Ping S59 Irons

Available At:
S59

User Reviews (62)

Showing 1-10 of 62  
indyjoe   Shoots in the 90s [Apr 24, 2013]
Model Reviewed: Ping S59 standard

Recently picked these up at GolfSmith. Decision was between these or a set of MP 32s. I know, MP32 is the best iron ever made, blah blah blah...and they did feel quite a bit softer. On a perfect strike. Which is easy on mats in the store. On the course, its quite a different matter. The S59 felt much more consistent with MY swing, so I got these instead. Besides, what hacker with delusions of grandeur could resist the same irons Bubba used to win the Masters? I've since found that for whatever reason, these are more consistent for my swing than any of the so called Game Improvement irons I've used, more feedback on mis-hits. And they are a bit more forgiving than my Apex Plus irons. Not forged soft, not shiny, but a classic looking blade iron that even a pathetic hacker who is a decent ballstriker can feel comfortable using with surprisingly good results.

Customer Service

I've not had to use it, but Ping has the reputation for being the industry leader.

Similar Products Used: Callaway X14 and X24, Ben Hogan Apex Plus, Ben Hogan Apex '99, 1968 MacGregor Tourney MT, Mizuno MP14.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
jpstar347   Shoots in the 80s [Feb 20, 2012]
Model Reviewed: Ping s59 3-pw

I'm slowly gettin back into the game, and i traded 2004 big bertha irons for these. I went to the driving range today, and even into a 20 mph wind still hit my 7 iron 150, which is good for me. The feel of a good swing is awesome. All the reviews said you have to know how to hit these clubs right or you will get bad results, and they are right. More practice and i'll be ready for the 70's in no time. These only cost me $40 at callaway preowned when i traded my old clubs in.

Customer Service

callawaypreowned.com is wonderful, nice friendly and took my whole order over the phone in 15 minutes!! Highly recommended

Similar Products Used: 2004 callaway big bertha,taylor made lcg
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Rocketman   Shoots in the 70s [Sep 14, 2011]
Model Reviewed: Ping S59 Tour DG S300

I am 6'1", 195lbs, 59 yrs old. Swing Speed w driver is around 110 mph. Tempo is smooth. I play Blue Dot, +1/4" Ping Specs.

I keep coming back to this Ping model.
I have gamed the S58's and while a nice model, I dont care for the offset and ball flight (too high).

The S59 is a good looking blade style, with little offset and tends to hit the ball lower.

Set up with the DG S300 Swgwt D2, they give me a nice flat trajectory. No ballooning, tight dispersion and good distance. 7i 160yd. I have hit them with ZZ-65, TF Rifle 5.5 and CS-Lite. For my swing speed and tempo the S300 works the best overall.

I have played the Eye2+ (great classic) and the S58 (forgiving and solid). The S59 set up properly just works best for me on all types of turf.

Find the right shaft and be sure have the correct Ping color code length.

Customer Service

Best around

Similar Products Used: Eye2+ copper (still have em), S58, S57, ISI BeNi, Hogan Apex II, Mizzy M-32.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
barney   Shoots in the 70s [Jun 22, 2011]
Model Reviewed: Ping S59 irons

Solid iron-- Have tried quite a few sets and am finally happy! Can work this iron left, right or high, low.. Good solid feel at impact. Buy these on ebay and enjoy!

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
famousdavis   Scratch Golfer [Apr 14, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Ping S59 played by expert

Most of you know me as the best player on these boards. I have the best swing out there. I choose the Ping S59 irons. That should tell you enough. If I play them they've got to be good. Whatever you do, don't try to get as good as me because that's impossible.

Customer Service

They bend over backward for greatness like me

Similar Products Used: Chicks dig me
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
Jeffb   Shoots in the 70s [Apr 12, 2010]

I own a set of i3 blades and the S59's, and I always go back to the S59's. I havent played the i3's for awhile because the S59's feel better and are just as easy to hit, plus they are alittle longer. I put the s300 shaft on them. Can't say enough about the club!

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
seaeagles96   Shoots in the 90s [Oct 07, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Ping s59 irons

What is going on ? I bought these irons to hit only on the range as a way to improve my swing.Thinking I would be hitting a lot of thin shots,slices & fat shots I was absolutely stunned how great they played.I shoot in the nineties and am usualy super inconsistant.The completely wrong golfers for these type of blades right? WRONG.The thin top line exudes confidence they are lighter and the blade club head just makes me feel like I am going to smash the ball.I have used them 3 times on course and love these clubs.The long irons are the big difference I hit the 3 iron 220 no slice just a clean hit nearly every time.Now with my G2s with the thick sole I cannot do that even once.This sounds crazy but for me these blades are more forgiving and the long irons much easier to hit. I am still pulling a few left but not as many as I was.Get rid of the super fat super offset clubs and give these babies a whirl.Man I am loving the clean hits I get with these clubs.I sold my G2s and these were in the bag after 1 practice session.My bad shots are still quite good and better than my game improvement clubs. Go the blades !!

Similar Products Used: Ping ISI,Ping G2s
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Stormbringer   Scratch Golfer [Jul 29, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Ping S59

Well after a very long search and some poor golf I have found a very good iron for my game. Love the looks, feel and playability. Much more forgiving than they appear to be. I have played five rounds with these irons and all have been under par! I had been switching a lot early this year and could not find anything in the easier to hit irons that I could stomach and get good feel from.

These irons are quite long too.

If you like blades but want more forgivness and are a ping fan these might be just the ticket. I plan to play this set for a very long time.

Customer Service

Never used

Similar Products Used: Most if not all
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
nateloba   Shoots in the 70s [Apr 18, 2009]
Model Reviewed: s-59

By far the best ping irons made! i have been playing these clubs for 3 years now and i never want them to leave the bag. They can do anything you need them to do. find a good used set and buy them over the s-58 or 57's

Customer Service

1 of my weights fell out and i sent it in the fixed it for me no charge.

Similar Products Used: ping I3 blades
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
jacroeiii   Shoots in the 80s [Mar 07, 2009]
Model Reviewed: S59

Absolutely love these clubs, switched from callaway x-16 pro series, I hit these pings way better, first round out with them I shot 76 and I am normally about a 12 handicap, cant wait to use them all summer, scratch here I come

Customer Service

dunno

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 62  

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com