Peerless Golf Peerless Tour Irons

Peerless Tour

Peerless Tour - The original Hosel Weighted Iron. The Peerless Tour is a classic pro-line style, with the added benefit of Hosel Weighting! Thin top line, minimum offset - these exact models have been played, AND WON WITH, on the PGA Tour!! If you are the type of golfer who demands tour styling, but recognizes the scoring advantages of game improvement designs, The Peerless Tour is the perfect iron for you!......Available 3-PW, singles in 1, 2, GW, SW, & LW.

User Reviews (14)

Showing 1-10 of 14  
happy golfer   [Nov 06, 2017]
Pros: Great looking design and I bought them for a real knock down price. They had been custom made for someone who did not return to collect them. I saw them in a pro shop clearance sale for £25.00 (UK). They needed shat extensions to bring them to the correct length for me and new grips. Great clubs at a bargain price.
Price: 25.00   Purchased: [Used]   Year Purchased: 2014
OVERALL
RATING
5
Randy Miller   Shoots in the 80s [Nov 01, 2016]
Model Reviewed: Palmer Peerless PHD

I built a set of the Palmer Peerless PHD irons several years ago and loved them. I played three to four times a week. I had TT Lite shafts in them and could hit my 7 iron 165 yards easy. I must have done a good job because while sitting in the 19th hole one evening someone helped themselves to my set. They left my bag. I would like to build some new ones with graphite shafts as I am 66 years old and have two open heart surgeries in the last 4 years. Could you steer me in the right direction?

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Larry Soto   Shoots in the 80s [Jul 28, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Peerless PhD irons

I bought my Peerless irons some 6 years ago from a closing golf shop. They have Prologic graphite stiff shafts with Lamkin (Palmer)grips. When I first played them I found the shafts to be too light for me. So off to the garage they went till now. But now that I'm a few years older(52) I'm going to give them another try. I had a good session at the range with them yesterday so back in play they go. I like the head size and design with the fin on the back side of the heads. Cobra has an iron set with the same fin on the back of iron head. It's to help keep the face of the club from turning off when swinging through the rough. I have found that I gain distance with them. The graphite shafts being so so does leave a bit to be desired but the accuracy and distance is hard to beat. These clubs are worth trying out. They fit a mid to low handicapper. I shoot in the mid to low 80's. I'll be putting them into a club match play this weekend. Will see how it goes.

Similar Products Used: I have played almost every club out there, Titleist 990's, 735's, Hogan Radials, Apex, Apex Plus & Pro, Taylormade R7 regular & TP's, Ping Eye 2's, I's, 59's' Mizuno blades, 67 cut muscles, on and on....
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
BobBill   Shoots in the 80s [Dec 14, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Peerless Tour

Played Ping I3 blades, Wilson Staff and others, 80s/90s game. I bought the Palmer/Peerless no-offset Tours in 2000. They play as good as any head sold and better than most, high loft notwithstanding. I like to move the ball around and experiment - not score oriented. Dead accurate...The sister set Acura irons rival any proline head.

Customer Service

No comments, well made, no abnormalities, loft and lie accurate, take a beating well. for the money, nothing better. Too bad the firm was poorly managed.

Similar Products Used: Peerless Acura irons, Ping I3 Blades, Wilson Staff irons, Maltby, Ping Zing irons.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
jeff lowe   Shoots in the 70s [May 20, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Peerless Tour Irons

I am an amateur clubmaker and had 6,7,8,and 9 iron heads lying around for about 3 years and never shafting them.

I took them out to the range today and HOLY COW!!!

These may be the best set of irons I have ever hit in my life!

So unbelievably forgiving for a small head.

I usually draw and hook the ball but with these if you put a good swing on them they go very straight.

Just a fantastic set of irons I really can not believe how good these are!

Customer Service

Apparently the new Peerless Tour Irons are now made of 431 stainless which are much easier to bend and feel softer.

Similar Products Used: I have hit just about everything. Ping, Taylor Made, Callaway, Bridgestone, Macgregror, Srixon, Titleist, etc, etc.

