TaylorMade Original Burner Bubble Drivers

Available At:
Original Burner Bubble

User Reviews (48)

Showing 1-10 of 48  
EDE   Shoots in the 80s [Apr 27, 2012]
Model Reviewed: TM Burner Bubble 2

I just got this to replace my other driver to try to get more distance...I've only tried it out on one outing for 18 holes. It took a few tee shots to get used to but I love it! Not as big as the modern drivers, but has great power nonetheless. Highly recommended for beginner to intermediate players.

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
Available At:
nikker~man   Shoots in the 100s [May 15, 2011]
Model Reviewed: Taylor Made Burner, bubble shaft driver 9.5, S~90

I picked this up at a garage sale for $1. Brand new too! The guy said if i can hit it, its mine. I haven't brought it to the course yet, but it feels great so far. I'm no great golfer by any means, so i hope this will help some.

Similar Products Used: Nike, Calloway, King Cobra
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
ben d   Shoots in the 100s [May 14, 2010]
Model Reviewed: taylor made burner bubble

just bought this and matching 3 wood for $10 at garage sale, excellent condition with head covers, figure i got a good deal :)

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Rob   Scratch Golfer [Aug 29, 2007]
Model Reviewed: mcgregor v foil

This is a great club , a little high priced but it is worth the price. I had 4 different nike drivers and nothing hits like this one.

Similar Products Used: bubble burner bad hook nice shaft , too light and bad distance.
OVERALL
RATING
3
Value
RATING
4
lambo69   Shoots in the 70s [Jul 03, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Original TM Bubble Burner

Was cleaning out the garage the other day and found this driver. Think I bought this arund 10, maybe even 11 years ago when this was "state of the art".
There were no spring faces or fusion between metal and graphite. Infact I dont think Titanium drivers had hit the scene yet.
The first shot I hit with it was at my home course. 338 yard first downwind I knocked it right onto the green.
Its a great looking club and I think I bought the matching 3 wood at one point but have no idea whee it is now.
Anyway sadly this is dated equipment.
At the time, the best driver around.

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used: GBB, Biggest BB, Titleist 975D, GBB II, Titleist 905T
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Tinfoil Hat   Shoots in the 90s [May 02, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Taylor Made Burner Bubble 2 Shaft

Years ago when these first came out I tried a few during a demo at my local range. At the time I was using Mizuno woods and the Taylor Made was not only longer, more importantly, it was much straighter. I should have bought one then, but they were very expensive. Since then I have owned or tried Calloway Warbird, Steelhead, and GBB; Ping TISI; Taylor Made 320, 360, 540, 580; Yonex Titanium+; and a bunch of others I can't remember. Some hit as long, some hit as straight, but none put it all together. I kept looking for that elusive perfect driver. I thought that in this day of large headed clubs, there would be no way my memories of how well I hit the Taylor Made Burner would hold up. A few days ago I went to a garage sale and found an excellent 9.5 degree Burner with a S-90 Bubble shaft for $25. I didn't even think of bargaining. When I went to the range I warmed up with my clubs and moved to the driver. When I hit it all my memories were confirmed. The length, accuracy and forgiveness were all there. I'm not a long hitter and have a steep swing path so I occasionally pop up, but even these went 210. The rest of the time I got a driving ball flight which I could raise or lower by moving the ball in my stance. I also have a tendency to try to kill the ball, but with this club it still goes straight instead of ending up in Mongolia, or the Amazon. I think that part of this is due to the shaft being a more manageable length. I wish that I had bought one of these years ago, but I guess sometimes good things do come to those who wait. Anyone want a good used Titanium Yonex?

Similar Products Used: Just about every driver made to 2004
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Dan   Shoots in the 80s [Aug 04, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Original Burner Bubble (Steel Head)

Picked it up used for a measly $20, and it is really an excellent club. Really gives you great control over your shot shape. Best shots go 275 or so, even with 10.5 degree loft. Hits the ball on a much more ideal trajectory than my GBB 9 degree, which is way, way too high. Besides that, it is still a good looking club. I hope to pick up a 3 wood as well sometime soon.

Customer Service

Never Used

Similar Products Used: Callaway GBB, TM Original Burner, Callaway BB War Bird
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
alan desforges   Shoots in the 90s [Jun 13, 2003]
Model Reviewed: original bubble shaft circa 1996

I bought the driver and the matching 3 wood from my uncle about four years ago. At first I got discouraged and would use only the 3 wood off the tee (I still outdrove a lot of friends with that trusty ol' 3wood) That was my faulty swing mechanics though, not the clubs fault. Now, many lessons and range balls latter, I've decided to put it back in play this year. Results: I CRUSH IT. I also bought a Callaway Steelhead III this year but the Taylor Made is at least 20 yards longer (titanium vs. steel?). I remember reading that if you weren't playing clubs made after the millenium, you were playing inferior equipment that could negatively affect your game...What a load of B.S... That's just the kind of mind numbing propaganda that the big companies would have you believe. It's your swing not your equipment that makes you or breaks you. So instead of selling off an arm and the soul of your first-born to get the latest driver, take the 400 bucks you'll save and go get some lessons. You'll be much better off.

Similar Products Used: Ping TiSi Tec, Callaway Steelhead III
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
chad   Shoots in the 80s [May 01, 2003]
Model Reviewed: taylor made bubble

I got the club from my uncle after he bought the new taylor made driver and like him I'll probably never switch. I can out drive all my friends and hit just as straight. Love it

Similar Products Used: I work at a golf course so everything new that comes in I try it.
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
Ricky Eggart   Shoots in the 80s [Dec 10, 2002]
Model Reviewed: Taylor Made Bubble Burner

I had the driver about a month before I snapped the shaft at the clubhead. After further reveiw at a pro shop found that this is not a rare occurance do to the lack of absorbtion between graphite and metal poor design simply having the top of the hosle touched with a diamond drill bit would aleviate the problem. But any way switched to a pro force 350 tip and instead of drilling out the hosle I went to the smaller thinner shaft and added a reducer to absorb the force. This worked great for two days until after about thirty minutes at the driving range my clubhead started clanking so I took it home and remove the shaft and basically all of the counterweights inside the club head are bouncing around in there. Goodbye Taylor Made garbage back to Cobra for m

Similar Products Used: King Cobra, King cobra gravity back, Callaway hawk eye
OVERALL
RATING
1
Value
RATING
2
Showing 1-10 of 48  

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com