TaylorMade R5 Dual D Drivers

Available At:
R5 Dual D

The r5 dual features widely spaced, dual TaylorMade Launch control (TLC) cartridges that are pre-configured and permanent. This positions the weight ideally so you don't have to. With Launch Control promoting an extremely high MOI (moment of inertia) and proper clubhead rotation, the r5 dual Type N delivers remarkable forgivness and a straight ball flight while the r5 dual Type D provides a draw. Meanwhile, the exceptionally large 450cc titanium clubhead not only looks substantial at address, but it also gives you solid contact, consistently straighter shots and of course, confidence. And with TaylorMade's revolutionary inverted Cone Technology, the expanded COR of the r5 results in higher ball velocity on off center hits for longer, more consistent drives.

User Reviews (72)

Showing 1-10 of 72  
Dean   Shoots in the 80s [Feb 23, 2016]
Model Reviewed: Taylormade R5 dual Driver

I purchased this driver on E-Bay for $35.00 I wanted to get out of the 460 drivers and get a head a bit smaller. After hitting this club at the range and a couple of games I fell in love with it. I took the club down to a club builder and wanted to see if a shaft change would help me in some distance. The stock shaft I was hitting the ball with I had good consistency and accurately it help me take some of my fade out but I wasn't getting much roll. The club builder had recommended I replace the shaft after trying several shafts I had tried to a Aldila NV R65 reg flex. Now I am 64 years old I have lost some of my swing speeds so I was expecting a miracle. Wow after taking it to the range I was impressed. I picked up around 25 to 40 more yards with the roll I was getting. Now my buddies still have not figured out why I am out driving them and I am not telling LOL.

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used: Cleveland Classic,Taylormade SLDR,Taylormade 580 and
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
Available At:
Kaycee   Shoots in the 80s [Sep 10, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Taylor Made R5 D

I have recently purchased a Taylor Made R5 D driver.I thought my old Taylor 360Ti would be irreplaceable after trying,Callaway,Burner R7 quad and other product-but was happily proved wrong!My first hit was on the course and straight and pure!--that was the way driving through that round continued (only putting woes stopped a score in the hi 70's!).My delight continues after two further rounds and my golf buddies are complimenting me endlessly on straight long drives.They havent noticed I have changed driver and I am not telling them either!To me the best type of club is one you dont have to think about;just stand up,focus-hit! Totsally recommended!

Customer Service

Not needed but have very good outlets in this city and great people to deal with

Similar Products Used: Callaway (Warbird,460) Taylor Made Burner '09,and R7 Quad
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
hoody372   Shoots in the 70s [May 12, 2009]
Model Reviewed: taylormade r5 dual

i had an r510 till i broke the face. picked up a cheap r5 which was the best 200 bucks ive ever spent. i broke the original shaft so replaced it with a 47 3/4 inch shaft. apart from the occasional slice this club has had me play a pitching wedge for my 2nd shot into a 455m par 5 and hit the green. the r5 is a beautiful club and i cant wait to hit it everytime

Similar Products Used: r510, hibore,
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
Available At:
kwebbs   Shoots in the 80s [Apr 12, 2009]
Model Reviewed: dual type D

well first let me say, that if you slice of the tee, this driver will help straighten you out, i used to have a billy club driver and i sliced ever shot off the tee... this driver came into my posession when i bought a set of tommy armour 845s silverscots from a garage sale and i talked the guy into throwing in the driver. and let me say THANK GOD I DID BECAUSE this is the best driver i have ever hit, ive hit big berthas ive hit TM R7's and TM 580's and nothing has ever hit so beautifully off the tee, the club just feels so good in your swing and the sweet spot is so huge so even mis hits still go straight just loose some yardage and every impact with the ball sounds SO AWESOME just a loud ass TINK! it puts alot of confidence in your game and i broke 80 last time i went out and i havent done that in YEARS if you have your chance to get this driver please do.

even though its an older TM driver... but still my favorite one ive ever hit

Customer Service

no experience with the customer service

Similar Products Used: R7 R580's etc etc
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Leif   Shoots in the 80s [Jul 18, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Taylormade R5 D

Broke my R5 N driver and find a model D cheap and wanted to give it a try.

Not same feel like I used to with R5 N, but still a easy to use and ok driver.

It will not stop your slice, but can help a little ;-)

Customer Service

Never used

Similar Products Used: Wilson Fatshaft, Nike 350,Nickent 3DX
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
Northerner04   Shoots in the 80s [Jul 17, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Taylor Made r% Dual

I borrowed this club from a friend for a game. The results were even better than I expected. We traded clubs permanently.

