy, gives a good trajectory, and has a nice sound at impact. This club was only $80 brand new at Golfsmith, which is one reason why I bought it.

Customer Service

NA

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
mhaslego   Shoots in the 80s [Dec 16, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Orlimar plus 12, 16, and 20

I have never been long off the tee and I have hit every driver made. When I hit what I felt was a great drive it would end up around about 250 yards. But most of the time I would be in the rough and in Florida the rough can eat you alive. Then a friend gave me the 12* for my birthday. I hit it 240 to 250 yards STRAIGHT every time! These clubs are also great if you like to work the ball. I have been learning to draw the ball and last night I went out and hit some 260 to 270 yard drives for the first time in my life!! The EI-70 shafts are what make these clubs so good. They feel perfectly balanced and swing very easy. So I went out and bought the 16 and 20 and couldn't be happier. Especially since I got them on ebay for $25 each!!!

Customer Service

Never had to use it.

Similar Products Used: Name it I have tried it!!!
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Chuck   Shoots in the 80s [Dec 10, 2004]
Model Reviewed: 18* trimetal plus five wood

I know that the orlimars have been knocked for thie low profiles and "pop up tendencies", but C'MON! If you think it's a fluffy lie and you'll get under it use a hybrid or something else. These are great clubs with a low center of gravity and are not prone to twisting! They are still longer than virtually anything new and pros still use them. I have a three wood as well. You can pick these gems up for about $40, in like new condition.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
The_DeathstalkR   Shoots in the 100s [Nov 20, 2004]
Model Reviewed: 14 degree orlimar

ever since I got this wood I can absolutley crush it if I hit it just right but it has a stiff shaft on it and i use regular flex so i need to reshaft it and it came with a golf pride grip on it and i hate golf pride so im going to out a winn arrow grip on it and then i will really be able to crush it

Customer Service

unknown

Similar Products Used: Integra Saberhawk, Wilson Prostaff (good club but way to big of a head)
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 77  

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com