Ping i3 O-size Irons

Available At:
i3 O-size

Price for steel shaft

User Reviews (208)

Showing 1-10 of 208  
tpdubai   Shoots in the 70s [Jun 28, 2015]
Model Reviewed: ping 13 oversized

I've done them all since Ping Eye - Ping i25. Left my Ping i3 Blades at my home in Orlando, as a holiday set in 2003. Bought a new set each year and my game went up at least a shot a year......until March 2015, when I bought a set of i3 Oversize on ebay for $50.......re-gripped them and shot 74 first time out, not shot over 80 since.
They are 100% awesome, feel 10 years younger! Get a set whilst you can and save $500 on latest Ping models!

Similar Products Used: Ping Eye, Ping i2, Ping Zing 2, Ping i2+ BeCu (nice, still have not sure how to reshaft), Ping i3 blades (real nice and still have USA), Ping i3+ (stolen), Ping s59, Ping s58 (still have playing UAE), Ping i10, Ping s57 (wrong shaft), Ping i15 (still have and playing France, flight too high), Ping i25 (not sure), Ping i3 OS (now playing UK)
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
noslice   Shoots in the 80s [Mar 18, 2015]
Model Reviewed: Ping i3 o-size irons

I recently picked up a set of Ping i3 O-size irons (3-sw) with True Temper stiff Tri-gold shafts. Apparently, these shafts were only available for one or two seasons back around 2000. From what I've read, they didn't get much love and were discontinued. In any event, I like them a lot. This is my second set of i3 O-size irons. I should have kept the first set a decade ago. I love these clubs. It has taken me about 20 sets to find my way back. I've tried Ping i3+s,i3+ blades, i5s,g2s,g10s,and i15s as well as other brands. My latest set was the g10s. I just couldn't get used to the high ball flight and wide soles.

I've played just a few rounds in cold, windy weather so far, but these irons just want to stay straight. The lower, boring trajectory is perfect- not high like many of the newer game improvement irons. I do think these might be a half club to one club shorter than some of what I've played recently, but won't be sure until I'm able to hit these in warmer weather without 20 mph swirling winds. I really don't care if they are a little shorter because they just feel so right with good contact. They have a bit of a thud sound instead of the clicky sound of newer models.

I've always been partial to Ping irons, and I think these will be my go to clubs for now on. Oh yeah, they are built like tanks.

Similar Products Used: 8 sets of Pings, Callaway x-12s, x-22 tour, x-hot(hated), Diablo forged(my backup set, very nice and long), 3 sets of Mizunos, Titleist 822 OS, Adams CB3s, Cleveland TA5s and TA7s, and others.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
shagnut   Shoots in the 80s [Jun 17, 2012]
Model Reviewed: ping i3 o-size

bought a set of the i3's a few weeks ago,blue dot,so far they feel very comforable when i'am swinging them,even when useing the longer irons(3-4)distance with these irons for me has increase about 10 yards per club.really like the jz shafts in regular flex steel also.if you get a chance try these irons out you may be surprised how much you like them,but make sure you have the proper fit for you.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
Dimplings   Shoots in the 90s [Jun 03, 2012]
Model Reviewed: Ping I-3 OS

No need for yet another post about playability. Let's talk about durability. These, and a handful of other irons from Ping and Callaway, are among the most durable ever made. Newer clubs, even from Ping, are not even in the same category. Case in point, look at two year old Titleist AP1s or AP2s, TaylorMades, Clevelands. Wear is already evident.

Ping used to be an engineering company. Now, like everyone else, it is primarily a marketing company.

Ping's legendary relationship with its customers is a direct result of how well its early clubs were engineered and how well they kept their looks. That may change in the future.

The I-3s I have are the best irons out of 20 or 30 sets I've owned over the years.

They are probably the last of a dying breed of well engineered, well constructed irons.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
bkbroilr   Shoots in the 80s [May 28, 2012]
Model Reviewed: Ping i-3 O Size irons

For the midhandicapper, these are very good irons that many before me have stated, i use the 3-6 irons with TA Evo 31s 7-PW , the Ping longer irons give me that forgiveness and consistency from 220 yds. and the Evos give me that dead accuracy and flight from 160 yds. in , a nice balance. I do intend to take these to a Ping dealer to get the clubheads adjusted, i have the black dots in this model but i find with the 6-PW that i overdraw too much therefore im probably suited for the face to be a bit flatter, probably a red dot code , i do however like the bit of draw i get from the 3 to 5 irons especially in windy conditions so when all is said and done my set will be a mixture of black and red dot lies. Overall, well balanced clubs , they do a little bit of everything , i think next i will venture in the i-3 Blades just being the club junkie i am !

