TaylorMade R580 XD Drivers

Available At:
R580 XD

  • Larger, deeper hitting area above the CG makes the R580 XD easy to launch
  • Improved Inverted Cone Technology provides a larger COR Zone that equals higher ball-speed delivered by a larger area of the clubface
  • New sole design optimizes CG placement, resulting in superior launch conditions
  • Classically shaped head is preferred by many players

User Reviews (161)

Showing 1-10 of 161  
Tom   Shoots in the 80s [Apr 25, 2012]
Model Reviewed: Taylor Made R580XD

I bought this driver off the rack in '04. 10.5, M.A.S.2 65 stiff shaft. I am 60, shoot high 70's to low 90's, swing speed 100-105. I am long for my age and skill level (250-280 yds). My 150 club is an 8-iron.

This is my favorite club, of all time. I love the 440 cc head. The new 460's look like softballs to me. I love the looks of the head and shaft, and it sounds great: a crisp, sharp crack that makes every drive sound like it was crushed (Hate those clanking drivers!). Supposedly the shaft is mid-high flex and mid-low launch (2.9 torque, firm tip), but my draws are mid trajectory, and fades high, with superb carry. (Though I have always hit my drives high, because I tee high, and hit inside-out, on the upswing. It would be different for any down- or out-to-in swingers.) When I swing as I intend, the result is absolutely predictable. Errant drives are my fault, and I know it, usually on the downswing. Don't get the small sweet spot reviews, I find it exceptionally forgiving, all across the face (which is as large as the new driver faces).

More a love letter than a review; I have tried other drivers, even bought a few(hard to resist "new" technology!). When I play Friday, they will be in the garage, and the R580XD will be in my bag.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
wham   Shoots in the 80s [Feb 24, 2012]

Love this driver. Sounds and feels solid. The slightly smaller head size makes it more workable than the 460cc monsters that are the norm today. Bought one when I first started playing 6 years ago and sold it right away because I did not realize what I had, bought a used one later from clubfinders. However, the factory shaft is junk. Put your favorite shaft in and it is bombs away. May I suggest a proforce V2 in the flex of your choice.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
NJPIRRO   Shoots in the 80s [Jul 15, 2011]
Model Reviewed: TaylorMade R580 9.5 Driver

My wife purchased this driver for me. My first TaylorMade product, and I can tell you this is probably the best driver thats ever been created! I've swung many and none allow the control, comfort and sheer distance of this one. BEST IN CLASS- BEST IN SHOW- BEST IN GOLF

Similar Products Used: I use PowerBilt Irons, Royal Woods, TaylorMade R590 Driver, and I don't use a putter... I'm deadly accurate using my PW on the green
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
Dustin   Shoots in the 80s [Jul 12, 2011]
Model Reviewed: Taylormade 580xd

I have used this club since 2004 when I purchased a new set (17 at the time). Everything was custom made with x100 shafts in the irons, but they didnt custom the driver. I hit this driver 300 average, and it is 7 years old. I am looking into a new driver, and will stick with the taylormade brand for that. I hit mizuno mp32 irons and taylormade rac wedges with a scotty cam putter.

This is a great club that I have used probably over 300 rounds of golf and as many times to the range.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Daniel Luna   Shoots in the 90s [Apr 21, 2011]
Model Reviewed: Taylormade R580 xd

Very small sweet spot, not forgiving, what distance, if hit is not perfect bye bye ball. Please avoid this club, it is a total shame to Taylormade's lineup. I'll be in the market for a new driver. Any REAL recommendations?

OVERALL
RATING
1
Value
RATING
1
Available At:
Fergie11   Shoots in the 100s [May 24, 2010]
Model Reviewed: R580XD

I got this driver with a full set of used clubs I bought. At first I wasnt too impressed. Like most people I have a pretty bad slice problem some days. I had been playing a Mizuno MX-560 and was just starting to get my slice under control. I took this out to range to compare, at first I could only hit it to the right couldnt get the same distance as the Mizuno.
I was about to downgrade this very quickly into my "spare club" bag, but first I thought I would take it out one more time to the range. Glad I did!. After about a 1/2 bucket of balls I started getting a feel for it. I didn't get anymore distance than I did with my old club, but my grouping was much tighter ( mostly staight with the ocassional fade). Sounds much better than the Mizuno by a longshot. Tayormade is gonna be in bag for a long time. Pick one up, you can find em cheap these days.
I did recently hit my buddies R7 Quad, very impressive, I thought it felt just as good, only with more distance.

