Ping SI3 Drivers

Available At:
SI3

Ping® Si3 Forged Titanium Driver Thin, Fully Forged Face technology for maximum energy transfer and distance. Color coded, custom fit hosels (face and lie angle) for accuracy. Patented variable face thickness. 340cc’s. Strategic weighting to help square face at impact. Reduced overall weight for added clubhead speed.

User Reviews (56)

Showing 1-10 of 56  
Espen   Shoots in the 80s [Jun 19, 2017]
Model Reviewed: Ping Si3 regular flex

When I got this club at the age of 14 (12 years ago), I sliced every single shot. I wasn't able to hit it straight/fade/draw.
After a break for 11 years, I have now tested it again. After some adjustment to swing (after all the years), almost every shot was slight fade or draw. On the driving range (driving range balls), I carry the ball about 230 yards (+/- 10 yards).

Overall a nice club in my opinion with great response to a sweet spot-hit. But also kinda forgiving to a heel or toe hit. Distance wont be there, but atleast it comes of pretty straight.

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
Available At:
John Nelson   Shoots in the 90s [Sep 30, 2013]
Model Reviewed: Ping Si3

My playing partner dragged out his Si3 after having it sit in garage for several years.He wasn't having any luck with it so I asked if I could have a hit with it. I immediately proceeded to hit it straight down the centre 290 yards and continued to use it with outstanding success for the rest of the round. I jokingly asked how much He wanted for it to which he replied, "you can have it" I love the deep face and despite the reasonably small head compared to todays drivers I find it very easy to hit.

Customer Service

None

Similar Products Used: Previously used Mizumo MK560 which sounds like an empty tin can. Good distance and reasonably accuracy but the sound is very offputting and annoying
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
Romy   Shoots in the 80s [Jun 13, 2010]
Model Reviewed: ping si3

I brought an 7* x-stiff for $70. It took me about a week to get use to it. Then I compared my old driver(king cobra 370 9*) i hit that 285 yds. Then swich to my ping Si3, I ended up hitting it 323 yards. I can say that it one of the best driver I ever hit.

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
2
Available At:
sportsnut3576   Shoots in the 90s [Aug 20, 2005]
Model Reviewed: Ping si3 driver

This club works great for me. It plays longer than any driver I have used. I am 13 and I used to drive around 190 to 205 yards and now I hit around 220 to 230. In conclusion this is a great club.

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
Brent Nadeau   Shoots in the 90s [Feb 16, 2005]
Model Reviewed: 7* Fuji Speeder X-stiff

Last night a tried a 983 E and loved it, and even reviewed it, stating that I would happily trade my 975 L-FE for it. Today, while getting fitted for my irons, I tried one of these...and traded my 975 L-FE for it. This thing was amazing. the distance was about the same on the simulator as my L-FE...maybe a couple yards longer, but straight down the fairway, no matter how hard I would swing. Even the pro there couldn't believe it...he felt I would hit a higher loft better, we tried, and the 7* was the best for me hands down. $175 for a club with a $400 shaft on it is not a bad deal in my book...can't wait for this snow to melt.

Customer Service

I don't know, but I heard they are the best...hope I never have to find out!

Similar Products Used: 983 E, Cleveland 330, Tisi Tec.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
golfman16   Shoots in the 90s [Nov 02, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Ping Si3 6* 340cc Driver Stiff Flex

I was using a beginner set of clubs and was driving the ball pretty far with my cheap driver but felt I could be better with a more advanced club. I got the Ping Si3 Titanium 6* Driver with a Stiff Flex off ebay for $80. At first it was hard to hit, probably the steep angle (6*). Once I got used to it I was driving the ball consistantly 295 yards and could shape my shots pretty well. It is very solid when hit and still goes pretty far on off-center hits.

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
hairygoat   Shoots in the 80s [Sep 20, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Ping Si3

Brought the Ping after a few years with the Wilson. Tried a number (all the usual top 10) with a variety of mixed results. The Si3 is certainly peculiar in appearance, however the high face seems to encourages me to tee it further up. It doesn't sound like most thin faced drivers do these days (that tinny ping noise), but when it comes out of the screws it really goes. I've played about a dozen rounds with it so far and it is far more consistent than the club it replaced. I get a good consistent distance and am able to work it both ways with some control. It seems to be able to put up with the inconsistencies of my swing better than others I have tried, and I think that in the end that is what you most hope for.

Customer Service

No need as yet

Similar Products Used: Wilson Deep Red, Callaway GBB II
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
striker   Shoots in the 90s [Aug 18, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Si 3 ping driver

I was using the Cleveland Launcher 330 for about 2 years, but really never felt good about the club. I recently found the Si3 on 3balls.com for 143.00. I had to try it! It is AWESOME! I've havent pounded the ball like this for a long time. Instead of using a stiff shaft I went to the graffaloy regular shaft. I also went to a 10 degree compared to the 9.5 I was using. I also took advantage of the 58 deg. Lie and 1 deg. closed face. This has enabled me to hit nice long draws consistantly. Bottom line is: This Driver is long and very easy to hit. I have more confidence than ever! I highly suggest this club

Customer Service

3 balls .com has some good deals, but choice is limitied. You almost have to check back each day to see what they have. I ordered the club off the web, but the shipping and stuff went really well. they also have good package tracking.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Somatics   Shoots in the 70s [Aug 05, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Ping SI3

The SI3 remains an interesting enigma. I tend to suffer from the flavour of the month club phenomena. I try a lot of different big sticks looking for more yards. My average carry before roll is 250, and I went with an SI3 (340 cc) 10 degree red dot with an Aldila One stiff flex shaft. The face of the SI3 is not as hot/explosive as some but generally gets you down the middle of the fairway. Nothing exceptionally impressive but also predictable with very few surprises. I liked the depth of the face of this club and was the primary factor that drew my attention to it in the first place. It's easy to hit but not necessarily the driver that will stay in my bag. The Ashton moly-ti head on an Accuflex Assasin II stiff flex has proven to be both longer, hotter, and equally as forgiving. I'll take the yards and the Ashton. I really wanted to like this club and while I do not dislike it, I am not doing cartwheels over it. It's a reasonable, stable, predictable driver with very little "wow" factor. Good luck and happy hunting.

Similar Products Used: GBB II, ERC Fusion, Titleist 983K, Ashton, TaylorMade R540 XD, Cleveland Launcher, Integra Sooo Long,
OVERALL
RATING
3
Value
RATING
3
jfw432   Shoots in the 80s [Jul 24, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Si3 8°

I was using my $50 Protec driver off ebay and loved it. Hit it around 280-320 yards and usually straight. I can hit the Si3 over 300 yards with ease if it's straight. I decided to buy the Si3 because a friend would brag about it and how nice it would be. Got a really great deal on a demo model on ebay. I hit it pretty straight but not as much as my old driver. This is most likely because the Si3 is an 8° and my old driver was 10.5°. My only beef with this club is the shaft. You can't change the shaft easily like a normal club. It has to be specially done or you have to be able to find an adapter and even then it takes someone with a lot of skill to do it. I hate graphite shafts on a driver but I guess I have to deal with it.

Similar Products Used: Various drivers....the one thing I've learned is that no matter how good the club, a decent swing and a good driver work well. A great club and a crappy swing still have crappy results.
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 56  

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com