TaylorMade R5 Dual N Drivers

Available At:
R5 Dual N

The r5 dual features widely spaced, dual TaylorMade Launch control (TLC) cartridges that are pre-configured and permanent. This positions the weight ideally so you don't have to. With Launch Control promoting an extremely high MOI (moment of inertia) and proper clubhead rotation, the r5 dual Type N delivers remarkable forgivness and a straight ball flight while the r5 dual Type D provides a draw. Meanwhile, the exceptionally large 450cc titanium clubhead not only looks substantial at address, but it also gives you solid contact, consistently straighter shots and of course, confidence. And with TaylorMade's revolutionary inverted Cone Technology, the expanded COR of the r5 results in higher ball velocity on off center hits for longer, more consistent drives.

User Reviews (103)

Showing 1-10 of 103  
Jacob Luna   Shoots in the 100s [May 05, 2015]
Model Reviewed: Taylormade R5 Dual N

The driver I was using had a smaller face and my drives were inconsistent. My brother came to play a round and he brought his friend's R5 N and I was crushing my drives. They were consistently straight, high, and far!! I had to have that club so I did some searching and found one on Callaway Pre-Owned. I ended up paying $36 with shipping and I cannot wait to play with it tomorrow.

Customer Service

none

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
Franchi$e   Shoots in the 90s [May 27, 2014]
Model Reviewed: Taylormade R5 Dual (Draw)

Love it. I had accepted a controlled, predictable existence off the tee with my 205 yard baby fade I was getting from my Cobra S3. Then I was having a bad round, decided to swing it with everything I had regardless of the danger, and the S3 shaft broke in half on the transition.

I panicked, went to a used golf place for an interim club - this R5 Dual Draw played the best, and all the launch monitor stats were right in the sweet spot. An old club, it costs me $45.

Now I crush from the tee (for me, anyway), regular, average drives going 230 or more. Cleared 260 on a couple of occasions already.

It has not cured my slice. About 1/6 will still slice out right, but it is not nearly as dramatic (usually still playable) and the vast majority of shots are now straight with perhaps a slight draw. Even miss-hits seem to go pretty good, clearing 200 more or less straight. Tons of increased confidence to swing away from the tee-box and better distance and accuracy. Sounds good to me.

Customer Service

no need

Similar Products Used: Cobra S3,TM Burner Super Fast
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Dave   Shoots in the 80s [Jun 22, 2011]
Model Reviewed: TAYLORMADE R5 DUAL TYPE D 10.5°

I just switched from a Taylormade R360 XD that i had for about 6 years and WOW what a difference. I bought the club for $60 off Ebay and it was the best $60 I have spent on golf. I have never had the ball come off the tee so fast. I had a vicious slice that i've been trying to correct for years and with a few pointers I bought this club and switched my grip a bit and now i'm crushing it straight and 30+ yards further than i use to drive. Would definately recomend giving this club a try.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
Tsgtmike   Shoots in the 90s [Sep 19, 2010]
Model Reviewed: R5 / TM 580

I have been hitting a Taylor 580 for the past year. I developed hook and couldn't shake it. Had the chance to buy a used R5D and fiqured at least it would give me a different feel for awhile. Now my problem is I love both clubs. The R5 is very forgiving. Only thing I don't like is the Ting sound when striking the ball.

Customer Service

No issues with service as of yet

Similar Products Used: See review summary TM 580 vs R5D
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
Don A.   Shoots in the 90s [Jun 24, 2010]
Model Reviewed: R5 Dual

My wife bought this driver brand new about three years ago. She is about 5' 2" and weighs about 120 lbs. She cracked the face of this driver and TaylorMade won't do anything for her. Now that's poor service.

Customer Service

TaylorMade should be more willing to stand behind their product.