Customer Service

Never used 'em

Similar Products Used: Mizuno mx-560, Taylormade R7, Burner Ti bubble, Billy club
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
darrell   Shoots in the 90s [May 16, 2010]
Model Reviewed: 580xd tatlormade

I USED THE 580 TAYLORMADE FOR SOMETIME HAD SLICEING PROBLEMS .SINCE I HAVE CHANGED TO 580XD MY DRIVES ARE 20 TO 50 YARDS LONGER AND STRATE. I CAN SWING AS HARD AS I WANT AND STILL MAINTAIN CONTROL, IT HAS LOWERED MY SCORE A GOOD 5 TO 8 STROKES. A GREAT CLUB.

Similar Products Used: PING DRIVER CALLWAYS, CORBA.
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
Available At:
Oompa   Shoots in the 80s [Apr 24, 2010]
Model Reviewed: TaylorMade 580xd

Ok I have had 3 of these clubs 2 10.5deg and a 9.5 deg. I bought them all second hand and I keep going back cause they are so good. I currently have an R9 and it sits on the shelf because I like my 580xd better. Pros, loong, fairly consistent on mis-hits. Cons, I have cracked both the 10.5 deg on the face along the score lines. But in the clubs defence I hit alot of balls at the range. Oh and the stock shafts didnt suit me at all. I have graphite design shafts in all my drivers, (including the R9), and they change the club markedly for the better. I use regular shafts and hit it 280-300 yards The upshot is, if you can find one new cheap, DO IT! Change the shaft and you will think god himself put his hand on your shoulder and pushed the ball out there.I recommend this club for anybody really. I remember that Mike Weir was still using his well after R7s came out. If I didnt keep cracking them I wouldnt have bought an R9 and I would give it a 5 stars instead of 4.

Customer Service

Dealer didnt want to know about the cracks since I had bought them second hand. This however may not be Taylor Mades attitude.

Similar Products Used: Taylor Made R9
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
anders   Shoots in the 70s [Mar 22, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Taylor Made R580 XD

for a club which you can pick up no on ebay for around 50-$100 depeneding on where you live, you are really only getting that kind of value. The xd, i found like alot of taylor made drivers, leaks distance. i get a really piercing high trajectory which is almost impossible to control if there is any sort of wind. i found the weighting system to be a bit of a joke, and i found that i was loosing on average around about 20 metres off the tee.

when using my old driver, a titleist 905t with same loft and similar shaft i hit the ball straighter and considerably longer.

i would not recommend this club to anyone as it is not long and is no straighter than any other driver whichi have used.

Similar Products Used: titleist 905t, Callaway Great Big bertha II, callaway ft fusion, Nike 350cc titanium.
OVERALL
RATING
1
Value
RATING
1
Patrick   Shoots in the 100s [Jan 04, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Taylor Made R580 XD

I bought this club as a newbie to golf and sadly paid over $200 for it (it retailed for more but was a superseded model when I got it). I don't think I was ripped off, but it wasn't good value.

Firstly I have to say I have hit some very good shots with this club. However, the way the face addresses the ball can make it hard to align the club IMO.

There are doubtless some issues with my swing as I'm just a hacker, but I have a tendency to slice with this club, more so than with irons. It's not just me either, my 2 playing buddies (one of whom shoots in the 80s) use variations of this club and both have slice/draw issues with it. This leads me to believe it is a club-related problem to a large degree.

Looks are deceptive. The club face is huge and it is easy to make good contact. But the sweet spot, or should I say "straight spot" is relatively tiny. Hitting a ball 300 yards is easy, BUT - hitting it 300 yards and straight is a difficult task - I reiterate the tendency for this club to slice and shank balls off the tee if you hit it even slightly off centre. It's like the ball "slides" off the face and slices.

This leads me to believe there are probably better offerings out there for a novice for the same or less money, and I will probably upgrade in a couple of years.

Customer Service

Not used.

Similar Products Used: None.
OVERALL
RATING
3
Value
RATING
2
Showing 1-10 of 161  

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com