These are without a doubt the best irons for me by far.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
grob02   Shoots in the 80s [Sep 03, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Peerless Tour

Welcome home Peerless Tours, and welcome back golf game!!!!!!!! I had a set of these custom made for me back in 2001 w/ True Temper TT Lite shafts & WOW!!! That summer I shot the only round of par in my life. Like an idiot, I got caught up in the marketing monster of the big companies and got rid of them. After a few years of struggling to find "the perfect set", I stumbled across another golf store which had these heads. I had them custom build them with the same shafts (TT Lite) and thank goodness!!!! And for the great value of $169.00!! WOW!! Workable, forgiving, great feedback, and super value! DON'T CONTINUE TO FUND THE BIG COMPANIES' MARKETING BUDGETS JUST SO THEY CAN KEEP DUPING PEOPLE INTO BUYING, TRADING, LOSING, BUYING AGAIN, TRADING AGAIN, ETC.

Customer Service

Haven't needed

Similar Products Used: Cleveland TA5,7, Callaway X14, taylor made Rac os
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
freddyc   Shoots in the 70s [Jul 30, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Peerless Tour 3-PW DGS-300

what a set of irons, they are very easy to work either way. had them custom from Peerless direct. 5 iron 38", lies adjusted for my swing left lofts standard, DGS-300 shafts, golfpride tour wrap grips. deliverd to my house for 227.95. why are folks spending 800.00 for irons when you can get a tour proven set fitted to your specs for a fraction of name brands. these are very solid and very long. I am going to order two more sets of heads to keep so I can play these babies for the rest of my days. best kept secret in golf.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Tom B   Shoots in the 80s [Apr 17, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Peerless Tours

I'm a guy who likes to tinker with golf clubs. I've built a half a dozen iron sets looking for "the one", not really thinking I would find it. 3 years ago I built a set of Peerless Tours with DG R300s. I love the feedback and forgiveness these clubs provide. A poor swing produces a terrible feeling, but the perimeter weighting bails you out. You expect this from a cavity back. What you don't expect is how sweet they feel when you pure a shot. This design is very consistent. I've hit many clubs since, namebrand and otherwise. Nothing has felt this good.

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used: Several Golfsmith and Golfworks head designs. MacGregor Tourneys. Tommy Armour.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
jordoo   Shoots in the 70s [Dec 27, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Peerless PHD Tour

Ahh my PHD tours.Very nice.I played these clubs with Dynamic Gold S-300's.Narrow top line almost looks like a blade at addres.These clubs have excellent feel and feedback 4 not being a true blade.Easy 2 work the ball with.Although these are old standard loft I hit them as long as anything else I've played.Very consistant action and shot shape with these clubs. However I did say that I played these in the past tense.After 2 seasons I was unhappy with my distance controll.This is most likly a personal prefferance and nit a club flaw.I also hit irons extremly long(Especially my phd tours)and I think that was the problem. I switched to hogan Apex II blades after trying manny other blades.However can't bring myself to get rid of my Peerless. Over all great clubs and an exceptional vallue to boot

Similar Products Used: Ram Senator Blades,Top Flight Tour Blades,TaylorMade Knock offs(Yuck),Hogan Apex II Blades ect...
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
golfingary1   Shoots in the 70s [Sep 04, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Peerless Tour

I'm one of those golfers that constantly tinkers with various golf clubs. I've been through Pings, Taylormades, Wilsons, Hogans and numerous clone custom sets. I had the good fortune to be in the right place at the right time when one of my golfing buddies was getting rid of a set that he couldn't hit and they were the Peerless Tour version. He is 18 handicapper and just could manage the non offset feature of the Peerless Tours so he flat out gave them to me. I promptly reshafted these babbies with what I consider to be the best shaft going, Dynamic Gold S-300 and a set of Lampkin full cords. I did find that after a few rounds I needed to tweak the lie angles in the wedges through the 8 iron to fit my swing. They are difficult but not impossible to bend. A special bar is needed to fit the hosel weight and may be difficult club maker with this type of equipment. That is about the only drawback I can find with these clubs. I suppose the non offset model may not be for everyone and may be better suited for the PHD model.

Customer Service

If you are considering a custom fitted set of irons I strongly recommend Peerless Tours and use a reputable club fitter.

Similar Products Used: Ping, Taylormade, Hogan, Wilson
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 14  

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com