Ping ZING2 Irons

Available At:
ZING2

From Ping: In the ZING2 iron, Karsten engineers created a higher moment of inertia, which produces greater resistance to twisting on off-center hits... the extreme perimeter weighting of the ZING2 increases the clubs' effective hitting area, optimizing forgiveness and accuracy. They feature a "leaner" more subtle profile (more standard width top line etc...) than their original "ZING" predecessors.

User Reviews (48)

Showing 1-10 of 48  
Andrew Bowlen   Shoots in the 90s [May 10, 2017]
Model Reviewed: Ping Zing 2 Irons

These are solid beginner clubs. I received my grandpa's set (along with his Eye2+no+) and prefer the zing 2's to the Eye2 (I know, blasphemy!) I had them refinished and bent to yellow. They are very forgiving and solid clubs and I always get compliments when I go golfing (2-3 times a year).

Seriously, do yourself a favor, get a solid set of 4-SW off ebay for less than $150. Spend approximately $100-$150 regripping and cutting the shafts to your preference and bend the heads to your preferred angle. Even with refinishing the heads you'll end up with like new semi-custom fit irons for less than $300.

Customer Service

I called Ping to ensure there wouldn't be an issue having a local fitter bend them from black to yellow and they were friendly and helpful. They even let me know where they were manufactured and when.

Similar Products Used: Eye2, G20, multiple other g series irons all ping.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
Les   Shoots in the 70s [Apr 27, 2017]

I play with ping zing 2 can't find anything to beat them I only use 5 to 9 iron but thay all have 7 iron shaft s in I love tham I am getting on a bit now 60 years young but still play off 7 I think it's got a lot to do with the irons

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Jim   Shoots in the 90s [Jul 24, 2016]

Ping zing 2 to me best irons out there,tried several other irons and always back to my ping zing 2,been on the range with my son's ping g10 and I see no real difference in height or distance to talk about and did not like the very wide sole on the ping 10 irons,I was at the range and course with taylormade rocketbladez,yes they did out distance the zings,by at least a club length,but not as forgiving,accurate or consistent as the zings.we all like a new set of irons and I've tried several,but to spend the money on a new set that does nothing other then a few yards more then your old set,or keeping up with your friends (who's score card are always in the 70's) with there new cigars and new clubs,we all have them friends,again I will keep my zings,and keep my buddies on their toes.

Customer Service

Used ping service once,on a ping g2 iron,the black rubber weight feel out,they fixed it no charge.

Similar Products Used: Ping g2 g10. And taylormade rocketbladez,got as a gift,put still used my zings.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Matthew Hendrick   Shoots in the 80s [Mar 24, 2016]
Model Reviewed: Ping Zing 2

Bought these as my 2nd set of irons in my life. Had a cheap $100 set 1st. I've now had them since 1995 and I won't even consider getting rid of my irons!

Customer Service

Never used

Similar Products Used: N/a
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Lancs   Shoots in the 100s [Jun 05, 2015]
Model Reviewed: Ping Zing 2

These are the easiest irons to hit.....period. Swing away and feel confident the ball will sail high and land soft. I've played a bunch of newer irons from other brands and nothing has been as good as these. The oddly shaped soul is perfect for picking the ball off the grass. They don't dig or get stuck. The finish is perfect for taking a beating. These irons have made golf much more fun and relaxing.

Customer Service

I have never used it.

Similar Products Used: Hogan Apex Edge, TM Burners, Callaway X-14, Hogan BH-5, Macgregor Mactec NVG2
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
whynotme   Shoots in the 80s [Apr 20, 2015]
Model Reviewed: Ping Zing2 Irons

I had a set of Zing2's several years ago and really enjoyed them. Tried several things since then and never really saw any difference other than length on the newer, stronger-lofted irons. Found a set recently and bought them. they are still one of the best sets of irons I have ever used. They set up nicely, very forgiving yet accurate. The JZ steel shafts are an excellent shaft.

Just for grins, I tried both the Burner 2.0 and AP1 712 irons recently, and returned both sets. Still like the look, forgiveness, and consistency of the Zing2's better than anything else out there.