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
HCC   Shoots in the 100s [Jul 31, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Ping i/3 O-Size

I've been playing off and on for over a year now and these were the set my Dad gave me to start out (steel shaft). I've been very happy with them. Whenever I go home, I borrow my Dad's spare Ping G10 set, but I notice I tend to hit the i/3's a little further and just as straight. Without swinging very hard (I have no business putting any real power yet into my golf shots), I can carry my 7 iron about 135 yards. The same shot with the G10 are definitely under 130 to carry. (To put in perspective, I'm about average height and when I've put more around a 90-95% swing and happen to make good contact with the ball, my 7 iron will carry 150)

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
ohioglfr   Shoots in the 80s [May 09, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Ping i3 Osize

I bought these clubs from a friend before I retired. He was tall like me so the clubs were green dot lie and the shafts 1" over. I trimmed 1/2" off the shafts and re-gripped with Lamkin Crossline Jumbos. The shafts were Rifle 6.0. What was nice about this set was the iron mix; the long irons (3-7) were i3 O-Size and the remaining irons (8-LW) were i3 Blades. The O-Size were the easiest-hitting irons I think I've ever played. I was always surprised how these clubs salvaged many bad hits, saving many strokes off my game. Yet, for their size and forgiveness, it's no mean trick to shape your shots. My i3's were donated to a tall kid on the local HS golf team. They're great irons for the beginner and good enough to satisfy some low handicappers. If you are starting out in golf, forget the department store beginner set and get these on Ebay or CraigsList. Get familiar with Ping's color code and fitment chart first, so you end up with clubs suitable to your anatomy and swing angle. You will grow your game with these.

Customer Service

None sought.

Similar Products Used: Armour 845s, 855s.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
Justin   Shoots in the 80s [Apr 17, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Ping I3

I've been playing these for almost ten years and love them. I originally picked up a black dot set brand new from a buddy that owned a chain of golf stores but now Im looking at getting a set of silver dots somewhere. Great forgiveness that doesn't take away from control and spun. The all around perfect club and just as classic and great set of clubs as the ping eye 2's. Thought about going to an i10 but I just like these so much that I really dont need another set maybe just a silver dot in the some model.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Kelly   Shoots in the 70s [Sep 11, 2009]
Model Reviewed: ping i3 O-size

I have played these since their introduction, they are the ONLY club I have found that has a thin top line and still offer a good amount of playability and forgiveness, you cannot "have it all" but with this club you are very very close. I have no idea how far I hit other irons because when I bought these i3's I was a 25 hdcp and now I am a 9, but I dont notice my playing partners hitting clubs further than me. The lofts are a little weaker, but I think that is part of the allure of the club, forgiveness with playability comes at a price, and 5 yards per club is it. you can strike the golf ball anywhere on the face and it still goes straight...thats amazing, given the other attributes. By the way you can buy these on ebay for a song, I just bought a set for ($160) in case any thing ever happens to my babys.

Customer Service

Pings is legendary, at 6 yrs old I went to the svc center in AZ and they repainted the clubs and put new shaft bands on along with new grips...FOR FREE

Similar Products Used: Ping Zings
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
ugoderosa   Shoots in the 80s [Jun 18, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Ping i-3 O-size

Although I replaced my much-loved i3 O-size irons this year with Ping G10's, I must say that the i3 O-size is an outstanding iron. I purchased mine new about 10 years ago and loved the custom fitting. I had the JZ Cushin shafts. Compared to the G10, the G10 is a bit more forgiving, gets the ball in the air easier, and due to the wide sole, resists fat shots when you are getting tired at the end of the round. Having said this, for distance, I don't think the G10's are any longer than the i3's. Anyone looking at the i3's on the used market will be getting a terrific iron. I played mine for about 10 years and I would still play them without hesitation. They still hold value very well compared to other brands, and the evidence of this is the selling prices on ebay for old Ping irons, such as the i3. If you are on a budget and don't want to plunk down serious cash for new irons, take a good long look at the i3 O-size, you will not regret your purchase.

Customer Service

The best.

Similar Products Used: Callaway X-14, TaylorMade, Cleveland, Cobra
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 208  

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com