Ping i3 PLUS BLADE Irons

Available At:
i3 PLUS BLADE

The i3+ Blade appeals to players who seek the classic look and feel of a club with less offset and a smaller head. The reduced offset offers less bounce for better players to "pick" at the ball from tight fairways. PING engineers also put slightly more offset in the shorter irons of the Blade, which helps players "square up" their shots, while still maintaining a classic look throughout the set. A redesigned lead

User Reviews (26)

Showing 1-10 of 26  
Ryan Quellhorst   Shoots in the 80s [Jul 03, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Ping i3 Plus Blade

I struggled with my iron game for many years. I was using a set of Nicklaus EZ-Ups, and couldn’t get the right pop out of my irons. I went to Golfsmith and went through all of their new irons from Taylormade, Cobra, Titleist, Cleveland, Callaway, Mizuno, and Ping. I really don’t like the new low forged style that every golf maker is trying to push, and my Nickalus irons were low forged and I couldn’t hit them at all.

I started to try the Ping i15, I have always heard good things about the Ping brand, and I like the thin styling of the irons. It was reminiscent of the irons I had while I was growing up. After realizing that I wasn’t going to spend $800-$1100 on an iron set I decided to look in the used club selection they have at Golfsmith. My budget was around $200-$400 so I was looking for Ping i-series irons in that price range.

I really liked the Ping i3s. They visually looked powerful like I could cut through any rough and not twist, turn, or slow down. They also added about +10 yards compared to my previous irons. Then I tried the Ping i3+ Blade irons, they were even better than the i3s. They added another +5 yards to my distance, and they traveled even straighter than the i3s. At Golfsmith, the Ping i3+ blades were out of my price range though at $450, so as soon as I got home I jumped on eBay and found them for $230.

I have played these irons for about a month now and absolutely love them. My scores went from 51s to 43-45. These irons have given me much more confidence in my ability, and some much added distance. Yesterday, I hit a 9 iron 140 yards straight at the pin. Try all of the iron manufactures first, then try ping irons and you will feel the difference.

I even made a believer out of my dad who ditched his new Callaway X-20s, and bought some old school Ping Eye2s. He dropped 2 strokes his first time out.

Don’t waste your time on other irons that are gimmicky. Ping is proven performance.

Similar Products Used: Nothing really compares to Ping.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
Marco Ojeda   Shoots in the 80s [Aug 05, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Ping i3+ Blade

I have used every single golf set on the market (Thank you for your patience Roger Dunn).. I have used blades, cavity, hybrid sets and nothing really seemed to work until I found my used set of Ping i3+ blade irons. I have S300 shafts in them and the trajectory and control are simply amazing. They have less offset then the I3's and a bit smaller head but they are quite forgiving. I am still attracted to the pure shiney blades but I like having fun on my golf rounds. I purchased them used for about $250 and well worth the money. You can still find them used so if you can find them, you will not be dissapointed.

Customer Service

Did not have to deal

Similar Products Used: Everything
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Jim   Shoots in the 80s [Sep 09, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Ping i3+ Blades

I always wanted a set of Ping irons, So I got fitted and bought a set. I could not be happier, these irons changed my game the first time out. I can work the ball, they have a very consistent ball flight and I feel they are actually pretty easy to hit. I have used several other brands before but these are by far my favorites. I have a standard length and use a Gold 300 lite shaft. I was a little leary about the lite shaft but I am happy I went with them. I think Ping's quality is fantastic and their designs are simple and effctive, their clubs just work. I have no plans on replacing my i3+ Blades anytime soon. If you can find a set out there give them a swing, I think you will be pleasantly surprised.

Customer Service

Not used.

Similar Products Used: Tommy Armour 845, Callaway x-16, Wilson Staff Tour Blades
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Longshot930   Shoots in the 90s [Aug 04, 2008]
Model Reviewed: ping I3+ Blade

Just a little background I shoot an average of 95-100. with Ping I3 o-size blue dot. Just got the I3+ blade black dot and played a round at a course I usualy shoot closer to 100, and I shot an 89. I thought it was a fluke so I have played 3 more rounds and I have shot two 89's and an 87. Best clubs I'v ever hit. I was getting tired of the offset on the o-size and tried several clubs before I bought the I3+ blades( Titleist 755 and AP-1's, taylormade R7 TP, Callaway X-20, King cobra FP. These were the best for me at 170.00 on Craigslist couldn't beat it.

Customer Service

Used with the I3 o-Size and they were great.