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used: Many, many sets over the years. Zing2's are probably the best overall irons Ping ever made.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Bob V   Shoots in the 70s [Oct 16, 2014]
Model Reviewed: Ping Zing 2

Picked up a set with JZ stiff shaft for $158 .00. These irons are very stable at impact. Very straight ball flight . Very good launch from all types of lies which was most impressive feature.. PW is 47 degrees so you need to either bend or make sure to alter your other wedges. I found that these clubs are a 1/2 club shorter than newer products due to weaker lofts but you cant beat these for performance. Appearance is not a players blade but actually sets up nicely. I was even able to work the 9 iron around a tree when needed. Have lofts and lies checked before putting in bag. Shaft plays medium stiff.

Customer Service

not needed.

Similar Products Used: Callaway X18
Ping Eye 2
Mizuno Comp EZ
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
John Adams   Shoots in the 90s [Jul 11, 2013]
Model Reviewed: Ping Zing 2

I started playing golf later in life and never played very well. I was looking at clubs in a golf shop twenty years and spoke with the salesman about my problems. He had a used set of Ping Zing 2 irons with graphite shafts he had taken in trade. He highly recommended them so I bought the clubs. I'm still playing with the same set of clubs today and purchased a second set on e-bay when I retired. These irons are easy to hit and always fly straight down the middle. I now address the ball with a great deal of confidence knowing my Ping Zing 2's will do the job. I would highly recommend these clubs to anyone looking for a steady, reliable set of irons they can always depend on. You can still find them on e-bay and they're well worth the search.

Customer Service

Haven't used them yet.

Similar Products Used: I started out with a set of Ram irons and woods which I played until trading them in for my Ping Zing 2's.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Chad   Shoots in the 90s [Apr 09, 2013]
Model Reviewed: Ping Zing II

Have been wanting a set of Ping Zing 2s since I was young. Found a set on Craigslist 2I-SW for only $175 with new Winn grips! I love the confidence I get from these clubs. Very Accurate! Great set! I'm trying to keep my 15 year old son from taking these away from me.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
painter33   Shoots in the 80s [Feb 19, 2013]
Model Reviewed: Ping Zing 2 Irons

These are my second set of Zing 2 irons after trading the first set in on a new set of Mizuno MP 30s - I wanted less offset and thought I'd try a forged iron. The Mizunos are great when hit exactly in the sweet spot but one pays dearly for off-center hits. I bought the second set of matching numbers Zing 2s on eBay as they were very reliable and were my third iteration of Ping irons (Eye2, Zing). These irons are the most predictable and playable irons I've ever hit. I've demo-ed a number of other Pings and other major brands (Calloway -ugh!), but none offers the feel throughout the swing as Zing 2s do. I'm not a "digger" so I rarely hit a fat shot, but on that rare occasion, the thin top line (excluding the heel and toe weights) moves right through the turf and the shot still makes its way down the line. I use steel shafts exclusively so I can't speak to graphite shafts, but these irons don't take a lot of effort to get the ball up and away for solid distances. I keep looking at the "i-whatever" Pings but I can't imagine that they could out perform the Zing 2 irons. Quite a few people may not like their look and laugh at the size of the heads, but they stop laughing when my second shot hits the target, usually the correct side of the green (par 4). Because I came to the "2s" through the Zings, I never had trouble adjusting to the look at address (much better than the Zings), and from the very first demo swing - it was a smooth 4 iron that produced a high, straight, and long shot - I was sold. Away went the Zings and the Zing 2s have been in my bag with the exception of the 1.5 years of only Mizunos. My hdcp went from a 12 to a 7 in a year, mostly due to the Zing to Zing 2 change and playing 4-5 times a week. I've experimented with different grip weights over the years to find the combination that gave me the most feel, as I like to feel a heavy head through the swing arc. A variety of Winn grips have served me well, certainly different that the GP or Lamkin full-cords I used for years. I still like Lamkin Crossline cords, but have reduced the weight by switching to Winn. All in all, I simply love these irons and am convinced that they will be in my bag for the rest of my golf life. I might change drivers and putters, but I've found my lifetime irons.

Customer Service

I've been measured twice (dynamic fitting - different fitters, same results) but I haven't dealt with Pings CS since sending in an Eye2 driver for a new shaft and new whipping - yes, it was that long ago!

Similar Products Used: What is similar to a Ping iron? Only another Ping iron. The Eye2 irons were like magic in 1985; th eZings were only a little easier to hit than the Eye2s, but the Zing 2s are by far the best irons I've played. Mizunos are forged and gleaming near-blades and can't really be compared to one another except as I wrote above.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 48  

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com