Ping S58 Irons

Available At:
S58

The tour-proven technology of the Ping S58 iron elevates the feel and performance of a smaller, traditional head. The ball fight and distance control preferred by players seeking to compete at the highest levels is achieved through strategic placement of the center of gravity (CG) further back in the long irons and moved forward in the short irons. This results in a slightly higher trajectory in the long irons and a more penetrating, controlled ball flight in the shorter irons. The dual cavity design of the Ping S58 iron combines with a vertical stabilizing bar to enhance feel by positioning the CG towards the center of the face. The width of sole increases inertia and moves the clubhead smoothly through the turf and rough. A thicker cavity near the toe and a thinner cavity closer to the heel moves the center of gravity away from the hosel toward the center of the face for a solid feel. A thin top line and progressive offsets aid in alignment and inspires confidence.

User Reviews (37)

Showing 1-10 of 37  
Dale Riddell   Shoots in the 70s [May 16, 2015]
Model Reviewed: Ping S58

I have played the S58s (white dot/1.5` over length/extra stiff/s100 shaft for many years. I have experimented with numerous other irons but none give me the comfort and confidence of the 58s.

I find them to be solid thru impact, forgiving for a blade, and extremely accurate. Have tried the 56/57s but just don`t get the same feel at impact.

I really don`t believe there is much difference between the 55-58, other than marginally stronger lofts on the 55/56s. The 59s have a slightly different look but are great as well.

I am not looking to take these out of my bag anytime soon.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
Ben   Shoots in the 80s [Nov 14, 2014]
Model Reviewed: Ping s58

I shoot in the 80s and I bought these. Best decision I ever made. Easiest clubs I've ever hit. Don't listen to scratch golfers who think clubs like these are for an exclusive set of players. They aren't.

Similar Products Used: Mp 33. 690 cb. Rac.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
blplce   Shoots in the 80s [Aug 08, 2014]
Model Reviewed: Ping S58

I purchased these irons several years ago and loved them! Perfect blend of looks and play-ability. Last year I bought some Ping Anser irons and sold my beloved S58's. I thought I wanted more "Technology". I like the Ansers, but just today I purchased another set of S58's and I plan on gaming them. I cannot say they were the best Ping irons ever made...but they certainly are the best for me. Everything from flight to feel to forgiveness seems to work for me. If you are looking for players clubs that play like a game improver, look at a used set of these.

Customer Service

Ping has always been top notch!!

Similar Products Used: Taylormade R7 TP, Cleveland TA3, Ping I3 Blade, Ping Anser
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Brian   Shoots in the 80s [Jun 18, 2013]
Model Reviewed: Ping S58

Love the look and feel of these clubs. Much more forgiving than they look. Don't believe all of the "Scratch Golfers" that say you shouldn't play these sticks. I am a 9 handicap and I love them. I take deep divots and they work through the turf quite well. The PING AWT shafts were a pleasant surprise as well. No balloning. A high piercing flight. You can pick them up used for $250 to $300. Just make sure you know your dot color before purchasing.

Customer Service

PING is outstanding

Similar Products Used: Ping i3 blades, Taylormade RAC Forged Cavityback TP, Taylormade R7 TP
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
qlooogdan   Scratch Golfer [Apr 12, 2013]
Model Reviewed: ping s58

I have hit these clubs for a day best clubs i have ever owned. do not get them if your a 80s golfer

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
shane romano   Scratch Golfer [Feb 07, 2013]

wow, these bats are amazing. ive had all the S range right up to the S56. just keep going back to the 58. they appear in my hands to be the most forgiving and produce a higher penatrating flight. i use the ZZ65 shaft.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Ian   Shoots in the 80s [Jan 20, 2013]
Model Reviewed: Ping s58 irons

Bought these used, was looking for players iron with a bit of forgiveness and these suit the description perfectly. The ball flight is amazing. I have zz65 shaft (stiff) and its high trajectory which is what I desire. The loft is higher throughout the set from most brands. I was originally wanting forged (for the softer feel I had heard about) however, the are butter. I don't take a divot and if I do it's barely. I loose distance when I get into it too much... Distance is good, especially for higher ball flight. On Mis hits you loose distance though, but I am a good ball striker I think not the best I have mis hits like most of us but these irons are not that hard to hit like a more tradition blade especially anything before 2000. Great irons, and they don't scratch and ding like forged which I love especially with the finish on it like stainless (tad darker than chrome and not as shiny). Great set and would suggest it

Customer Service

The best.

Similar Products Used: Mizuno mp 69s, ping i3s, ping I20s, callaway razr x forged, and mizuno mp63s
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
jtomaka2   Shoots in the 80s [Apr 19, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Ping S58 Irons

After using Ping eye2's for the longest time, and wanting a blade style club for increased workability, I switched to Ping I10's two years ago and the S58 this year. This club is a considerable improvement over the I10 model, which feels dead in comparison. Not quite as sweet as a Mizuno blade when struck perfectly, but not as harsh and more forgiving on slight mis-hits. Great balance of blade feel and workability, but with some forgiveness

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used: Ping Eye2+, Ping I10, Mizuno MP-67.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
fbernas   Shoots in the 80s [Apr 01, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Ping S58

Best PING player's club ever designed. Why do you think Titleist AP1/AP2's look like the S58's? The reason is, PING figured out a way to design a club that looks great at address, can work the ball either way and most of all, it's super forgiving. Ralph Maltby gives this club an MPF rating of 780 pts. Good luck finding them on Ebay.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
chicagoben   Shoots in the 80s [Mar 29, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Ping s58

Got refitted after a winter's worth of lessons to overhaul my swing. I found out that my purple dot i10s were too upright and too long. Instead of sending them in to Ping to get bent, I traded them in and got a used set of brown dot s58s heads on eBay and then reshafted then with True Temper Lite XLs. Good choice.

Index is down to 9.8 but I still hesistated at first before getting these, as I worried that I still might not have enough game to play these "blade style" Pings. No worries. These visually are very similar to the Eye2s and i10s I have played, but with significantly less offset and thinner top line than either. The feel of these clubs is just great - noticeably better than any of the other Pings I have tried, and to my very pleasant surprise, they are much more forgiving than I would have expected.

Also, even though the lofts were strengthened 1 degree by the previous owner of these clubs, I am hitting long, towering long irons. I bought 20 and 23 degree Adams hybrids with thoughts of replacing my i10 long irons, but with this s58 set, I'm hitting the 3 and 4 so well and so consistently that I'm more than likely gonna put them both back in my bag. As for the short irons, no balloon balls, just a nice moderate flight with good workability and, again, GREAT feel with pitches and chips. Long iron length/height and short game feel with the short irons set these Pings apart from any others I've tried.

Overall, this is a great club not only for the low single digit handicapper but also for any ~12 hcp and below looking for a club that is a nice compromise between the forgiveness of a traditional cavity back and the feel/workability of a forged club.

Customer Service

Awesome.

Similar Products Used: I've owned Ping i10s, Zings, Ping Eye2 and Eye2+, and even the old school Karsten VI. At various points I have also hit the s59, G2, G10, and Mizuno MP-52.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 37  

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com