Similar Products Used: Ping I3 O-size, Titleist DCI Black, Cleveland TA-5, Ping I2, Titleist 695
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Murph260   Shoots in the 80s [Jun 30, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Ping i3+ Blade

This review just goes to prove there's no such thing as the best set of clubs, just the clubs that suit you best. As a total opposite to a previous reviewer I have changed from the Titleist 690.cb to Ping i3+ Blades. I loved the 690's and thought I would never change but as I approach my 50's, and not being as supple as I once was, I need technology to give me a helping hand. Whilst I still love the 690's (and still have them)I tried the Pings and I have to say they suit me better (Handicap 11) they are a joy to hit, forgiving, accurate, confidence inspiring and I am at last able to hit a 3 iron!!

Tried a couple of sets but settled on the CS lites (stiff).

I dont know what all the hype is about Forged vs Cast headed clubs, having owned sets of both, when you hit a ball clean there is no difference as you dont feel the ball coming off the face (or maybe I'm just not a good enough golfer to notice)

Anyway, would recommend you at least try these out if you are buying a different set of clubs as, to me, they are as good as any of the new offerings from any manufacturer, and available at a fraction of the price.

Customer Service

Ping have never answered an e-mail I've sent. Although, in the past they have altered clubs I bought second hand Free Of Charge. Wake up guys you used to be better than that!

For me, Callaway set the benchmark in customer service.

Similar Products Used: Titleist 681 blades (unfortunately I'm no Tiger but very nice clubs)
Titleist 690.cb
Titleist 695 cb
Callaways (most ranges up to X-16's over the years)
Ping Eye 2
Ping s58's (very nice too)
TaylorMade (love the Woods, irons just so..so)
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Beegoalie   Shoots in the 80s [Mar 04, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Ping I3 plus Blade

Great clubs...some people dislike the feel but i love the feel and confidence i get from knowing that im going to hit a pure shot everytime i make a good swing..im a low 80's to mid 70's golfer who can put some spin on the ball with the short irons and like most golfers will struggle occasionally with the long irons...always have been a ping man for irons though ive tried out Clevlands and Taylormade's as well for like a week apiece(demo sets) and have bought pings everytime ive ever bought golf irons..when i was young my dad cut down one of his old set's of pings and thats how i started the game

-Great feel
Performance
cost
and ability to have them fit to your body and your game

Customer Service

never dealed with it

Similar Products Used: Taylormade Rac's Cleveland CG
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
No Divots   Shoots in the 80s [Oct 24, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Ping I3 Plus Blades

Best irons I have ever used. Very accurate and clean hitting.

Similar Products Used: Everything.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
BopperBob.   Shoots in the 80s [Jul 30, 2007]
Model Reviewed: ping i3 plus blades

These are the best irons out there. Infact, Chris DiMarco still uses them. Just shot a 38 with them today. The irons just encourage you to be aggressive with every shot. Oh by the way ,they are VERY accurate. Well worth the money I spent on them!!

Similar Products Used: nicklaus,taylormade burner,titleist 762.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Don C Bruschi   Shoots in the 70s [Feb 10, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Ping I3+ blades

I tried the demo 6 iron Ping I3+ and a I3+ Blade. They might be called a blade, but they are really a cavity back iron with less offset than the regular I3+. I loved the I3+ blades after hitting them the first time. I bought a set on Ebay and my iron play has never been better.

These are probably for a single digit player up to probably a 14 hdcpr. I played the I5's before trying the I3+ Blade. These are a lot more forgiving.

I have owned and played several name brand clubs and these are the best I have tried to date. Buy a demo club on EBay and try for yourself. You will not be disappointed.

Customer Service

They have been very helpful. If you call them with the serial # on a club or set they will give you the specs when the clubs were manufactured.

Similar Products Used: Ping I5
Taylor Made RAC LT
Snake Eyes 600C
Mizuno MP-9
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
MattManudo   Scratch Golfer [Jan 05, 2007]
Model Reviewed: PING I3 Plus Blades

Phenominal clubs. I am a complete club tinkerer, but I keep coming back to this set. I have tried the other PING products, and, with the exception of the Eye 2+ and the I3+, was not overly impressed. The I3+ blade is a great mixture for someone who likes to shape shots but also likes a little forgiveness now and then. This is my 5th and final set. I have tried EVERY other club out there in between. The biggest recommendation I could give you though is to get fitted through someone who knows what they are doing. This last, and final set are pured X100 shafts, blue dot, and having them made to fit your swing blows those other hunks of scrap metal off the shelf. I still love the look of a shiny bladed club, but I love to look at my ball on the green more. If you want a good set of sticks-try a set of the I3+ blades.

Customer Service

Excellent-always very helpful

Similar Products Used: PING S59; MP-33s, 32s, 30s; Callaway x-16s; the Cleveland CG2s-could be the WORST clubs ever made if Cleveland hadn't already gotten that status with their beautiful VAS iron collection
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 26  

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com