Ping ZING Irons

ZING

Initially offered in 1991, the Ping ZING Irons were Ping's most dramatically perimeter weighted iron ever. They feature an extreamly wide top line and bold toe weighting.

User Reviews (67)

Showing 1-10 of 67  
PJ Myers   Shoots in the 80s [Feb 24, 2017]
Model Reviewed: ping zing 2

i have always been a ping golfer way back since 1987. my first set were the eye 2's. have had them
for 20+ years. finally decided to upgrade to newer models. i tried the g5 the g10 and didnt like them. then my local proshop had a set of zing 2 black dot 1-LS so i gave them a try. they are true on miss hits still go straight just not as far. but the non miss hits go the distance. they are stronger than the eye 2's by a few degrees per iron. thats why i got a set of the zing 2's . i was tired of my friends with their muscleback taylormade rbz irons hitting 9 irons into greens and me with a 7 iron. with all due respect to the eye 2's which are still the best irons on the market in my opinion i have to say my zing 2's perform as good or better. ball flight is high and spins on a dime when it hits the green. the eye 2's did but would roll to the back or if you had the right iron it would come up short with weak loft. the zing2 is a bit chunky and still getting used to after the eye 2 for so long but i fell in love the first round with them. i score anywhere from 82-91 and my first round with the zing2's was 86. the 2 iron off the tee for me the entire round on the par 4 and 5's right down the middle about 200yds+ my g10 3 wood barely went that far and miss hits with that club was costing me a stroke a hole so for sale it went. i can hit zing2 2 iron as good as anyone. my golf buddy laughs when i pull it out on a 500yd par 5. he hits his rbz driver 300+ yds but not always down the fairway so we are looking for his ball 50% of the time and i am sitting sweet about 300 out so i hit the 2 iron again and now a short iron away. i walk away with par or no less than bogey. i have the zing 2 putter also amd love it so much that i had to try the irons and glad i did. they are in my bag until i quit playing which i hope is at least another 20+ years from now. the zing 2's are ugly but you can keep the new models with the fancy color inserts and weights, the zing 2's are bullet proof in my book

Customer Service

ping has the best customer service.

Similar Products Used: ping eye 2
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Duncan   Shoots in the 90s [Aug 22, 2016]
Model Reviewed: Ping Zing

I'm fairly new to golf and after some terrible (cheap) woods decided I needed to upgrade.

I came across a 5 and 3 on eBay not too long ago and after seeing the reviews here bought them.

Although initially I was a little bit sceptical based on their age thought I'd give them a go.

No regrets. Even poor strikes result in fairly good shots and on the occasion everything falls together they're great. If you can find a pair these are a great introduction wood that won't break the bank.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
james   Shoots in the 80s [Feb 22, 2016]
Model Reviewed: Ping Zing

I purchased my Ping Zings new in 1991, it took a few rounds to get used to the weight of the head as well as the alignment of the top of the club head but after becoming familiar with them I have never looked back nor have I ever considered replacing them. They are a wonderful golf club, providing very good distance, a high trajectory as well as giving one the ability to move the ball from left to right with relative ease. I no longer play due to back issues however my Pings,which are still in excellent condition,are safely tucked in their Ping bag along side a equally outstanding G5 Ping driver and a couple of also very good Taylor-made fairway woods. Occasionally I consider selling them but always decided that if I ever pick up the game again I will want those clubs to play it with. It is not often in life that a product delivers and exceeds expectations but my pings certainly have done it for me. Favorite club of the set had to be the 3 iron, 220 yards and could draw it or fade it.

Similar Products Used: Taylor-made R7
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Clay R   Shoots in the 80s [Jul 21, 2015]
Model Reviewed: Ping Zing

My old set of Zings were stolen out of my garage. I figured that since I had been playing them for a long time and heard so much about how the newer technology could benefit a low to high 80s player like me, depending on the day and the course, I should try some newer clubs. Granted, I'm on a limited budget. I tried several player improvement clubs. Bought a used but much newer set of Cobra SZs. I tried various sets of Mizuno's (per a buddy's recommendation), Callaways and Clevelands, but felt that the Cobras felt the best. Now that I've been playing, I would kill to have my Zings back. Especially the person that stole them... I played so much better with them. More solid shots, scored much better, mis-hits did not hurt me as much and golf in general was way more enjoyable for me when I had my Zings. I actually don't want to spend another dime on golf until I have another set of Zings. I'm currently in the market for a used set in decent shape.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
L.D. Kliewer   Shoots in the 80s [May 12, 2014]
Model Reviewed: Ping Zings

I'm currently 66yrs old with 52yrs in the game. My first Pings were the Ping Eyes, now on loan to my Son in law...who loves them. I have moved around Ping clubs, ISI, ISI-k and Zings. I play in Northern Calif with the ISI's during the Summer months. Winters in the Desert, La Quinta playing PGA West, Stadium, Nick T, Greg Norman etc. with my Zings. I shoot in the low to mid 80's and wouldn't give my Zing's up for anyone...except maybe St. Peter. But he'd have to make me a pretty good deal.

Customer Service

The folks at Ping are there to back you up.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Jay Larson   Shoots in the 90s [Sep 06, 2013]
Model Reviewed: Ping zings

went from Callaway Big Berthas to an old, full set of Ping Zings. I have played 3 rounds with them and I'm still dialing in the distance on some of the irons. Don't seem to hit quite as far as my Callaways but are much more accurate. My Ping Zings they sings. Love em

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
alan   Shoots in the 80s [Feb 20, 2013]
Model Reviewed: ping zing

I purchased my ping zings when they came out in 91 i have looked at changing them for another ping version ,but always come up with the same result ,not worth changing ,they look strange when first used but i can ensure you they are the best forgiving iron i have ever used or tried "great set of irons "

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
David Wilkins   Shoots in the 100s [Jul 08, 2012]
Model Reviewed: Ping zing red dot

I've just purchase a full set of zing irons, and after one long session on the range I m really looking forward to m first round w them. I'm switching out from a cheap wilson set I've had for 15 years. Already I noticed the difference the stiffer shaft and weighted heads have on my distance and accuracy. Best. Day. On. The. Range. Ever!

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Jack   Shoots in the 80s [Mar 26, 2012]
Model Reviewed: Be-Cu copper Ping Zing's

I have to agree with most of what I have read here. The Zing's are the most comfortable, forgiving irons you can play. I hit consistently with these irons and would not trade them for any other club. I have played and enjoyed other irons, but without a doubt continue to come back and play my Zings. I don't believe there is another club out there that will improve my game. If my game improves, it's because of me, not the irons. I am always looking for more Zings so that they can be my travel clubs when on the road.

Similar Products Used: Karsten IV's , Ping eye 2's
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
dennis   Shoots in the 80s [Jul 29, 2011]
Model Reviewed: ping zing irons

ive used ping zings for 20 years. i love these irons. they have a high tragetery, a solid feel, and are very forgiving on miss hits. yes, they look a bit funny then prevvious pings, but once you get past that look, you will adjust and hit consistant shots. after 20 years,they still play great! Im still using the original ping grips.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 67  

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com