Ping G5 Irons

Available At:
G5

Designed in multiple sections for maximum performance, the radius of the lead edge helps improve ground impact for better ball impact. Enhanced perimeter weighting maked the G5 iron very forgiving. By increasing the moment of inertia, off center shots are straighter and distance loss is decreased.

User Reviews (71)

Showing 1-10 of 71  
nhpro   Shoots in the 80s [Aug 31, 2015]
Model Reviewed: Ping G2

I have been using the G2 irons for a year or so and have found them to be "excellent" irons to hit.
The best set I've owned.

Customer Service

n/a

Similar Products Used: Wilson,Callaway,Golfsmith,Dynacraft
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
Dennis R. Peterson   Shoots in the 70s [Jul 26, 2012]
Model Reviewed: g5

I,ve played Ping clubs for over 40 years. G5 are great clubs to hit, but the workmanship is not what I expect from Ping. I had 5 of the back balance weight come off. finally had the whole set done. My G5's spend more time in pings repair shop than they did in my bag.There service was soso, but had a none caring attitude. After 40 years I have Taylormades in my Bag.

Customer Service

So so, none caring

Similar Products Used: Ping eyes, eye11, zings, zing11, ISI, G2
OVERALL
RATING
2
Value
RATING
2
shagmut   Shoots in the 80s [Mar 24, 2012]
Model Reviewed: ping5g

, picked up a set of g5's a coupled of weeks ago at golf galaxy they were white dots,had them adjusted for my swing which came out to be blue dot.these clubs are just awesome,nice balance feel to them,between taking lessons and having these clubs i hope to really improve my iron game.

Similar Products Used: cleveland ta5 titleist dci981
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
Roel Castor   Shoots in the 80s [Apr 28, 2011]
Model Reviewed: G5

It is a great club, very forgiving and I would not trade it for anything now.... Price was very forgiving also.... I bought it new 2010 and was on sale due to other new models are already available like the g10 and g15....

i have more control with my shots now than ever

Customer Service

The free fitting was great! We used a launch monitor and the clubs now suited my swing for now... But the free retro fitting is even appealing when my swing is more stable I will definitely avail the retro fitting to check if my clubs are still in sync...

Similar Products Used: CG gold was good but no fitting for the clubs and I have to use the standard lie....
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Victor   Shoots in the 90s [Aug 16, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Ping G5 irons

This year, I found a set of used G5s (4-PW,) and figured I'd revisit Ping irons; I'm glad I did. From almost the first swing, I felt at home with these clubs. They are very forgiving and easy to hit consistently. I normally don't carry a 4-iron, but with this set I do. Some won't like the high trajectory of these irons. When it comes to the average golfer, I find it to be more advantageous than detrimental - especially with the 4 & 5 irons.

I've seen others say these irons make it very difficult to work the ball. With this contention, I totally disagree. I'm not very skilled, and I can work the ball in either direction. No sweeping hooks or slices, but I view that limitation as a benefit, not a negative. When I overdo a cut or draw (which is more often than not,) the damage is limited.

In general, I think these clubs are spectacular. Especially now that they've been around a while and can be had for little cash. I also love the simple and plain styling. The G5s are work horse irons, not primadonnas.

Customer Service

I've dealth with Ping CS in the past and they were always very friendly and responsive to my needs.

Similar Products Used: Ping i3; Callaway Big Bertha 2004.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
benzz32   Shoots in the 80s [Aug 03, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Ping G5 Irons

I have had my G5 Irons for 3 years now, and have, since day 1 felt like there couldnt be better feeling club out there. Im sure there are clubs out there that might technically out perform them, but for an 11 handicapper, they have given me the confidence that I need to step up and believe that I can put my ball just about anywhere I want to (with about 5 yards). Very consistant feel, Very forgiving, very strong, and well balanced club. When I wear these into the ground, I will come right back to Ping. (Ive played with Talyormades, Callaways, Cobras, Nike, & Adams...none felt as clean and true than my Ping G5s)

Customer Service

Have never needed them... to me thats the best customer service you can find!

Similar Products Used: Taylormade, Callaway, Cobra, Nike, & Adams
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Tony   Shoots in the 80s [Jul 05, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Ping G5

All I can say is ....Sweet! These irons have been the best improvement to my game.Not all are created equal. I'm 6'3.and my irons were ordered 3/4" longer,and green dot. I was hitting stock off the shelf irons,and was shooting in the low 90's. Now that I something that actualy fits me,I'm shooting in the low 80's. I went from sraying the ball,to hitting the green on my second shoot.(par 4's) the club is so fogiving..I Love Them!

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
Jawgm2001   Shoots in the 100s [Jun 25, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Ping G5 white dot

I got the G5 white dot irons and the first time I used them I noticed an improvment in my game. Some friends I play with who are better golfers told me that they feel a little heavy.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Marty phillips   Shoots in the 80s [Jun 02, 2010]
Model Reviewed: G5 irons

I got a good price on these at a local pro shop. Salesman talked me into the G5 blue dot. There is a half a degree diff from the Black dot. They hit real high and not very long. There is no feel to these clubs, it feels like you have a hammer on the end of the club they are so heavy headed. My game did not improve whatso ever. Out of 10 rounds I shot in the 80`s one time. I only hope I can get a good trade in for an I10 or I15. These are not a club I feel would benefit anyone that has been playing the game as long as I have (10 years).

Customer Service

I will find out what kind of service I get after I try and get an upgrade.

Similar Products Used: Beginner Set were FX Rams very cheap but easiest to hit. I just gave up the Cobras for the pings. I use taylormade rescue 3 & 4. I have vokey 58 and 60 degree wedges.
OVERALL
RATING
3
Value
RATING
4
Available At:
Douglas   Shoots in the 80s [Aug 18, 2009]
Model Reviewed: G5 5-PW Graphite Shaft

Recently bought the G5 irons 5-PW graphite shaft set at a clearance sale for $380. I'd have ordinarily preferred steel shaft but I could not resist the temtation of owing a Ping set especially having heard so much about it.
After playing 2 rounds, my comments are:-
a) these irons are easy to hit. It forgives slight swing imperfections. Serious flaws such as topping, push etc get punished with loss of distance and direction.
b) ball flight is high which is good in someways and not good in others. The high ball flight ensures a straight shot but it's difficult to play in windy conditions.
c) the graphite shaft performs consistently i.e. no evidence of twisting but is a tad too soft considering these are aldila-made shafts. My swing speed is measured at around 85-90mph. I guess if I slow down to 80mph, it would be ok.
d) the irons heads are well chromed (matt silver) and well made. However, there is something about the finishing I can't get used to- the matt finishing. It looks plasticky and somehow gives me the impression it is chromed plastics (the website says it is 17-4 stainless steel)
e) even well struck shots has little feedback i.e. there is little or no feel. My Callaway Big Bertha 2004 has some feel on well struck shots despite having undercut channel.
f) the colour coded fitting system (for lie angle variation) is a boon for people who do not fall within the manufacturer's definition of standard body frame. The Callaway Big Bertha does not offer any variation on lie angles and its standard length and lie is tailored for someone who is 5ft 10in with short arms. Ping's standard set up is more sensible as it is 1/2 inch shorter and 1/2 deg flatter. I could not get the red dot set but I could tolerate the standard black dot.
Overall, this is a good set for beginners and high handicappers. Mid to low handicappers will have to look for stiff graphite or steel shafts.

Customer Service

Not needed.

Similar Products Used: Callaway Big Bertha 2004 4-SW
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 71  

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com