My old driver was a TM r580 with a regular shaft, and this r5 Dual has a stiff shaft, medium tip. This club has reduced my tendency to slice to almost zero, and the ball travels much further as a result.

This club (N weighted) is ideal for the mid handicapper who struggles with a slice.

Customer Service

None required

Similar Products Used: r7 Quad (borrowed), r580 (previous club)
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
koef1658   Shoots in the 70s [Mar 30, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Taylormade R5 Type D, 9.5 degree, Aldila NVS Stiff

When my first few times on the course with this club were a dream. Unfortunately, none of my other clubs are draw bias, or even offset. My irons are blades, which take a pretty smooth swing to hit. With all this in mind, I have to take a different approach to hitting the R5 because of the difference. If I swing as I do with my other woods, I have a hard tendency to hook. If you struggle with a slice, a draw bias driver is for you. If you do not, I would avoid them. In a final note, Taylormade crafts a fine driver, the best in my oppinon, I would highly reccomend an R7 superquad if you have the dough.

Customer Service

not needed

Similar Products Used: Cleveland Hibore, Taylormade R7 Superquad, Callaway 454, Titleist 983k, Nike Ignite, Adams GT, the list goes on.
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
mark64506   Shoots in the 90s [Oct 17, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Taylormade R5 Draw D

Purchased at local Sports Authority for $150. Right to the range and loved it. As I practiced and played more (swing adjustments) I could regularly launch the ball 240-260 in the air. Great drives on the sweet spot would clear 320. Finally after 5 months with the club I had the swing down. Last round on the 18th tee, I told my partners that I was going to swing so hard....I may actually miss the ball....The winds and fairway were all open game for a 350 yarder. I swung away........At top of the downswing.....CRACK! Shaft split in half!

Customer Service

Took the club back to retailer. Taylormade said they do not cover "mis-use" I had purchased additional "coverage" from 3rd party at purchase time.....They said it was Taylormades' problem...Got lucky with the manager at Sports Authority and he offered cash back or store credit....Last time I buy Taylormade equipment...You can get the same result for less prices. Even though I did not mis-use the club...I loved it...They flat out refuse the shaft could break like it did....F taylormade.....

Similar Products Used: Cleveland hibore....callaway 460/big bertha....
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
Murph79   Shoots in the 80s [Sep 06, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Taylormade R5 Dual Type D

At first I thought this club was great. I've always tended to have a fade with my driver, and miss-hits have usually end up slicing into the next fairway. The R5 Dual D seemed to straighted out that fade or at least tone it down, but miss-hits still ended up slicing like any other driver. The problem I found with this club was that I could never tell whether or not the ball was going to draw. Sometimes it draws, sometimes it's straight, and sometimes it fades. With a narrow fairway, that doesn't leave much room for error. I think this club is best suited for golfers who tend to slice the ball all the time. For those who just tend to hit a true fade, the risk of drawing the ball - or even hooking it O.B. is just too risky. But for the price you can get these for used, I reccomend anyone who slices the ball to give this club a serious consideration.

Customer Service

I've had to use Taylormade before for other clubs, and they are kind of slow.

Similar Products Used: Taylormade Buner, Taylormade R580, Nike Sasquach Sumo, Taylormade R7 Superquad - and lots of others
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
Available At:
bad putt   Shoots in the 80s [Sep 01, 2007]
Model Reviewed: R5 Dual Draw 10.5 stiff

I have owned this model for a year. When I first bought it I was struggling to fight a slice. To be honest it did help me and I stopped slicing the ball apart from the odd one.

The club sits behind the ball really well and it does look good at address and not too big.

This club worked well for me a year ago and but now I am duck hooking or blocking 20% of shots left. I have improved my swing and lowered my scores this year. So I have put it down to becoming a better golfer. In the end I had to sell the club as I lost confidence in it and was always thinking about hooking / drawing it too much. This may have also been down to the shaft being too stiff for me. My brother has exactly the same club but the N version which did not make any differance at all.

The bottom line is if your struggling against a slice this club will help you until you become a better golfer / improve your swing path.

All in all there very forgiving and long and I really enjoyed mine but I have traded in for an R7 as it's less closed at address. These are good clubs if you shoot over 85+ and need to iron out a slice. Otherwise get yourself some lessons and practtice.

Customer Service

Not used

Similar Products Used: Cobra SZ440 / Wilson Fat shaft
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 72  
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:
Available At:

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com