OVERALL
RATING
1
Value
RATING
1
Available At:
gary   Shoots in the 70s [Jun 21, 2010]
Model Reviewed: R 580

I have been hitting fairways my whole life. I bought one used for my son. He never got it. I hit longer and straighter than i ever did before. It gets the ball up so fast and I have a 9.5. I'm thinking a 10.5 might be too high a loft.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
donny   Shoots in the 80s [Feb 15, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Talor Made R 5 N

I waited four years for this Club,for 81 dollars,I ran out of Pro discount.This was a replacement for my Really old R 5 both are 8.5 loft and yes It Go's Boom.My new R 5 get me 260+ on long Par fours and 280 + on Par fives. I do play from the Blue Tee Box

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
Mattie   Shoots in the 70s [Nov 05, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Taylor Made r5 Dual Type N

I have played them all and I mean ALL. I developed a nasty hook this summer and went out on a mission to find a driver under 100 US dollars that was not closed at address and would still put it out there with some roll just to regain confidence. Found this club used for 79US with r5 stock stiff shaft 10.5 degrees loft. Still had slight draw, not nasty hook but took entire left side of fairway out of play (I am a lefty). When striped, went 260ish. I was very pleased because I was in fairway and at least had a look at the green. Accidentally snapped the shaft putting clubs back in trunk. Took the Superfast TM/Reax 50 gram stiff out of the overrated Burner i bought last year and put it on this clubhead and WOW! what a combo. At 46", the shaft/clubhead are like magic. Ball flight is now penetrating with a slight draw but tons of rolls and automatic. I am only 5'9". The shaft has made all the difference in the world. I guess what I am getting to is if you can find one of these and are having problems with a hook, get the r5 and find the right shaft. Best thing about the r5, it's not obnoxious looking, sounds great when sweet spotted, and costs less than 100 bucks. I would take this over the Sasquatch, the Tour Burner's, the FT-5's, The bang-o-matic, the G10's, The Rapture's, The Hi-Bore's, The 90whatever the overpriced Titleist is called now, and the Cobra's any day of the week.

Customer Service

Didn't try to blame TM. It was my own fault. Took to Edwin Watts and they switched out shaft for me.

Similar Products Used: Pretty much all of them! Might have missed one or two, but this has to be best value out there. No BS screws to mess with, most overhype of all time!! R7 is a joke.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
adogg18   Shoots in the 70s [Aug 28, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Taylormade R5 Dual N 9.5 Aldila NV S

This is my review for a 9.5 degree R5 Dual Neutral with the green Aldila NV Stiff shaft in 46" length. I have had a chance to try out this club for at least 7 rounds before I made a decision to keep it or not.

I don't think this driver works well with someone who likes to hit tight fades off the tee. I am a 7 handicap and can easily work the ball both ways. But my most consistent swing for my driver is a tiny fade. Whenever I put a fade swing on the ball, it tends to balloon and land soft without any roll. I lost some distance and a LOT of accuracy and consistency compared to my old driver (8.5 Great Big Bertha with Grafalloy Prolite 45" stiff shaft) hitting the same cut. My normal average driver distance with the GBB driver was about 240 yards. The R5 would only go about 230-240 yards with a cut swing.

The only way I could prevent the R5 from ballooning on me was to put a tight draw on the ball. My average driver distance with a draw type of swing with the R5 was about 255 yard. My average distance with the GBB driver with a draw type of swing on it was only 240 or so. So, it's definitely a longer club if hit correctly. But I lost WAY too much accuracy going with this club. It could be the shaft, but I definitely do not like the feel of the club face. Plus, I am partial to smaller club heads.

I have since gotten rid of this club and found my new love... Taylormade R580 with Grafalloy Blue shaft. I am able to hit LONG drives with my favorite power fade type swing. My average distance with the fade is 250-255 with the occasional 260+ drive! I could never ever do that with the Great Big Bertha, even with going after it with a tight draw swing. Accuracy with the R580 is roughly about the same as the GBB (very good), but boy does it go a long ways!

In summary: If you like to hit fades with your driver, do not get the R5 Dual N with the Aldila NV shaft. It may be better suited for someone with a person with a natural draw swing or higher clubhead speed.

I highly recommend the R580. I honestly think it's better suited for all types of swings. The feel is great!

Customer Service

I called Taylormade to confirm the serial number on this club when I bought it on ebay. The phone rep was very nice and the entire call only took about 1 minute!

Similar Products Used: 8.5* Callaway Great Big Bertha Driver w/ Grafalloy Prolite Stiff 45"
9.5* Taylormade R580 with Grafalloy Blue 45"
OVERALL
RATING
3
Value
RATING
3
Available At:
jamesod2k8   Shoots in the 80s [Aug 16, 2008]

what a club. By far the nicest driver i have ever seen. Really light. makes me hit the ball 20 yards further than my old taylor made xr05 driver and straighter. easy to hit but need a big tee to get it air born. great club. worth buying. It's the best taylor made driver of the lot! even better than the new burner

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 103  

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com